Customer Reviews by Destination - England

England Holiday Reviews

Stonehenge, England

Whatever you want from your next short break, our hotels in England page is the perfect starting point when planning a getaway. Whether you want a city break, a visit to an attraction or theme park with the family, a country escape or a mini-holiday by the sea, England has something to offer everyone.

Our England hotels range from budget accommodation to luxury retreats. Wonderfully diverse, you can travel North or South and discover somewhere brilliant, fascinating and exciting! For example, you could choose to visit the rolling countryside and historic cities of Yorkshire – recently voted one of the world’s top visitor destinations – or head to the sunny South-West and enjoy a cream tea on the English Riviera.

  • Mad about theatre? We’re famous for our theatre breaks, and whether you stay in a central London hotel for a trip to the glittering West End or venture to Shakespeare’s home town and see the RSC in Stratford-upon-Avon, it’s sure to add something special to your getaway.
  • Perhaps you’d like to sample sumptuous cuisine in one of the country’s cultural and cosmopolitan hubs? Check out our hotels in Birmingham and Manchester hotels!
  • Alternatively, our two night dinner deal packages– with dinner included on the first night of your stay – offer great value, and these breaks are located right across the country.
  • And, if you’re looking to escape, unwind, relax or reconnect with nature, then look no further than our Lake District hotels – England’s premier destination for outdoor excursions!


The only hard part of planning a break in England is deciding where to go! For a wealth of great places to stay and inspiring destinations to choose from, check out our list of hotels in England below.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 36997

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Short Break in London

Stay Date: 01/08/07, a customer from Scarborough who stayed at 4* Novotel London Waterloo in Waterloo rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
 

Birthday Treat in London

Stay Date: 02/08/07, a customer from Ipswich who stayed at 4* Radisson Blu Edwardian, Grafton in Tottenham Court Road wrote this review.

We had planned our break with the aim of seeing at least one west end show over the two days. We were fortunate to get tickets for both the Lord of the rings and the Lion King. The lord of the Rings See More  Read more information was excellent. We spent a whole day just walking and experincing some of the life and sights of the city. We had never done this before and it proved to be very enjoyable and relaxing. Our walk tookus from the west end to trafalgar square, horse guards parade,westminster abbey, houses of parliament,embankment,millenium bridge, south bank and Tower bridge/Tower of London. I have been to Londonon several occasions but this was the most enjoyable.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
National Gallery  
Westminster Abbey  
The Lion King  
The Lord of the Rings  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Strada, South Bank  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Tatton Hall Treat

Stay Date: 28/07/07, a customer from St. Helens who stayed at 3* Cheadle House in Manchester (Nr) wrote this review.

I booked tickets for my girlfriend and myself at the Music and Fireworks Concert at Tatton Hall Park on 28th July 2007. I then thought it would be nice to make a weekend of it, so I also booked a See More  Read more information night at the De Vere Hotel in Cheadle. On our arrival, the hotel staff were extremely friendly and helpful, offering us directions from there to Tatton Park. However, on being directed to our room, wefound that the bed was unmade, with soiled sheets. We went back down to reception and complained, and the desk operative could not have been more helpful, or apologetic. We were immediately moved toanother room - which, I might say, was a larger and better one - and the rest of our stay was very comfortable and enjoyable. We drove to the concert. Pauline, being the organised type, had broughtalong a picnic, and after a fairly long walk from the car park (probably half a mile), we arrived at the field where we were to enjoy the concert. We had to find a pitch amongst hundreds of otherconcert-goers, but only being two, that was not difficult. We were a long way from the stage, but that did not matter, as an excellent sound system had been installed across the field, and we could hear themusic as if we were next to the orchestra. An excellent choice of music for the occasion, the Halle justified their reputation as one of the nation's favourite orchestras, and the fireworks werespectacular. Even the light drizzle which came along intermittently could not dampen the enthusiasm of those present, and it even cleared away in time for the fireworks! A truly memorable evening! We hadto walk back to the car after the concert, which was like something out of a Cecil B DeMille epic, with hundreds of people walking together in file. Then we had to endure the long wait in the car toget out of the park. That must have taken at least 45 minutes, and it was past midnight before we got back to the hotel. Next time, I shall try to book the priority parking! We were tired, and we sleptwell, so much so that we missed breakfast, despite it being the usual later hours on a Sunday. However, we booked out and went across to the John Lewis Store just down the road. I had never beenthere, and I began to suspect a conspiracy when Pauline took me in the direction of the furniture department, but it was an enjoyable browse, and I even ended up buying a potato peeler! You should haveseen the look on Pauline's face when I came away with something and she didn't! I couldn't blame her for the shopping, as I had after all booked the hotel without her knowing, as a surprise. So shedidn't really miss out!   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Tatton Hall Park Music and Fireworks Concert  
John Lewis Cheadle  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

London

Stay Date: 01/08/07, a customer from Swadlincote who stayed at 4* Novotel London Excel in Docklands wrote this review.

Hotel was great the only problem we had was dlr machines did not explain much about tickets because you can't use all day passes every where.shop on corner helped us out on day 2 £10.00 instead of See More  Read more information £31.00 but other than that we had a great 2 days trip seeing the sights and the hotel was marvellous in every way possible   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Buckingham Palace  
London Eye  
Natural History, Science & Victoria & Albert Museum  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Strada  
Novotel London Excel Restaurant  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Great Weekend in London

Stay Date: 27/07/07, a customer from Walsall who stayed at 4* The Grosvenor in Victoria wrote this review.

