Customer Reviews by Destination - England

England Holiday Reviews

Stonehenge, England

Whatever you want from your next short break, our hotels in England page is the perfect starting point when planning a getaway. Whether you want a city break, a visit to an attraction or theme park with the family, a country escape or a mini-holiday by the sea, England has something to offer everyone.

Our England hotels range from budget accommodation to luxury retreats. Wonderfully diverse, you can travel North or South and discover somewhere brilliant, fascinating and exciting! For example, you could choose to visit the rolling countryside and historic cities of Yorkshire – recently voted one of the world’s top visitor destinations – or head to the sunny South-West and enjoy a cream tea on the English Riviera.

  • Mad about theatre? We’re famous for our theatre breaks, and whether you stay in a central London hotel for a trip to the glittering West End or venture to Shakespeare’s home town and see the RSC in Stratford-upon-Avon, it’s sure to add something special to your getaway.
  • Perhaps you’d like to sample sumptuous cuisine in one of the country’s cultural and cosmopolitan hubs? Check out our hotels in Birmingham and Manchester hotels!
  • Alternatively, our two night dinner deal packages– with dinner included on the first night of your stay – offer great value, and these breaks are located right across the country.
  • And, if you’re looking to escape, unwind, relax or reconnect with nature, then look no further than our Lake District hotels – England’s premier destination for outdoor excursions!


The only hard part of planning a break in England is deciding where to go! For a wealth of great places to stay and inspiring destinations to choose from, check out our list of hotels in England below.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 36038

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

The President Hotel, Russell Square, London

Stay Date: 14/05/16, a customer aged 45-64 from Uk who stayed at 3* President Hotel in Russell Square wrote this review.

Travel to The President Hotel. The hotel is a 2 minute walk from Russell Square Tube station. When travelling on the tube a contactless bank card can be used the same way as an Oyster card. I was See More  Read more information charged £6.50 daily. If I'd bought a daily tube ticket direct from the station it would have cost me £12 daily. We travelled to the hotel from Kings Cross tube station. Russell Square is one stop fromKings Cross on the Piccadilly line. Directions to the hotel from Russell Square tube station. To find the hotel, turn left when you leave the tube station (there is a small Tesco store oppositethe tube station) and then immediately left again. Follow the road for approx 2 mins. You will go past the "Friend in Hand" public house (on your left) and the hotel will be directly in front of you.The Friend in Hand public house serves excellent food and is reasonably priced. The hotel room. Check in at reception was very quick and friendly. We had a room on the second floor. The bedroomwas very clean. The toilet and bathroom are en-suite. The toilet is in a separate room from the bathroom. We had a twin room and both beds was extremely comfortable, two pillows were provided for eachbed and all were very clean. There are additional blankets in the wardrobe if required. The wardrobe is adequate but I would suggest taking some additional coat hangers with you if you are sharing aroom. Our hotel room was on the same side as the entrance to the hotel. The windows opened sufficiently to allow air to flow through the room if required. Traffic noise and the slight rumbling of thetube station trains could be heard when the window is open, however when the window is fully closed (this included a sliding second window) the noise was very very minimum in fact it was pretty muchsilent. I am a very light sleeper and normally have to wear ear plugs in hotels to get to sleep. I never once wore my ear plugs. The room was serviced daily. One morning I had to phone housekeeping aswe couldn't work out how to use the shower. Housekeeping were very helpful and promptly came to our room to rectify the situation. (the problem was a stiff lever). Breakfast at the hotel. When youcheck in at the hotel you will be given a breakfast card if you're staying Bed & Breakfast. You will need this to enter the dining room for breakfast. You will be taken to a table to be seated andfrom there the breakfast is self service. There is a choice of orange juice or apple juice. Fresh fruit consisted of segmented grapefruit or oranges and prunes. There's a choice of cereals. The cookedbreakfast consisted of bacon, sausages, tomatoes, baked beans, hash browns and a choice of boiled, poached, scrambled and fried eggs. The cooked breakfast soon goes cold as the plates weren't hot. Noplates were hot on the three mornings we had breakfast. The toast is already prepared and placed in a large container close to the cooked breakfast. The toast was not to my liking as it was barelytoasted and was limp. I prefer freshly toasted toast. There is a good variety of jams and marmalade at your table. Tea and coffee is served to you. The tea wasn't pleasant. If I closed my eyes to drink itI wouldn't have known it was tea, however the coffee was ok. Both tea and coffee were mildly warm, certainly not hot. We didn't eat in the dining room on an evening. Checking out of thehotel. Check out was quick and efficient. If your train / bus isn't due until later in the day bags can be left at the hotel at a cost of 50p per bag / suitcase. A ticket is given to you and this must beproduced to reception when you require to pick up your baggage. Overall I would most definitely use the President Hotel again. It's a 2 minute walk from the tube station and a 10 minute walk to theBritish Museum. There are ample restaurants and small shops close to the hotel.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Kensington Gardens  
Covent Garden  
British Museum  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Friend at Hand  
Steak & Co  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Great 2 day break

Stay Date: 17/05/16, a customer aged 65+ from New Broughton who stayed at 4* Best Western Monkbar Hotel in York wrote this review.

