Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 8am - 10pm, 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - Ipswich & Area

Ipswich & Area Holiday Reviews

Christchurch Mansion & Museum, Ipswich

The town of Ipswich in the east of England is full of life, with a range of Ipswich hotels, restaurants and shops lining its historic streets.

  • For an exciting day out take a cruise down the River Orwell and take in the sights of the river-side attractions.
  • Must-sees for visitors staying in our hotels in Ipswich include the Tudor-built Christchurch Mansion, which displays a large collection of works by British artists John Constable and Thomas Gainsborough.
  • Other arts attractions include The New Wolsey Theatre on Civic Drive, which is easily accessed from many of our Ipswich hotels and is home to the popular Rock 'n' Roll pantomimes at Christmas.
  • For a relaxing afternoon, visit the picturesque Holywells Park, which features a Victorian orangery, children’s playground and bowling green, making it a top destination for families staying in our hotels in Ipswich to enjoy.
  • Of an evening, indulge in the nightlife on the doorstep of our Ipswich hotels by heading down to the lively waterfront to sample the atmosphere at the range of pubs and bars.
Whatever you discover during your stay in this lively town, our hotels in Ispwich are the perfect base for your short break. Take a look at our extensive choice of Ipswich accommodation and start planning your ideal getaway!

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 46

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Short Break in Ipswich

Stay Date: 21/03/09, a customer who stayed at 3* Holiday Inn Ipswich Orwell in Ipswich rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
 

Ipswich

Stay Date: 03/04/09, a customer from Coulsdon who stayed at 3* Holiday Inn Ipswich in Ipswich wrote this review.

Ipswich itself is unimpressive, a few streets of character, the rest like croydon. The Suffolk villages we visited were lovely and we enjoyed some great walks from a book we took with us.We chose See More  Read more information our hotel as a base to travel around from and this was successful. We also chose it because it had a swimming pool which we used twice.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Lavenham  
Woodbridge  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
The Beagle Pub  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Staff Good Food Poor

Stay Date: 19/02/12, a customer from Uk who stayed at 3* Holiday Inn Ipswich Orwell (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Ipswich wrote this review.

Generally we had an ok stay in the holiday inn ipswich. The room was absoloutley fine and no issuse with that at all - but the food.....Well. On your deal the first evenings dinner was included. I See More  Read more information think the chef was aware of the fact we werent 'paying' for the meal and didnt go the extra mile for us. My fiance had the fajita's - which looked pretty good. But arrived with no salsa, and everyoneknows you gotta have salsa with fajitas! so we asked for some and what was produced (as an ex restaurant manager myself) astonished us - tomato ketchup with chopped up tomatoes. We felt offended thatthey thought we would fall for this!i would have preffered it if they were honest, it wouldnt have been a major issue. I had a curry which was pretty good apart from the fact the dish comprised of 2different currys, one chicken and one prawn, both with different sauces - yet when it arrived it was the same sauce split into 2 different bowls one w/chicken 1 w/prawns. It was a bit of a let down.Breakfast was poor, didnt look fresh and one morn no eggs next no bacon. It wasnt even busy. It was a shame because its a nice hotel (even if it is in major need of a refurb) staff were nice enough letdown by kitchen where it didnt seem to put much care into its produce.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Hotel Restaurant  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Dinner disappointing

Stay Date: 03/08/14, a customer aged 65+ from Reading who stayed at 3* Holiday Inn Ipswich Orwell (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Ipswich wrote this review.

Five items were off the menu (we think the chef was away). See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Lavenham  
flatford mill NT  
Melford Hall NT  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Toby Carvery  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Average

Stay Date: 09/12/16, a customer aged 25-44 from United Kingdom who stayed at 4* Novotel Ipswich in Ipswich wrote this review.

I wasn't very happy with this hotel at all and won't be recommending or staying here again. Upon arrival the concierge was rude, she asked if I was checking in, to which I replied "yes I am" and See More  Read more information then there was silence. She then sarcastically said "well I need your name". There was no need for her tone or belittling attitude and considering this is a guest arriving should have been morewelcoming. We went offsite to eat both nights (Friday and Saturday) and struggled to park both times upon returning. As I am disabled I needed to at least be dropped off in the car park but on theSaturday concierge were arguing about letting our car in to even drop me off. He then proceeded to argue with me when I asked if the car park was private or public - his response "a private car park thatanyone can park in" very contradicting. I was aware that I was going to need to pay to park but no where did I read that space is limited and not available to staying guests first. The hotel offersChristmas parties, which I wasn't aware of upon booking through yourself and would have liked to have been informed by the hotel that they were going to be extremely busy and not just with hotelguests. Not only did the parties attribute to me not being able to park or sit, they were also loud and we could hear from our hotel room, meaning we had to shut the window. Overall I was verydisappointed with the hotel, the treatment and in turn my whole experience of Christmas shopping in Ipswich.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Shopping  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Patisserie Valerie  
Ask  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break In Ipswich

Stay Date: 05/03/11, a customer from Uk who stayed at 3* Holiday Inn Ipswich Orwell (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Ipswich rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Cambridge  
Waterfront Ipswich  
 
 
 

Showing 41 - 46 of 46 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 8am-10pm GMT, 7 days a week
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Travel Aware - Staying Safe and Healthy Abroad

The Foreign & Commonwealth Office and National Travel Health Network and Centre have up-to-date advice on staying safe and healthy abroad. For the latest travel advice from the Foreign & Commonwealth Office including security and local laws, plus passport and visa information check www.gov.uk/travelaware and follow @FCOtravel and Facebook.com/FCOtravel

Keep informed of current travel health news by visiting www.travelhealthpro.org.uk

The advice can change so check regularly for updates.

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Release-20170705

Version=1001475 @ 22/11/2017 08:00:42

Last rendered @ 22/11/2017 12:44:55

Last rendered @ 22/11/2017 12:44:55

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: ""

Is Secure? False

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB11

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.