Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 8am - 10pm, 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - Dover, Folkestone & Area

Dover, Folkestone & Area Holiday Reviews

Dover Castle, Dover

For a relaxing short break in the Garden of England, our hotels in Dover & Folkestone are an excellent choice. Discover this incredibly scenic corner of the country – full of history, and a great base from which to explore Kent, the area is more than just a stop on the way to continental Europe.

Whether you choose to take it easy and indulge in afternoon tea by Dover’s pretty harbour, go hiking on the headlands, or head out on the sightseeing trail, a short break in the south-east is as chilled-out or high-octane as you make it. Easily accessed from the A2 and the M20, and within easy driving distance of must-see Canterbury and vibrant Ashford, our hotels in Dover & Folkestone are ideally located for a getaway.

  • Our hotels in Dover are perfect for a visit to the singularly impressive Dover Castle; the largest castle in England and originally founded in the 12th century, it dominates the skyline. Home to a long, fascinating history, it’s a must-visit
  • History enthusiasts should also check out the Dover Western Heights – one of the country’s most impressive fortifications – and the Victorian-era boldbegin#Dover Museum
  • Our hotels in Folkestone are in a great position for visiting local attractions too, not least the Kent Battle of Britain Museum – one of the country’s best World War II dedicated museums.
  • Every bit as pretty as Dover’s white cliffs, the Folkestone Leas are naturally beautiful, and have wonderful views out to sea; for comedy gigs and music concerts, the Folkestone Leas Cliff Hall is difficult to beat
A charming destination for your next short break, take a look through our Dover & Folkestone hotels in the list below.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 104

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Short Break in Dover

Stay Date: 02/09/06, a customer from Warwick who stayed at 4* Ramada Hotel Dover in Dover rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Dover Castle  
 
 

A Memorable Day in Canterbury!!

Stay Date: 20/10/06, a customer from West Midlands who stayed at 2* Grand Burstin Hotel in Folkestone wrote this review.

I had never been to Canterbury, in fact I had never heard much about Canterbury, but my husband and I decided to visit the City. The drive in from Folkestone was very scenic, beautiful green fields See More  Read more information and quaint houses. As we entered the city the walls from the castle were awesome and classy. Parking was easy to find, although we parked in the long stay the following day after finding the shortstay was as much as a whole day parking. We walked about cobbled street shops, that hosted independent unique book stalls, second hand dress shops of extreme style and fashion. And some of the bestsmelling coffee shops you would die for. We ate lunch at an Italian Restaurant that had absolutely fantastic staff, service and food. We had main meals and a large salad with Italian bread and Italianbeers. It was the best lunch time value for money that I have had for a long time. I can definitely recommend it as a buzzing place to visit with lots of character, great buildings, superb shopping,andits a great place for people of all ages. A great day out!!   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Canterbury  
Dover  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break in Folkestone

Stay Date: 19/05/07, a customer who stayed at 3* Burlington Hotel in Folkestone wrote this review.

had one night to celebrate birthday . See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break in Folkestone

Stay Date: 24/07/07, a customer from Huddersfield who stayed at 2* Grand Burstin Hotel in Folkestone rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Canterbury  
Dover  
Ely  
 
 

Overnight Stay in Folkstone

Stay Date: 21/07/07, a customer from Essex who stayed at 3* Burlington Hotel in Folkestone wrote this review.

Only chose Folkstone because it was short notice and it was the only hotel in the area that would take the dog. It was a pleasure to stay at the Burlington, great customer service. The breakfast was See More  Read more information poor but overall most enjoyable.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
La Tavernetta Ristorante  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Dover Short Break

Stay Date: 19/08/07, a customer who stayed at 4* Ramada Hotel Dover in Dover wrote this review.

It was a short break to celebrate our wedding anniversary and the birth of our baby girl. The whole experience was excellent! See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Dover Castle  
The White Cliffs Experience  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break in Folkestone

Stay Date: 17/08/07, a customer from Kettering who stayed at 2* Grand Burstin Hotel in Folkestone rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Dover Castle  
The Secret Wartime Tunnels  
 
 

Great Weekend in Kent

Stay Date: 09/11/07, a customer from Llanwrtyd Wells who stayed at 2* Grand Burstin Hotel in Folkestone wrote this review.

Visited RSPB reserve at Dungeoness. Was brill. City of Canterbury was also very good. Hotel was Idealy situated for exploring the southeast. Hotel and staff were very busy,but very good. We enjoyed See More  Read more information the stay very Much.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Relaxing & Fun Time in Folkstone

Stay Date: 01/11/08, a customer from Hertfordshire who stayed at 2* Grand Burstin Hotel in Folkestone wrote this review.

Great views of harbour from our hotel rooms. Good location & value for the money. found short cuts (using steps) to town centre with beautiful veiws overlooking coast See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Harbour & Coastal Walk  
British Lion Oldest Pub in Folkstone  
Lovely Quaint Properties Hidden in Little Streets  
Village & Country Side Drives  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
The Oldest Pub - Sunday Lunch  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Restfull Break

Stay Date: 05/04/09, a customer from Greenhithe who stayed at 2* Grand Burstin Hotel in Folkestone wrote this review.