For hassle free use of public transport buy an oyster card for the duration of your stay and you wont have to find the correct change again. travelling around all day betwen venues and sights can See More  Read more information be tiring we highly recommend the EAT franchises as they offer fresh food at realistic prices. If at all possible fast track on entrances it may cost a little extra but sure will cut down on waitingtimes at more popular places.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
London Eye  
London Zoo  
Natural History Museum  
The Lion King  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Pizza Hut, Covent Garden  
McDonald's  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Daughter's West End Birthday Treat to See Joseph

Stay Date: 28/07/07, a customer who stayed at 4* Novotel London City South in London Bridge/City wrote this review.

As a birthday treat, we took our daughter and her best friend to see Joseph at The Adelphi Theatre, thoroughly enjoying the build up on the BBC's 'Any Dream Will Do' programme to see who would win See More  Read more information the lead role - fortunately the girls' favourite - Lee! On the train down from Birmingham, we were able to pre-book seats with a table, have our packed lunch in comfort and arrive in London nice andrelaxed. We bought 1 day off-peak travelcards for the underground allowing the kids to travel free. Using the underground we traveled easily to our hotel (six stops with no changes)and although wewere a bit lost when we came out of the tube, a quick call to the Hotel's frontdesk and we were given excellent directions. We were greeted by friendly staff at the hotel and booked into our room- a family room for two adults and two kids. We got showered and changed for a pre-theatre meal followed by the show. Using our travelcards, we went by tube to The Strand and ate at the Pizza Hutwe had located before our visit, opposite the theatre. We had to wait for a table to become available and could have done with longer to eat our meal but we asked for all the courses to come togetherso that we could get to the theatre on time! So glad it was nearby. We had budget seats right at the top back of the theatre but luckily our seats allowed the kids to sit in line with aisles and havea good view of the stage. Other seats would have been worse as the audience was mainly adult and a bit difficult to see over. The show was fantastic and the kids sang and danced their way back tothe hotel and to bed. Breakfast was excellent in the morning - something to suit all tastes. We had already planned what we were going to do on the Sunday and we set off using travelcards again onthe tube. A short trip to Westminster Pier and we got the 10am sightseeing cruise to Greenwich. Our travelcard allowed a 30% discount on the price of a family return ticket normally ?26. The trip takesabout 1 hr each way and you can return when you want. We walked to the Royal Observatory first, which takes you past some very impressive buildings around the National Maritime Museum and up asteepish hill through a lovely park. The story behind Greenwich meantime is very educational for the kids (and adults!) and standing on the meridian provides a great photo opportuniy. We walked backto the Maritime Museum, first having a healthy but bit pricey lunch in the courtyard of it's cafe/restaurant. We were a bit short of time to visit the Maritime Museum properly and found it difficult tofind our way about - a route to follow would have been helpful. We got the boat back to Westminster Pier and tube back to pick up our luggage from the hotel. It was a bit of an effort to turnstraight back out of the hotel to the tube station again, but we had to catch our train back to Birmingham. Once again we were very thankful for pre-booked seats on the train as it was quite full. Somefamilies were split up and/or standing in the corridor! Overall we had a fantastic trip - the anticipation once booked, the build up, the actual trip and then of course the memories afterwards.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
National Maritime Museum  
Royal Observatory  
Thames River Services - Return Cruise to Greenwich  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Pizza Hut  
National Maritime Museum Cafe  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break in Coventry

Stay Date: 02/08/07, a customer from Coventry who stayed at 3* Royal Court Hotel in Coventry rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
 

Our Stay at Risley Hall Hotel

Stay Date: 01/08/07, a customer from Newark who stayed at 3* Risley Hall Hotel in Derby wrote this review.

we were a little concerned that the hotel would not be all that child friendly, or that our 3 year old son would not be hotel friendly but we had nothing to worry about. all the staff were extremely See More  Read more information pleasant and practically adopted our very excited loud child who in turn welcomed all the attention he was getting.we were in the old part of the hotel which had plenty of character and what i hopeda ghost or two but if there are any we didn't experiece anything. the food was good, as was the food at the pub next door to the hotel. we went to Gullivers Kingdom during our stay which was onlyabout 40 minutes drive away. all in all we had a very enjoyable stay. my only regret is that we didn't stop there longer!   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Gullivers Kingdom  
Twin Lakes  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Risley Pub  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

The Royal National Hotel

Stay Date: 23/07/07, a customer from Liverpool who stayed at 3* Royal National Hotel in Russell Square wrote this review.

The stay was good and enjoyable, a little noisy during one night, due to a group of younger persons, calling each other from their bedroom windows, However that was only one night, otherwise Quite See More  Read more information peaceful. Found that the London Travelcards were very useful for getting around and good value.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
London Eye  
Madame Tussauds  
Tower of London  
Thames River Cruise  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Greek Restaurant opposite Royal National Hotel  
Jacques, Tavistock Hotel  
North Sea Fish Restaurant , Leigh Street  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break in London

Stay Date: 16/06/07, a customer from Haddenham who stayed at 4* Holiday Inn London Kensington Forum in Kensington rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Royal Albert Hall  
Tate Modern  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Pizza Express, nr Globe Theatre  
 
 
 

Showing 25961 - 25970 of 36997 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 8am-10pm GMT, 7 days a week
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2016 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=On-Going Enhancements

Version=10621926690 @ 10/01/2017 14:50:08

Last rendered @ 20/01/2017 03:43:21

Last rendered @ 20/01/2017 03:43:21

x-forward-port: "80"

X-Forwarded-Proto: ""

Is Secure? False

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB18

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.