The Monkbar Hotel was good - the room was spacious and beds comfortable and clean. Hotel a little bit out of the centre so we did a lot of walking. The tour bus a great way to get around. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Castle Museum York  
Train Museum  
Chocolate Experience  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Best fish &chip shop  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Fantastic night out with family

Stay Date: 18/05/16, a customer aged 65+ from Swadlincote who stayed at 2* Lord Nelson Hotel in Liverpool wrote this review.

Hotel reception was first class. Room was good - very clean and comfortable. The continental breakfast was excellent. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

London

Stay Date: 10/05/16, a customer aged 25-44 who stayed at 3* Royal National Hotel in Russell Square wrote this review.

SuperBreak to London was excellent as usual, great hotel, travel easy all booked through SuperBreak, will be using again next year. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
River Cruise  
big bus tour  
theatre - Motown Musical  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Pizza Express  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Below par

Stay Date: 17/05/16, a customer aged 65+ from United Kingdom who stayed at 3* Beaulieu Hotel in Beaulieu (New Forest) wrote this review.

On the surface the hotel looked clean but in fact it needs a deep clean to bring it up to a decent standard. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
national car museum  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
hoptel  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Excellent night out

Stay Date: 13/05/16, a customer aged 65+ from Brecon who stayed at 4* 4* Mystery Non Refundable Hotel in Kings Cross/Bloomsbury wrote this review.

Mentioned to SuperBreak that the trip was for my wife's birthday. We got a room upgrade and a birthday cake at the hotel - really unexpected but it made the weekend. The hotel is ideal placed for See More  Read more information the theatre district and Covent Garden eateries - great location and staff were all very helpful. Can't fault anything.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Tredwells  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Visiting the hometown of the Bard

Stay Date: 16/05/16, a customer aged 45-64 from United Kingdom who stayed at 4* Ettington Chase (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Ettington (Nr Stratford-upon-Avon) wrote this review.

The Ettington Chase is located about 15 miles outside Stratford-upon-Avon, which is perfectly placed in its own grounds overlooking the Warwickshire countryside. Hotel rooms are spacious, bright and See More  Read more information clean. The Tempus bar and restaurant within the hotel served excellent seasonal dishes and desserts to die for, a definite must. Plenty of parking within Stratford, which then allowed you the freedomto walk around to each of the great homes and cottages of William Shakespeare and his family. Plenty of eateries for a spot of lunch and pubs for half a shandy. Perfect for a short weekday break.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Trinity Church  
Anne Hathaway cottage  
william Shakespeare birthplace  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Tempus Bar  
Tempus Restaurant  
the bell pub  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Birthday treat

Stay Date: 13/05/16, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 4* Kingsway Hall (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Covent Garden wrote this review.

This was a birthday treat. Hotel was chosen because it was closest to the theatre we were going to. On arrival we were told if we paid extra for an upgrade we would have a larger, nicer room with See More  Read more information bathrobes and slippers. We were put in a room at the front of the hotel, which was very noisy. Having stayed in the hotel before the room was not larger than the standard. The upgrade price was poorvalue. Our first night dinner was included it was extremely poor. It was not made clear that the choice would be limited. There were much better options across the road from the hotel. Breakfast wasthe saving grace it was delicious, plentiful and lots of choice. Rooms were also very clean and furnished well. Would I return? Not sure.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Great spa break

Stay Date: 26/02/16, a customer aged 45-64 from United Kingdom who stayed at 4* Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe Stratford (2 Nts & 1 Dinner) Non Refundable in Stratford-upon-Avon wrote this review.

Will return soon - loved hotel and it was great value. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Church  
Ghost Tour  
Musuem  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Pub  
Hotel  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Great value stay

Stay Date: 15/05/16, a customer aged 45-64 from United Kingdom who stayed at 3* President Hotel in Russell Square wrote this review.

We love the President Hotel for its location, in Russell Square and within easy reach of shopping, theatre, Kings Cross, Central London attractions and the Thames. The restaurant is well presented See More  Read more information and the food is really nice. We got complimentary evening meal on the first night which was a very unexpected surprise. The meal was really great and we got loads, really full after that.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Camden  
Covent Garden  
Warner Bros Studio-Harry Potter  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 51 - 60 of 36038 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 8am-10pm GMT, 7 days a week
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2016 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Version=10596723204 @ 03/05/2016 13:53:49

Last rendered @ 26/05/2016 23:30:02

Last rendered @ 26/05/2016 23:30:02

x-forward-port: "80"

X-Forwarded-Proto: ""

Is Secure? False

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB13

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.