I found the hotel very restfull I enjoyed my break See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
country park  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break In Folkestone

Stay Date: 22/05/09, a customer from Thetford who stayed at 3* Burlington Hotel in Folkestone wrote this review.

The Hotel Burlington was great with a lot of Victorian charm. Only problem was the beds were like sleeping on a concrete floor See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Lympne Animal Park  
Lympne and Dymchurch railway  
Cantabury Cathedral  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Giovanni Italian Restaaurant  
Burlington Hotel  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break In Folkestone

Stay Date: 08/07/09, a customer from Smeltwick who stayed at 2* Grand Burstin Hotel in Folkestone rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Dover  
Calais  
 
 

Short Break In Flokestone

Stay Date: 20/07/09, a customer who stayed at 2* Grand Burstin Hotel in Folkestone wrote this review.

We spent two days shopping in Folkstone and Canterbury. Both centres were 1st class. The harbour views were great, the meals were extreamly good, staff were very good. The meals we had out of town See More  Read more information were very good, all in all,a very enjoyable break, thank you.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
West Hythe  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Botolphs Bridge Inn  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break In Folkestone

Stay Date: 13/02/10, a customer from Greenhithe who stayed at 2* Grand Burstin Hotel in Folkestone rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
 

Short Break In Folkestone

Stay Date: 30/01/11, a customer from Uk who stayed at 3* Burlington Hotel in Folkestone rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
 

Short Break In Folkestone

Stay Date: 08/04/12, a customer who stayed at 2* Grand Burstin Hotel (2 Night Offer & 2 Dinners) in Folkestone wrote this review.

Excellent room with view of harbour, very clean with tea/coffee facilities a bonus. Staff helpful, food was good. Upgraded restaurant on second night for £5.00 well worth it as it included the See More  Read more information breakfast the next morning. Overall for 2 night stay with dinner and breakfast for £65.00 for was excellent value for money. Would go back.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Overnight Stay Only

Stay Date: 11/06/12, a customer from Uk who stayed at 3* Burlington Hotel in Folkestone wrote this review.

Overnight stay prior to a cruise from dover. Staff could not do enough for us. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Trip to France

Stay Date: 21/09/12, a customer aged 45-64 from Wallington who stayed at 2* Grand Burstin Hotel (2 Night Offer & 2 Dinners) in Folkestone wrote this review.

the lift to the room on the 12th floor was not working so the reception staff had no trouble getting a roon on a lower floor. we booked a trip to France through the hotel, to find only 2 other See More  Read more information paople were with us. ( how many would have still run this trip ) fantastic. we upgraded to the restaurant with staff as we were only here a few days. food was great as were the staff. just over the road atFolkestone Harbour was a fresh crab and shell fish great as well   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Dover Castle  
France  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Hastings

Stay Date: 16/11/12, a customer aged 65+ who stayed at 2* Grand Burstin Hotel (2 Night Offer & 2 Dinners) in Folkestone wrote this review.

great day in hastings See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
In the hotel  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Peaceful Haven in Dover

Stay Date: 15/02/13, a customer aged 25-44 from Kent who stayed at 4* Ramada Hotel Dover (2 Night Offer inc Ferry Crossing) in Dover wrote this review.

This was the perfect place to go for our first weekend away without the children in 17 years! Even though the hotel had quite a few functions on, it was still lovely and quiet and the staff couldn't See More  Read more information have been more friendly and helpful. Walking over the White Cliffs of Dover for about 4 hours gave us lots of exercise and time to talk, laugh and fall in love all over again! I've also beenintroduced to a new drink - Archers, thanks to the girl at the bar in the Hotel, mmmmm - I'm hooked!   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
St Margarets at Cliffe  
The White Cliffs of Dover  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Tesco Cafe  
 

User Review Ratings: 2 out of 2 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Folkestone Airshow

Stay Date: 07/06/14, a customer aged 25-44 from Milton Keynes who stayed at 2* Grand Burstin Hotel in Folkestone wrote this review.

We stayed in The Grand Burstin Hotel and I have to say that some of the reviews I had seen was making me dread going... but how wrong I was. Yes the hotel is a bit dated but the room was fantastic See More  Read more information and our sea view was amazing! The staff were fantastic and most helpful and the food was excellent. The Folkestone Airshow was fantastic and a big well done to all who managed to get it on, seeing TheRed Arrows was brilliant and the concert and fireworks was a great touch as well. If the airshow is on next year I would highly recommend it along with the Burstin Hotel.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Folkestone air show  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Great Weekend at Folkestone Air Show

Stay Date: 07/06/14, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 2* Grand Burstin Hotel in Folkestone wrote this review.

The hotel is looking a little tired and needs updating, especially the television and heaters, but the room was clean and the bed comfortable and had a lovely view of the seafront.. The car park was See More  Read more information very full and too many cars were parked at the front where they shouldn't making it difficult for drivers to get through. The food we had in the hotel was very good, and the staff were friendly andhelpful. Britannia spend some money on this hotel and bring it into the 21st century!   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Air Show  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Ramada hotel

Stay Date: 26/08/14, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 4* Ramada Hotel Dover (2 Night Offer inc Ferry Crossing) in Dover wrote this review.

