Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 8am - 10pm, 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - England

England Holiday Reviews

Stonehenge, England

Whatever you want from your next short break, our hotels in England page is the perfect starting point when planning a getaway. Whether you want a city break, a visit to an attraction or theme park with the family, a country escape or a mini-holiday by the sea, England has something to offer everyone.

Our England hotels range from budget accommodation to luxury retreats. Wonderfully diverse, you can travel North or South and discover somewhere brilliant, fascinating and exciting! For example, you could choose to visit the rolling countryside and historic cities of Yorkshire - recently voted one of the world's top visitor destinations - or head to the sunny South-West and enjoy a cream tea on the English Riviera.

  • Mad about theatre? We're famous for our theatre breaks, and whether you stay in a central London hotel for a trip to the glittering West End or venture to Shakespeare's home town and see the RSC in Stratford-upon-Avon, it's sure to add something special to your getaway.
  • Perhaps you'd like to sample sumptuous cuisine in one of the country's cultural and cosmopolitan hubs? Check out our hotels in Birmingham and Manchester hotels!
  • Alternatively, our two night dinner deal packages? with dinner included on the first night of your stay offer great value, and these breaks are located right across the country.
  • And, if you're looking to escape, unwind, relax or reconnect with nature, then look no further than our Lake District hotels - England's premier destination for outdoor excursions!


The only hard part of planning a break in England is deciding where to go! For a wealth of great places to stay and inspiring destinations to choose from, check out our list of hotels in England below.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 34856

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Walton Hall Warwickshire

Stay Date: 22/06/16, a customer aged 45-64 from United Kingdom who stayed at 4* Mercure Warwickshire Walton Hall Hotel & Spa (2 Nt Offer & 1st Nt Dinner) in Stratford-upon-Avon wrote this review.

Looking at the pictures for Walton Hall before booking you would think that you are about to stay in the grandeur of a wonderful country mansion but the reality is that you are more likely to stay See More  Read more information in one of the bland 'boxes' that are in a separate set of buildings to the rear of the main house. Of course, you can stay in the actual Walton Hall for a much higher price per night. We stayed on a 2night B & B break with evening meal on the first night only. It seemed like good value at about £210 for 2 people but it fell short on this in a number of areas. Disappointment in not staying in theactual house was one. The bedroom was clean with a nice little balcony which we later discovered was essential as there was no air conditioning. Leaving the balcony door open overnight to get some airmeant we had a noisy night as our room overlooked the car park. Then there was the issue of the bed. Why is it that hotel chains in this country think that people want to sleep on what feels like asack of potatoes? So, 2 nights of twisting and turning amidst a noisy atmosphere wasn't exactly that relaxing. The other irritation was that for some reason only one set of towels were left each day for2 people so more phone calls to reception to sort that out. On the plus side the room was clean and staff were polite and very helpful, quick to put things right. The breakfast was good with anextensive selection of hot and cold foods, decent coffee and fruit juices etc. Breakfast staff were very attentive and helpful. The first night evening meal was a 3 course meal from a very limited menu.Unfortunately, the food was dire. I ordered an olive and goat's cheese tartlet that came with a minuscule salad. The tart was cold, dried up and tasted very bland. Being hungry I ate it and beingtypically English let it go without comment. The main course was baked bream on a bed of mashed potatoes with celeriac and seasonal vegetables. The actual meal consisted of a pathetic piece of overcookedbream on a squish of mash with a sprinkling of very nearly raw chopped vegetables. It was bland and both my wife and I complained. Other people also sent their meals back to. We managed to upgrade to amuch better sirloin steak at no extra charge. This was excellent and the reason we didn't go for this originally was because it carried an extra £10 surcharge. The staff were very apologetic about allthis. We left it at that, not fancying the final dessert option. The hotel grounds for Walton Hall are lovely comprising of a lake, set in a large expanse of grassland and well manicured walledgardens. Overall, we wouldn't go back to this hotel as it didn't represent good value for money and having stayed in other Mercury hotels I felt this one fell well short of my expectations.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Walton Hall Warwicksire  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
The Rose Tree restaurant in Bourton on the water  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Watched Barry Manilow

Stay Date: 22/06/16, a customer aged 45-64 from Swanton Morley who stayed at 3* Bedford Hotel in Russell Square wrote this review.

Enjoyed the concert a lot! O2 very good venue. Hotel Bedford wasn't too good though. Small outdated room, old, very hot and noisy. The bedding though was lovely and fresh and clean. Staff very See More  Read more information friendly.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
O2  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
O2  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Decent stay at Blackpool Grand

Stay Date: 24/06/16, a customer aged 25-44 from United Kingdom who stayed at 2* Grand Metropole Hotel (3 or 4 night Half Board Offer) in Blackpool wrote this review.

