Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 8am - 10pm, 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - London Bridge & Southwark

London Bridge & Southwark Holiday Reviews

Globe Theatre, London Bridge and Southwark

Surrounded by must-see sights and impressive views, our London Bridge Hotels are an excellent and interesting choice when it comes to planning your next short stay in the capital. The south side of the river is home to a number of London's top attractions, whilst also being a quick journey away to the famous shopping of Oxford Street and the fabulous shows in the West End, both are a mere 15 minutes away on the tube.

Our hotels in Southwark are of course in the perfect spot for visiting Southwark Cathedral, or for going wine tasting at the popular Vinopolis. No trip to this area of London is complete with taking in the breath-taking View from The Shard - 800ft up, in Western Europe's tallest building - or experience a slice of quintessential London the way it used to be down at Borough Market.

  • The trendy Southbank is just a short walk away, and top, family-friendly London attractions including The London Eye, the London Dungeons and the London Aquarium can all be found there.
  • Get all cultured and catch a show at the world-famous Shakespeare's Globe Theatre, or take in the free exhibitions at the iconic Tate Modern Art Gallery.
  • Amongst the other attractions near London Bridge, the impressive and imposing HMS Belfast is a must-see and, just across the river, you can find the fascinating Tower of London and the endlessly pretty St Paul's Cathedral.


An excellent destination for your next short break in London, check out our range of hotels near London Bridge.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 352

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Short Break in London

Stay Date: 30/06/07, a customer who stayed at 4* Novotel London City South in London Bridge/City rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Science Museum  
Tower of London  
 
 

Short Break in London

Stay Date: 22/07/07, a customer who stayed at 4* Novotel London City South in London Bridge/City wrote this review.

Convenient hotel for business visit. Extremely competitive price for night required. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Novotel London City South Restaurant  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Daughter's West End Birthday Treat to See Joseph

Stay Date: 28/07/07, a customer who stayed at 4* Novotel London City South in London Bridge/City wrote this review.

As a birthday treat, we took our daughter and her best friend to see Joseph at The Adelphi Theatre, thoroughly enjoying the build up on the BBC's 'Any Dream Will Do' programme to see who would win See More  Read more information the lead role - fortunately the girls' favourite - Lee! On the train down from Birmingham, we were able to pre-book seats with a table, have our packed lunch in comfort and arrive in London nice andrelaxed. We bought 1 day off-peak travelcards for the underground allowing the kids to travel free. Using the underground we traveled easily to our hotel (six stops with no changes)and although wewere a bit lost when we came out of the tube, a quick call to the Hotel's frontdesk and we were given excellent directions. We were greeted by friendly staff at the hotel and booked into our room- a family room for two adults and two kids. We got showered and changed for a pre-theatre meal followed by the show. Using our travelcards, we went by tube to The Strand and ate at the Pizza Hutwe had located before our visit, opposite the theatre. We had to wait for a table to become available and could have done with longer to eat our meal but we asked for all the courses to come togetherso that we could get to the theatre on time! So glad it was nearby. We had budget seats right at the top back of the theatre but luckily our seats allowed the kids to sit in line with aisles and havea good view of the stage. Other seats would have been worse as the audience was mainly adult and a bit difficult to see over. The show was fantastic and the kids sang and danced their way back tothe hotel and to bed. Breakfast was excellent in the morning - something to suit all tastes. We had already planned what we were going to do on the Sunday and we set off using travelcards again onthe tube. A short trip to Westminster Pier and we got the 10am sightseeing cruise to Greenwich. Our travelcard allowed a 30% discount on the price of a family return ticket normally ?26. The trip takesabout 1 hr each way and you can return when you want. We walked to the Royal Observatory first, which takes you past some very impressive buildings around the National Maritime Museum and up asteepish hill through a lovely park. The story behind Greenwich meantime is very educational for the kids (and adults!) and standing on the meridian provides a great photo opportuniy. We walked backto the Maritime Museum, first having a healthy but bit pricey lunch in the courtyard of it's cafe/restaurant. We were a bit short of time to visit the Maritime Museum properly and found it difficult tofind our way about - a route to follow would have been helpful. We got the boat back to Westminster Pier and tube back to pick up our luggage from the hotel. It was a bit of an effort to turnstraight back out of the hotel to the tube station again, but we had to catch our train back to Birmingham. Once again we were very thankful for pre-booked seats on the train as it was quite full. Somefamilies were split up and/or standing in the corridor! Overall we had a fantastic trip - the anticipation once booked, the build up, the actual trip and then of course the memories afterwards.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
National Maritime Museum  
Royal Observatory  
Thames River Services - Return Cruise to Greenwich  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Pizza Hut  
National Maritime Museum Cafe  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

London Theatre Trip

Stay Date: 08/08/07, a customer from Mid Glamorgan who stayed at 4* Novotel London City South in London Bridge/City wrote this review.

