Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel
3 3 Star:
Per Person Per Night
Search for room availability
Located in the picturesque county of Hertfordshire, the Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel is an ideal base from which to visit local attractions including, St Albans Abbey, Hatfield House, Whipsnade Zoo and Woburn Abbey. The hotel features 76 comfortable guestrooms, all spacious and well equipped with flatscreen TV with Freeview channels, complimentary tea and coffee making facilities, hairdryer, telephone and FREE WiFi. The hotel also offers FREE car parking.
Hotel Facilities & Services
- Lift to all Floors
- Air Conditioned Public Areas
- Tea and Coffee Making Facilities
- Internet Access
- Room Service Not 24hr: Yes
- Non Smoking Rooms
- Ground Floor Rooms
- Direct Dial Telephone
- Parking at Hotel Free: Yes
- Name: COCKFOSTERS
- Distance: 5 miles
- Name: HATFIELD
- Distance: 1 mile
- Name: LUTON
- Distance: 20 miles
- Cots/Cribs Free: No
- Interconnecting Rooms
Bar and Restaurant
Breakfast served from
- Saturday/Sunday: 08:00
- Monday to Friday: 07:30
Breakfast served to
- Saturday/Sunday: 10:30
- Monday to Friday: 09:30
- Bar in Hotel
- Restaurant in hotel
- Children's Menu available
- Pets Allowed Free: Yes
- Nearest Tube/Metro Name: Cockfosters Distance: 5 miles
- Nearest Rail Name: Hatfield Distance: 1 mile
- Nearest Airport Name: Luton Distance: 20 miles
To view our full selection of accommodation in North London, view our hotels in North London page.
SuperBreak Customer Rating
- Overall: SuperBreak Overall Rating: 4.0 out of 5 based on 1 review
- Sleep: SuperBreak Sleep Rating: 4.0 out of 5
- Breakfast: SuperBreak Breakfast Rating: 4.0 out of 5
- Staff: SuperBreak Staff Rating: 4.0 out of 5
- Location: SuperBreak Location Rating: 4.0 out of 5
TripAdvisor Traveller Rating
- Overall: based on 570 reviews
- Sleep Quality:
Making Fawlty Towers look professional
Stay Date: 11/2016, Emla wrote this review.
Ah where to start?!! Came here for a training course and I hope I never have to go back for another one. General decor is quite shabby and tired. Bathroom had no soap. The function room for our training was really cramped - We pretty much all had to… See more
Ah where to start?!! Came here for a training course and I hope I never have to go back for another one. General decor is quite shabby and tired. Bathroom had no soap. The function room for our training was really cramped - We pretty much all had to stand up if anyone wanted to get out. One table got knocked every time the door opened. The first break for tea and coffee included those little packets of biscuits, but they didn't provide one per person which was ridiculously stingy. We were told that lunch would be a buffet in the reception foyer. Our trainer went down to check it was there and people (not from our party) were already munching away on it. The staff member then said we should sit in the restaurant so we all went and sat in there. Lots of confusion followed with various staff members asking us which party we were from and telling us we should be somewhere else. The trainers were doing their best to get it sorted but it took a while. Some soup then came out. The butter on the table was a hint there would be some bread, but it only came out once we had all finished the soup. Naturally, there weren't enough pieces for everyone in our party, so we had to ask for more. It came out quite quickly, but it was cold and still a tad frozen in the centre. Yum! The main course (turkey, roast potatoes, veg and stuffing) came out one dish at a time, with a good few minutes wait in between each one. The waitress used her bare hands to pile up the stuffing balls. The cauliflower was cold. There was no vegetarian option (despite ordering one). Chef obviously put his thinking cap on and came up with the Worst Vegetarian Meal 2016. By a mile. Dry lettuce, cucumber that was probably cut up in 1975, one slice of cheddar, one of stilton and one of brie. The centre piece was HALF a small goats cheese and pear tart. The mystery of where the other half went remains. My guess is that it was eaten some time last year given how dry the goats cheese and the pastry were. We finally got back to the cramped seminar room after a good hour (rather than the half an hour allocated for our quick buffet that was eaten by someone else). So, given the whole hour that the room was empty, it was about 10 minutes after we got back in there that someone came round to collect all the water glasses. When asked why, they could merely mutter the word 'change'. They returned about 15 minutes later with new glasses. 2 interruptions that we could have done without. Dessert was also served in the seminar room, due to the lateness of the whole lunch. I was starving (thanks to my inability to risk going anywhere near the vegetarian option) so wanted to give the dessert a try. I opted for the cheesecake. Flavour unknown, even though I did try a couple of mouthfuls. There was a blackberry on the top (dry, not sure if it was a clue to the flavour of the cheesecake or not). The crust to topping ratio was almost equal. As a result, you could have done with a pick axe to break through, but none were provided so most of it ended up flying round the room or being left uneaten. The positives? There was parking. Collapse
Stay Date: 11/2016, linmafra wrote this review.
