Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 8am - 10pm, 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - Leicester & Area

Leicester & Area Holiday Reviews

Belvoir Castle

Set in a vibrant city full of fascinating attractions and countless activities, our hotels in Leicester are a great choice for a city break. Easily accessed by road and by rail, Leicester can be reached on both the M1 and the A47, and is an important stop on the Midland Main Line.

A large, thriving and ethnically diverse city of more than 300,000 people, Leicester is not to be underestimated as a short break destination; with fantastic shopping at both Highcross and Haymarket Shopping Centre and famously good curry houses on Belgrave Road, there’s plenty going on here. Our hotels in Leicester are a great base for a short break in this cosmopolitan and historic city and for exploring its surrounding area.

  • A must-visit, especially with the family, Leicester is home to the National Space Centre, one of the country’s leading Space Science attractions; the centre houses six exhibition galleries, a dome cinema and a planetarium.
  • The Curve Theatre – opened in 2008 and designed by architect Rafael Vinoly – is one of the most exciting arts venues in the region, regularly welcoming touring productions and staging new shows.
  • Our Leicester hotels are also perfect for attending the annual Leicester Comedy Festival – one of the most renowned in the world. The city also plays host to the largest Diwali celebrations outside of India and the UK’s second largest Caribbean Carnival each year.


A fantastic choice for your next short break or getaway, take a look out our Leicester hotels in the list below.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 127

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Very good

Stay Date: 20/03/15, a customer aged 65+ who stayed at 4* Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel in Leicester wrote this review.

The restaurant staff were so disorganised. Kept running out of,--plates; breakfast orange; packets of muesli; fried eggs; stewed prunes and the lady in charge did not seem to bother--e.g. I had the See More  Read more information last packet of breakfast cereal on Thursday when I asked on Friday she said that they were all finished on Thursday and there was no more.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Richard 111 reinterment  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Kayan  
wsetherstones pub  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Choose your room with care

Stay Date: 12/02/15, a customer aged 65+ from Leicester who stayed at 4* Sketchley Grange Hotel & Spa in Hinckley wrote this review.

We had spent an enjoyable break at this hotel last year and were looking forward to spending another night there. In the event we were very disappointed with our stay. The threadbare carpet, broken See More  Read more information safe and view of a yard full of bins were minor issues compared to the constant noise throughout the night from an adjacent generator that made undisturbed sleep impossible. When we complained thefollowing morning we were told that had we raised the issues when first going to the room something could have been done. How we were supposed to anticipate that a generator would be running outside ourwindow all night is beyond me.The staff in general were polite and cheerful. The leisure facilities and pool are excellent. Breakfast was mediocre. All in all a very disappointing return to a hotelthat had previously provided an excellent break.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Bosworth battle field  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Not one to Remember

Stay Date: 26/12/14, a customer aged 65+ who stayed at 4* Sketchley Grange Hotel & Spa in Hinckley wrote this review.

We have stayed at Sketchley Grange on many occasions and this was not the best. We needed to ask for additional tea bags, for a bedside lamp to be fixed and blankets for our room, none of which were See More  Read more information delivered on first asking. We collected the tea bags ourselves from reception and the blankets were delivered after a complaint to reception. The bedside lamp was never fixed. Boxing Day had limitedfood options which to be fair we knew about before we went. Lunch was a very nice plated buffet but only cold sandwiches were available in the bar during the evening. It would have been so much nicerif this had been the other way round. Despite being asked if we wanted to book a table in the restaurant for the second night, only bar food was available. We did have a nice bar meal though,topped off with a power failure, that put the hotel into total blackness, what fun! We were lucky having just finished our meal, but there was a wedding reception and a second function going on so theywere in turmoil. The emergency lighting in the public areas was OK but information on the cause and likely timing for any resolution to the problem was a bit scarce. The bar staff coped as best theycould with no till or electric pumps. After about an hour the power was restored, apparently a sub-station in Nuneaton had blown a fuse or whatever so there was little the hotel could have done aboutit. I have to say the public areas this visit were very devoid of furniture as was the terrace bar, giving an appearance of emptiness rather than anything cosy. Very disappointing after much nicerstays in the past.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Fosse Park  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Interesting Experience

Stay Date: 03/12/14, a customer aged 65+ from Uk who stayed at 3* Bosworth Hall (2 Night Half Board Offer) in Market Bosworth wrote this review.

