Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 8am - 10pm, 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - Italy

Italy Holiday Reviews

Vatican Square, Rome

From the sunny southern slopes of the Alps to the lush orange groves of Sicily to the great cultural cities of Florence and Rome, Italy offers enormous variety not only in its landscape but also in its customs and food. Added to this are the warm, friendly people and long summers.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 168

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Break in Rome

Stay Date: 19/03/15, a customer aged 65+ who stayed at 3* D'Este Hotel in Rome wrote this review.

Hotel was quite centrally located to various sites. The staff were not over friendly, the breakfast was satisfactory. There was no English channel on the TV. It would have been nice to have had a See More  Read more information lounge with coffee/tea machine to perhaps have a cup of coffee or tea after a day walking around. The bus system is very adequate and very cheap but it is best to see Rome walking around.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Vatican City  
Trevi Fountain  
Colaseum  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Great long weekend in Rome

Stay Date: 20/03/15, a customer aged 45-64 from Romsey who stayed at 4* Hotel Eliseo in Rome wrote this review.

The Hotel Eliseo is definitely one I would recommend to family and friends - hotel is within walking distance of Piazza Trinita dei Monti and Spanish Steps. Opposite is the beautiful park and Villa See More  Read more information Borghese and Borghese Gallery. Buffet breakfast at roof top, overlooking the views of Rome, St Peters and the Vatican.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Rome Colosseum  
rome shops  
rome restaurants  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
osteria barberini  
aurora 10  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Perfect Location - such a shame about noise

Stay Date: 13/02/15, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 4* Strozzi Palace Hotel in Florence wrote this review.

We loved the location of the Strozzi Palace Hotel - we could not have been more centrally located for all the major attractions Florence has to offer - it is in a perfect location. The hotel See More  Read more information upgraded us to a large room on the second floor at the front which was very clean and extremely comfortable and warm, but unfortunately there was an unacceptable level of noise from the street outside duringthe night for two of our three nights stay. The sound of scooters roaring up and down the street went on for hours, almost until dawn, together with raised voices. It was almost impossible to sleep.Our last night (Sunday) was much quieter, thankfully. Breakfasts were quite adequate - typically Continental, with cereals, fruit, yoghurts, boiled eggs, cheese, meats, croissants and bread., fruitjuices and coffee. There was a kettle in our room with several teabags and sugar, but no coffee and only polystyrene cups to drink from! The hotel staff were pleasant and very helpful, and the map theyprovided was the one we used throughout our stay! If we could guarantee peaceful nights we would not hesitate to stay here again.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Duomo  
Santa Croce  
Galleria dell'Accademia  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Hard Rock Cafe  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Weekend in Venice

Stay Date: 28/11/14, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 4* Carlton on the Grand Canal in Venice wrote this review.

We went to Venice for our wedding anniversary and had a lovely time. The hotel was The Carlton on the Grand Canal which had a fantastic location within walking distance to the local landmarks. The See More  Read more information breakfast in the morning was excellent and had a good choice. The only down point was that we could not open our window because of outside shutters to get fresh air. We travelled from Treviso airportby the Ryanair bus which was a very good service and only cost 10 Euros each way. I would certainly go back in the spring.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Rialto Bridge  
Piazza San Marco  
Gondola Rides  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Found some very good restaurants  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Long Weekend in Rome

Stay Date: 24/10/14, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 3* The Church Village in Rome wrote this review.

The Hotel was fine for what we needed. Room was a bit sparse - but i've always had a good nights sleep, shower was great and the breakfast was perfect. Lots of choice. Hotel was a bit far out See More  Read more information from the town centre - but we enjoyed walking everywhere, so no issue. Because of that we found a great local restaurant, which we ate in every night.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Vatican City  
Colliseum  
Tevi Fountain  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Maman  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

3 days in Rome

Stay Date: 26/10/14, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 3* Cambridge Hotel in Rome wrote this review.

Hotel Cambridge was ok, a bit basic but only used for sleeping, excellent position for walking to the monuments, great location for food had the best Carbonara in Rome in a little local restaurant See More  Read more information just round the corner after recommendation from reception. Half hour walk to Coliseum, Trevi, Spanish Steps.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Bus Tour  
Collesium  
Vatican Museums & Sisten Chaple  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Ice Cream shop by Trevi  
Trattatoria down steps round corner from Hotel Cambridge - Local no English spoken  
 

User Review Ratings: 3 out of 3 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Amichevole Roma

Stay Date: 27/10/14, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 3* The Church Village in Rome wrote this review.