Christmas carnival was an event my family was looking forward to attend. Upon encountering an accident on our way down we arrived forty eight minutes late and a guy called Tony wasn't welcoming, it stated in a very rude manner by saying you are late… See more
Christmas carnival was an event my family was looking forward to attend. Upon encountering an accident on our way down we arrived forty eight minutes late and a guy called Tony wasn't welcoming, it stated in a very rude manner by saying you are late, we are about to serve desserts therefore you cannot have any starter. We apologised for our lateness and insisted that we have our starter. He said the chefs will no longer prepare any starter. We asked him if we can have a word with his manager and he replied" I am the manager" . We asked him what he has got to offer and he said soup only and we went along with it. Later the staff brought chicken pate for one and the rest of us had soup. While having the meal my husband approached Tony to tell him that the dinner was very nice in a way to make peace. He just gave my husband a dirty look , shoved his shoulder and walked away. Later on the DJ lighten up our mood and we tried to make a good evening for what was our first time at the hotel.. Collapse
Stay Date: 11/2016, Scott W wrote this review.
Had a very pleasant experience. The bar staff (Trish) very polite and welcoming. Had a very enjoyable night in the hotel bar could not knock it. Staff went out of their way to help customers. Even sort me out a takeaway breakfast as I was leaving bef… See more
Had a very pleasant experience. The bar staff (Trish) very polite and welcoming. Had a very enjoyable night in the hotel bar could not knock it. Staff went out of their way to help customers. Even sort me out a takeaway breakfast as I was leaving before breakfast Collapse
Such great staff
Stay Date: 11/2016, paulj121 wrote this review.
Weekend break, last chance before Christmas. Couldn't fault the room. Clean and comfortable. Breakfast was a bit chaotic on first day (poor direction - no milk jugs on tables yet tea and coffee was served / no glasses for juice - but this is a minor … See more
Weekend break, last chance before Christmas. Couldn't fault the room. Clean and comfortable. Breakfast was a bit chaotic on first day (poor direction - no milk jugs on tables yet tea and coffee was served / no glasses for juice - but this is a minor point - I just helped myself to milk from the cereal bay - easy (though the end of the world to the ghastly woman on the table next to us!)). Second morning, no such issues. And all was well. One thing I will say about this hotel is, the staff were excellent! None of them could have done more for us or have been more friendly. A real credit to the manageress and group. So thank you! The one thing which annoyed me (which is really easily rectified) the kitchen door in to the restaurant - squeaks like hell. And the staff are in and out, in and out! Get some WD40! I say this in jest, but it was annoying! But overall, a great weekend, nice friendly clean hotel, and I'd definitely recommend. So thank you Team Mercure. Collapse
Stay Date: 05/2016, Simon N wrote this review.
Sometimes on my travels its the small things that make a difference. The staff at this hotel are that difference a big difference, cheery, helpful and personal, nothing was ever too much. Nice clean room and bathroom, excellent breakfast with a very … See more
Sometimes on my travels its the small things that make a difference. The staff at this hotel are that difference a big difference, cheery, helpful and personal, nothing was ever too much. Nice clean room and bathroom, excellent breakfast with a very attentive staff. Evening meals were really good with something for every one, u was here for 4 weeks with work and it was a pleasure to stay. A special work must go out to the barman Raul who i think to be a wonderful asset to hotel, thank you and see you all again. Collapse
- Rest assured your break is safe with us
- No credit card or booking fees
- Your information is secure with GlobalSign
- Best UK Operator, Globe Awards 2016
Superbreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.
They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.
Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.