My girlfriend and i visited London to see Chicago at the Cambridge Theatre, the show was excellent only down side was the price of drinks in the theatre £10.20 for a bottle of lager and small glass See More  Read more information of wine. Very impressed with the restaurants situated around the west end especially the farmhouse table everything was brilliant from service to food. As it was August when we visited there werelots of ques for all attractions so didn't see much however the london bus tour is well worth a trip and provides you with transport all day as you can get on and off as many times as you like. NovotelHotel Southwark is where we stayed stunning hotel good facilities glad our breakfast was included in the price though as £13.50 for an english breakfast to me seems a bit pricey. All in all anenjoyable trip with SuperBreaks and would strongly reccomend them to my friends and family.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
London Eye  
Chicago - Cambridge Theatre  
London Bus Tour  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Farmhouse Table 190 shaftesbury Ave  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break in London

Stay Date: 09/08/07, a customer who stayed at 4* Novotel London City South in London Bridge/City rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Tate Modern  
Globe Theatre  
Vinopolis  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Tas Pide Turkish Restaurant  
 
 

Short Break in London

Stay Date: 24/08/07, a customer who stayed at 4* Mercure London Bridge in London Bridge/City rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
 

Novotel restaurant

Stay Date: 24/08/07, a customer who stayed at 4* Novotel London City South in London Bridge/City wrote this review.

The food was fine although seemed expensive. The main problem was the restaurant staff, who appeared to have little idea how even to clear a table. This lack of organisation added to misery of See More  Read more information guests waiting for tables, while tables were empty but not cleared.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Novotel London

Stay Date: 28/08/07, a customer who stayed at 4* Novotel London City South in London Bridge/City rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
London Eye  
County Hall  
 
 

Overnight stays

Stay Date: 21/09/07, a customer who stayed at 4* Mercure London Bridge in London Bridge/City wrote this review.

We had 2 overnight stays before & after our holiday in the South of France . We have stopped at the Mercure before & found it convenient to walk into central London. The staff are very helpful . See More  Read more information Our first night we had an early start to catch the 7 am Eurostar from Waterloo & they ordered a taxi & provided a carry out breakfast which was superb. The rooms are small for over'night stays but theyare clean & well appointed - except for room 708 - on our return we were put into this room but could not sleep because of the loud hum from the central heating plant on the roof. We complained toreception ( approx 11pm ) & within 15 mins we were given a superior double . That is what we call service . Avoid room 708 !!! We will almost certainly book this hotel again early next year when werevisit London for a show. We must point out that for longer stays the rooms are larger. If you are going to a show then we would recommend the Palm Court in King St Covent Garden. The food is good andthe staff are helpful. We have been twice now and enjoyed our meals on both occasions   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Palm Court Brasserie, Covent Garden  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Supercalifragilisticexpialidocious!

Stay Date: 05/10/07, a customer from Northampton who stayed at 4* Mercure London Bridge in London Bridge/City wrote this review.

We went on a girls weekend staying in Mercure Hote which was comfortable, very quiet and with lovely staff. Saw Mary Poppins in Old Compton Street. was a bit concerned that hotel might have been too See More  Read more information far from theatre but tube is so quick and easy to use and hotel so quiet and comfortable, will be booking again!!! Tate Modern is about 2mins walk away from hotel and is truly freaky in a good way!You vcan't beat a good leisureley breakfast at hotel and shoppathon on Oxford Street, spent three hours in giant Debenhams alone!! fantastic break, great value thanks Superbreak for truly memorabletime. Mary Poppins - Wow!!! Jaw dropping, heart warming, colourful asd gasp inducing, see this before it ends you won't be sorry!!   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Tate Modern  
Shopping In Oxford Street  
Mary Poppins  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 261 - 270 of 352 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 8am-10pm GMT, 7 days a week
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Travel Aware - Staying Safe and Healthy Abroad

The Foreign & Commonwealth Office and National Travel Health Network and Centre have up-to-date advice on staying safe and healthy abroad. For the latest travel advice from the Foreign & Commonwealth Office including security and local laws, plus passport and visa information check www.gov.uk/travelaware and follow @FCOtravel and Facebook.com/FCOtravel

Keep informed of current travel health news by visiting www.travelhealthpro.org.uk

The advice can change so check regularly for updates.

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Release-20170705

Version=1001507 @ 06/12/2017 08:14:45

Last rendered @ 11/12/2017 07:54:44

Last rendered @ 11/12/2017 07:54:44

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: ""

Is Secure? False

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB13

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.