Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 8am - 10pm, 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - Keswick, Ullswater & North Lakes

Keswick, Ullswater & North Lakes Holiday Reviews

Castlerigg stone Circle, Keswick

With our fantastic choice of hotels in Keswick, Ullwaters and the North Lakes area, you can enjoy the many wonders of The Lake District on a relaxing short break. From Cockermouth to Penrith and everything in between, you’ll find the perfect hotel in the North Lakes with SuperBreak.

Whether you love the great outdoors or are just in need of a relaxing country escape, there’s so much to see and do on a trip to The Lakes.

  • From tackling England’s highest peak, Scafell Pike to more leisurely strolls enjoying the beautiful Lakeland scenery, The Lake District National Park is a truly magnificent place for a day out.
  • Surrounded by the mountains of Helvellyn and High Seat, the Castlerigg Stone Circle dating back to 3000BC is a stunning place to visit, boasting amazing panoramic views.
  • For an alternative way to explore the stunning surroundings of the Lake District, enjoy an award-winning cruise with Ullswater Steamers stopping at Glenridding and Pooley Bridge.
  • As the childhood home of Cumbria’s famous romantic poet, Wordsworth House and Garden is a must visit. Explore this homely Georgian house just as it was back in the 1700s and meet some of the characters that once lived and worked there.
Book one our superb North Lakes hotels and enjoy a comfortable and convenient stay in the heart of The Lake District exploring all this wonderful area has to offer.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 213

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Great weekend in Appleby

Stay Date: 26/09/14, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 4* Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa in Appleby-in-Westmorland wrote this review.

Fantastic position between the The Lake District and Yorkshire Dales. Stunning scenery wherever we went and lots of small towns/villages etc to visit. Also lots of opportunities for outdoor See More  Read more information activities - walking, cycling etc.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Lake District  
Settle  
Train Ribblehead viaduct  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Hotel Bistro  
Hotel main  
Road cafe  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Ennerdale Hotel

Stay Date: 07/11/14, a customer aged 65+ from Littleborough who stayed at 3* Ennerdale Country House Hotel (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Cockermouth (Nr) wrote this review.

The staff were very friendly. The bathroom needed more hanging space for towels and for clothing etc. The food was very good except for one of the sweets which could have been better. The hotel has See More  Read more information some lovely features in the main rooms downstairs.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

New Year break

Stay Date: 30/12/14, a customer aged 65+ who stayed at 3* Ennerdale Country House Hotel 2 Night New Year Break in Cockermouth (Nr) wrote this review.

Lovely time. We stayed for the new year's eve party and saw in 2015. The hotel, food, room and staff were all excellent and we had a lovely time. Hope to visit again later in the year. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Enjoyable stay

Stay Date: 21/01/15, a customer aged 65+ who stayed at 4* Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa in Appleby-in-Westmorland wrote this review.

Lovely Country House with outstanding views. Welcoming fires in hall and lounge. Food was delicious. Staff attentive, extremely helpful. courteous and pleasant. Bedroom was a little tired and See More  Read more information bathroom needed updating, I believe there are much better bedrooms if a supplement is paid.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Tourist Information  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Ashiana  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Appleby Manor

Stay Date: 03/02/15, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 4* Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa in Appleby-in-Westmorland wrote this review.

It is a lovely hotel and we were given excellent treatment from the moment we arrived to the moment we left. Thank you. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Mother's Day Weekend in Carlisle

Stay Date: 14/03/15, a customer aged 45-64 from United Kingdom who stayed at 4* Hallmark Hotel Carlisle (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Carlisle wrote this review.

We had a warm welcome from the receptionist when we arrived. Our room was on the top floor but the lift was always available. The room was spacious and the refreshments were replenished daily but See More  Read more information extra milk was available from the Brasserie. The location of the hotel was perfect for the station, local shops, eateries and the cinema. Breakfast was self service on the weekend then by order on theweek day. Part of the Superbreak deal was dinner on the first night which was served in the restaurant and was top quality.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
hallmark Hotel  
Woodrow Wilson  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Great weekend in Ennerdale

Stay Date: 08/05/15, a customer aged 45-64 from Grange Over Sands who stayed at 3* Ennerdale Country House Hotel (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Cockermouth (Nr) wrote this review.

The hotel was comfortable with very friendly and helpful staff. Great evening meal on the first night, especially as it was my husbands birthday. We would definitely stay here again. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Haig mine whitehaven  
Walk round ennerdale lake  
Eskdale walk  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Lovely days out in Lakes

Stay Date: 31/07/15, a customer aged 65+ who stayed at 3* Ennerdale Country House Hotel (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Cockermouth (Nr) wrote this review.

We loved staying @ Ennerdale Hotel - it's so nice & all the staff were excellent with everything, the food was wonderful. The location was great for getting to places and the room was very nice. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Ravensglass&Eskdale Train  
Ullswater River Steamers  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Red Squirrels

Stay Date: 19/09/15, a customer aged 45-64 from Lancaster who stayed at 3* Shap Wells Hotel in Penrith wrote this review.

We found the staff very friendly and helpful, the hotel is old fashioned but spacious and very clean and in a very beautiful setting with resident red squirrels. The food was tasty and plentiful and See More  Read more information we will definitely stay there again.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Brysons Keswick  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Excellent two days near Penrith

Stay Date: 27/10/15, a customer aged 45-64 from United Kingdom who stayed at 3* Shap Wells Hotel (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Penrith wrote this review.

This was one of the most memorable breaks we have ever had we arrived on the wife's birthday and had our dinner in the hotel the choice of food was excellent and the staff were second to none. We See More  Read more information then we had a few drinks after our meal. We were allocated a lovely room on the ground floor which was very nice as the wife is disabled from a stroke. The second day we got up and had a wonderfulbreakfast and went out touring for the day. The weather was drizzle but it did not affect our lovely stay. We had a bar meal that night and a few drinks, the next morning we got up had another greatbreakfast and left for home we shall be returning there in the near future. I can not think of anything else they could have done to make it a better experience - many kind regards Mick & Dot Wharton 60plus.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Kendal  
Ulswater  
Windermere  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Ate all meals in the hotel  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 2 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 11 - 20 of 213 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 8am-10pm GMT, 7 days a week
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Travel Aware - Staying Safe and Healthy Abroad

The Foreign & Commonwealth Office and National Travel Health Network and Centre have up-to-date advice on staying safe and healthy abroad. For the latest travel advice from the Foreign & Commonwealth Office including security and local laws, plus passport and visa information check www.gov.uk/travelaware and follow @FCOtravel and Facebook.com/FCOtravel

Keep informed of current travel health news by visiting www.travelhealthpro.org.uk

The advice can change so check regularly for updates.

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Release-20170705

Version=1001435 @ 08/11/2017 08:02:57

Last rendered @ 19/11/2017 19:55:13

Last rendered @ 19/11/2017 19:55:13

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: ""

Is Secure? False

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB11

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.