Roma is possibly the most interesting and beautiful city break so far for us. From the start we felt comfortable and at home at the Grand Hotel Del Gianicolo close to the Garibaldi area. The area See More  Read more information has fantastic views from the park spanning across the city and is a leisurely 20-25 minutes from the Vatican. The hotel was perfect and the staff are very friendly and helpful. There are bus stops closeby, one just outside the hotel gate, the 870. We took the 870 and then the 280 direct to the Stadio Olimpico to see AS Roma play. What an experience that must be recommended to any visitors who likefootball. We bought an Omnia card which we perhaps underused but we added a guided tour of the Vatican which was amazing. Our guide, Rita, took us past the mile plus long queues straight into themuseums. She guided us through all of the important bits and we finished up in the Sistine Chapel and then the Basilica. When you leave the Basilica you see the Swiss Guards. If you approach the one onthe right and ask nicely, he will give you an invitation to sit in the square for Wednesdays address by the Pope. You must get there very early on the Wednesday morning, maybe 7:30 to be sure of a seat,so it could be a long wait. We didn't do this but found out by asking someone who had been given a ticket. We took the No.75 bus from near the hotel to the Colosseum. Again, we skipped the queueswith a Roma Card that came with our Omnia Card pack. The Roma Card is essential as it gave us complete travel on the bus, metro and tram for our three days. Just scan it the first time you use it andkeep it on you at all times. The Colosseum, Palatine Hill and Roman Forum is perhaps the most important thing to see outside of the Vatican. There's a lot of work going on there in restoring certainparts of it. The floor is up in the centre and you can see the corridors and cells underneath where slaves and gladiators would be held. Other important sights are of course the Trevi fountain whichappears to be taken apart for complete restoration and cleaning. It's behind glass and there is a walkway through so you can at least get close to see what you can. The Spanish Steps are nearby and you canrelax a bit in the square at the bottom. Another 'must see' is The Pantheon, one of the most beautiful and best preserved buildings that has been in use since the 7th century. Take time to let eyesawaken to the colour and beauty in this round church/temple. We love an top bus tour and our Omnia card allowed us to hop on and off the Roma Cristiana bus. We sat on top in the sunshine and got offoccasionally to see something. Be sure to get off at the Piazza Venezia to climb the steps to see the two guards at the Monumento Nazionale a Vittorio Emanuele II, the first king of Rome. They areguarding the tomb of the unknown soldier. You can the go inside to the right and out again to take a lift to the top to see perhaps the best aerial view of the city. This is perhaps the best 7 Euros youwill spend while you're here. What else can I say other than we walked and walked. We felt safe and comfortable all of the time. The locals are very friendly and helpful. They will step in and help whenyou look like your struggling with the bus signs and always seem to be approachable. We saw no pickpockets and didn't find it expensive to eat and drink. People say a coffee will cost 10 Euros ormore in Rome. I really don't know where that happens. Starbucks in the UK is a big rip off in comparison. We took so many photographs, more than any other place we have visited and we will be back inRome soon to see a few places we missed and to relax and enjoy it for what it is, a big busy working city full of friendly people and interesting places to see. All of the time we were there which wasthe last week in October, the sun was shining which obviously had a positive effect. Grazie Roma per averci dato una fantastica pochi giorni nella vostra bellissima citte!   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Pantheon  
Collosseum  
Vatican & Museum  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Royal Art Cafe by the Colosseum  
Carpe Diem, Gianicolo  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Weekend in Florence

Stay Date: 24/10/14, a customer aged 65+ who stayed at 4* Strozzi Palace Hotel in Florence wrote this review.

Hotel Strozzi Palace was very comfortable and very conveniently situated with friendly and helpful staff. The opera on offer each week at St. Mark's English Church is well worth enjoying. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Uffizi Gallery  
Santa Cruce Church  
San Marco museum  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Return to Venice

Stay Date: 22/09/14, a customer aged 65+ who stayed at 3* Albergo San Marco in Venice wrote this review.

The position of the hotel was excellent and it was clean and comfortable sadly it was let down by the reception staff. They were without exception obviously wishing they were somewhere else. I lost See More  Read more information my credit card and the number in the hotel information proved to be unobtainable, I reported to the reception only to be met with a classic Italian shrug and so spent four days worrying that someonewas using my card. The cleaning staff and the restaurant staff by contrast were all very pleasant and helpful.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Maritime Museum  
St Marks Basilica  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Very restful hotel in a manic city

Stay Date: 20/09/14, a customer aged 45-64 from Ellesmere who stayed at 4* Ambasciatori Hotel in Florence wrote this review.

Even though the hotel was situated across from the station it was completely soundproof. The room was extremely comfortable, spotlessly clean and perfect temperature. Having spent a few days See More  Read more information enjoying the rustic charm of the Chianti, it was actually so nice to experience some 4 star comfort before heading home. The hotel was ideally located for us to see a few of the main attractions of Florencein a very short time. Could easily walk to the centre which meant no time was wasted.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Duomo  
Ponte Veccio  
San Lorenzo market  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Saleem Bombay  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 31 - 40 of 168 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 8am-10pm GMT, 7 days a week
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Travel Aware - Staying Safe and Healthy Abroad

The Foreign & Commonwealth Office and National Travel Health Network and Centre have up-to-date advice on staying safe and healthy abroad. For the latest travel advice from the Foreign & Commonwealth Office including security and local laws, plus passport and visa information check www.gov.uk/travelaware and follow @FCOtravel and Facebook.com/FCOtravel

Keep informed of current travel health news by visiting www.travelhealthpro.org.uk

The advice can change so check regularly for updates.

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Release-20170705

Version=1001507 @ 06/12/2017 08:14:45

Last rendered @ 12/12/2017 21:30:38

Last rendered @ 12/12/2017 21:30:38

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: ""

Is Secure? False

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB13

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.