This was our 5th visit so we know what we are getting into. When we arrived we found a double room instead of the twin room we booked. As usual they sorted it fairly quickly. Breakfast and our paid See More  Read more information for dinner in the carvery were OK, however we had booked a table in their Compton Restaurant for ourselves and guests. This is supposed to be their smart restaurant for which we were prepared to paythe extra, and the £22 each for our guests excluding drinks. There was a choice of 4 for the mains including sea bass, however we were told sea bass was off and salmon was offered instead, thisincluded sauteed potatoes. We ordered our starters and mains. After 50 or so minutes nothing had appeared so I went towards the kitchen to find out what was going on. I met the (rather inexperienced) waiteron the way, and about 5 mins later our starters appeared. We finished that & about another 50 or so minutes later 3 out of 4 of our mains arrived. It took another 15 mins for the 4th main to arrive.My salmon came without the potatoes, and my wife who had ordered pasta with mushrooms and spinach came without either mushrooms or spinach, just tomato sauce. We ate what we wanted and left withoutpudding, having coffee in the main bar. At that point I had a full and frank exchange of views with the duty manager who as usual was full of sympathy. When I settled up with the Hotel we were notcharged for our meals. The hotel grounds are really nice, and the rooms (if you are lucky which we usually are) are spacious, if a little worn and dated. Provided you do not harbour high expectations forstandards you will find the staff always courteous and as helpful as they can be and you will have a very enjoyable visit.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
The Cock Inn  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Journey break between Manchester and Essex

Stay Date: 30/10/14, a customer aged 65+ who stayed at 3* Brook Whipper-In Hotel (Afternoon Tea Offer) in Oakham wrote this review.

The staff were helpful,the breakfast/tea fine. Our room smelt strongly of stale tobacco (neither of us has ever smoked). We mentioned this to the receptionist who stated that smoking was not allowed See More  Read more information any where in the Hotel. The lighting in the bedroom was very poor, hardly adequate to read.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Amazing Hotel

Stay Date: 26/10/14, a customer aged 45-64 from Canterbury who stayed at 3* Brook Whipper-In Hotel (Afternoon Tea Offer) in Oakham wrote this review.

Tortworth Court is amazing the grounds and buildings are spectacular. The food in the restaurant was good and the staff very prompt and organised. Nothings a problem, walking the corridors to find See More  Read more information your room was fun took a couple of times to get it right first time!! Plenty of parking.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
ss Great Britian  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Bosworth

Stay Date: 18/10/14, a customer aged 65+ who stayed at 3* Bosworth Hall (2 Night Half Board Offer) in Market Bosworth wrote this review.

Great hotel, good food, nice room, fantastic value. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Bosworth Battlefield  
battlefield line  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

2 night stay at Bosworth Hall Hotel

Stay Date: 16/10/14, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 3* Bosworth Hall (2 Night Half Board Offer) in Market Bosworth wrote this review.

We purchased a 2 night Super Break stay with dinner on both nights included. The dinner was in fact at Jenny's carvery and not in the main restaurant. We found the carvery rather disappointing on See More  Read more information the first night - the vegetables were distinctly cold and the choice of starters and sweets rather limited. On the 2nd night we upgraded to the Crompton's restaurant which was much better. Thelocation and setting of the hotel are its main selling points - it is a magnificent building but the hotel as a whole is not quite as posh as they would have you think! Overall we were satisfied with ourstay.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Bosworth Battlefield Centre  
section of the Ashby canal  
Saunton Church estate  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Bosworth Hall break

Stay Date: 03/09/14, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 3* Bosworth Hall (2 Night Half Board Offer) in Market Bosworth wrote this review.

Excellent value break in a fine location. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Spa day in Hinckley

Stay Date: 24/08/14, a customer aged 25-44 who stayed at 4* Sketchley Grange Hotel & Spa in Hinckley wrote this review.

Room was nice but spa bath wasn't working. Sauna wasn't working in the spa area, and there was visible mould in the shower area. Breakfast was booked to our room for a specific time, yet was 20 mins See More  Read more information late.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Sketchley grange hotel  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 21 - 30 of 127 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 8am-10pm GMT, 7 days a week
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Release-20170705

Version=100637 @ 17/08/2017 08:58:35

Last rendered @ 24/08/2017 06:08:45

Last rendered @ 24/08/2017 06:08:45

x-forward-port: "80"

X-Forwarded-Proto: ""

Is Secure? False

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB14

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.