The Grand Metropole is perfectly placed close to the sea, tram stops, North Pier and good pub/party venues. A no nonsense hotel - we had a weekend stay as a couple working out at about £50 pppn for See More  Read more information 3 nights so can't grumble really. My continual issue is with the bedroom lottery of the Britannia Hotel but apart from that you can use this place as a good central base for the town.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
North Pier  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Night's stay before going to Wimbledon

Stay Date: 03/07/16, a customer aged 45-64 from Huddersfield who stayed at 4* The Lodge Hotel in Putney wrote this review.

Ideally located if going to Wimbledon Tennis Championships. Easy to find, free parking & breakfast included in the price is a definite plus. Plenty of choice for breakfast & very nice. Both my See More  Read more information husband & I are tall people & found the double bed too small & pillows were also uncomfortable. Although the room was small it was adequate for our stay. However it was very warm - air con noisy & so wasopening a window. Didn't eat at the hotel in the evening but menu looked lovely. Did have a drink though (thought this was pricey- £20 for two G&T's). Staff very nice & helpful. I would stay againbecause of location. 5 mins walk from Putney train station & just over 2 miles to Wimbledon, close to local pubs & eateries.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Wimbledon  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Roxie Steak house  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Cromwell Road London

Stay Date: 06/07/16, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 4* Radisson Blu Edwardian, Vanderbilt in Kensington wrote this review.

The hotel was well situated for our trip. But there was delay in checking in even though they said we could have priority check in. The twin room and bathroom were the tiniest I have ever seen it See More  Read more information was very claustrophobic and the air conditioning was inefficient. The cooked breakfast from the buffet was served on cold plates and the food was cold.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Hyde Park  
Wimbledon  
Harrods  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Da Mario  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

'Quality Hotel' - Ironic name for the hotel

Stay Date: 08/07/16, a customer aged 18-24 who stayed at 3* Quality Hotel and Leisure Stoke-on-Trent in Stoke-on-Trent wrote this review.

The deal we got was absolutely fantastic. Two nights stay plus Alton Towers tickets for a great rate! Unfortunately the hotel stay wasn't great. On arrival the hotel was a bit run down looking but See More  Read more information it was clean and that was all we were looking for. However on our first night stay we were up until after 12am in the morning due to other guests running up and down the hallway, opening and slammingdoors, screaming and keeping us up all night. After phoning down to reception 3 times we had enough and had to demand to move rooms where we offered another room 2 doors down, that obviously wasgoing to solve nothing and wasn't until we demanded out money back that we got moved to a room on the next floor up. This resolved the issue and our next night stay was fine but we felt the staff were notbeing helpful enough in resolving our issue. Obviously I understand they cannot control the behaviour of other customers in the hotel but we would have appreciated if they had at least spoke to themto try and resolve the issue but I do not think that this happened.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Alton Towers  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

London Break

Stay Date: 08/07/16, a customer aged 65+ from Uk who stayed at 3* President Hotel in Russell Square wrote this review.

The hotel location was easy to access from the tube, food was very good and the room itself was clean and had everything we needed for a short break. However the sound proofing between the adjacent See More  Read more information was very poor. We were woken at 2am by the guests next door, but it continued until 4am when called the reception who did resolve the issue. But this did spoil the weekend.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Latium  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

London

Stay Date: 09/07/16, a customer aged 25-44 from United Kingdom who stayed at 3* Bayswater Inn Hotel in Bayswater wrote this review.

Very disappointing hotel. Fabulous Stevie Wonder concert. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Hyde Park Concert  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review not helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Not really four star

Stay Date: 10/07/16, a customer aged 45-64 from United Kingdom who stayed at 4* DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Cheltenham wrote this review.

The hotel is tired along with the staff, all looked really miserable. Room far too hot to sleep. Will not be returning. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Not a five star

Stay Date: 12/07/16, a customer aged 65+ from Newton Aycliffe who stayed at 5* The Principal York (2 Night Offer & 1 Night Dinner) in York wrote this review.

Stayed while refurbishment was being done and decided to return when complete...big mistake. The room was tiny - barely any room to sit on the one stool, never mind the fact that the wardrobe was See More  Read more information full with a fridge, safety box, hair dryer, iron and ironing board (which was necessary as had to live out of case for two nights) as there were no draws to put any clothes. The room was far too smallfor a double bed, may have been ok for one night stop over. What a disappointment the restaurant was, certainly not five star, tables far too small, too close together and the food was only what can bedescribed as Pub Grub! Service was moderate. I can only think that the only reason this hotel has received a Five Star rating is for the leisure facilities, staff wearing uniforms and the suitescertainly not for the basic rooms (classic).   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Poccolino  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 33621 - 33630 of 34856 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 8am-10pm GMT, 7 days a week
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Release-20170705

Version=100699 @ 24/08/2017 10:04:35

Last rendered @ 24/09/2017 13:23:14

Last rendered @ 24/09/2017 13:23:14

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: ""

Is Secure? False

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB12

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.