Good hotel and good location, Excellent service from all the staff. Nice atmosphere in the bar and good quality food in the restaurant. Only a five minute drive to Dover castle and the port is about See More  Read more information the same (£8 taxi). Great hotel for a 1-2 night stay, if your planning a trip to Calais! I will book this hotel again, as the service was second to none!   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Olive Tree  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Mini break in Folkestone

Stay Date: 20/05/15, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 2* Grand Burstin Hotel in Folkestone wrote this review.

We often visit Folkestone annually for a mini break as it's not far to travel to & we always stay at the Grand Burstin hotel. Never really had a bad stay although this time for some reason the fire See More  Read more information alarms kept sounding during the night & early morning but we got over that. Our rooms have always been very clean & service from staff is always excellent. Great value for money!   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Hythe  
Pitch & putt  
The leas lift  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Rocksalt  
The pullen pub  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Good Hotel

Stay Date: 09/09/16, a customer aged 45-64 from Bedfordshire who stayed at 2* Grand Burstin Hotel (2 Night Offer & 2 Dinners) in Folkestone wrote this review.

Good accommodation but a little too hot, no ventilation. Food good, dining clean & bright, good size bar but again too hot. Lifts not able to cope with the number of guests. Will use again. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Love Folkestone

Stay Date: 21/10/16, a customer aged 45-64 from United Kingdom who stayed at 2* Grand Burstin Hotel (2 Night Offer & 2 Dinners) in Folkestone wrote this review.

Had a lovely weekend - hotel basic but OK and met our needs - was clean and comfortable. Food in the hotel very poor quality and tasteless. Hotel is in a prime position overlooking the harbour, See More  Read more information lovely views and close to everything Folkestone has to offer. Rooms are basic but clean, staff were lovely and work very hard to accommodate everyone. I would stay at the hotel again for the price we paidand the location but would only pay for a room only and eat out. We had a fantastic weekend thank you SuperBreak.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
The leas  
Folkstone harbour  
Folkstone town  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break in Dover

Stay Date: 21/07/06, a customer from Glasgow who stayed at 4* Ramada Hotel Dover in Dover rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
 

Dover

Stay Date: 04/08/06, a customer who stayed at 4* Ramada Hotel Dover in Dover wrote this review.

Sorry its not more, but we were only staying overnight prior to getting the fery the next day. Although a short stay everything was great! See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break in Dover

Stay Date: 30/12/06, a customer who stayed at 4* Ramada Hotel Dover in Dover rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
 

A Day at Dover Castle

Stay Date: 12/03/07, a customer who stayed at 3* Burlington Hotel in Folkestone wrote this review.

This was an excellant day out. The underground tunnels where the second world war operations were planned was very interesting. It was a shame that the underground hospital was closed for See More  Read more information renovations. The overall visit was exceedingly pleasurable with so much to see.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Canterbury Cathedral  
Dover Castle  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break in Dover

Stay Date: 18/05/07, a customer from Heanor who stayed at 4* Ramada Hotel Dover in Dover wrote this review.

We used the hotel as an overnight stop before going on a 2 week cruise to the Baltic. We left the car for the duration of the holiday. We did not have time to visit anything in area as we arrived See More  Read more information late afternoon after a long journey from Derbyshire. The room was very comfortable and clean but we were adjacent to the car park so it was a bit noisy at times. We would use the hotel again if wesailed from Dover and would happily recommend it to others.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Brewers Fayre  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break in Folkestone

Stay Date: 22/06/07, a customer who stayed at 2* Grand Burstin Hotel in Folkestone rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
 

A mini-break in Kent

Stay Date: 16/08/07, a customer from Leigh-On-Sea who stayed at 3* Burlington Hotel in Folkestone wrote this review.

On day one we visited the White Cliffs visitors centre and did the walk to St.Margaret's bay which was amazing. We had a fantastic view of the French coast line. The visit to the lighthouse was very See More  Read more information informative as our guide was very knowledgeable and explained the war period well. On day 2,we went to Boulogne for the day. The close proximity to the channel tunnel was very convenient and is anextremely efficient service. Boulogne was a great place to visit, particularly the Old Town and Nausicca sealife centre.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
White Cliffs - National trust  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break in Folkestone

Stay Date: 12/08/07, a customer who stayed at 2* Grand Burstin Hotel in Folkestone rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
 

Short Break in Folkestone

Stay Date: 25/08/07, a customer from Coventry who stayed at 2* Grand Burstin Hotel in Folkestone rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
 

Short Break in Folkestone

Stay Date: 10/09/07, a customer from Peterborough who stayed at 2* Grand Burstin Hotel in Folkestone rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Calais  
 
 

Canterbury

Stay Date: 27/01/08, a customer from Canada who stayed at 2* Grand Burstin Hotel in Folkestone wrote this review.

A great day out visiting the magnificent cathedral and lovely old streets for shopping. Also had a lovely visit to rye. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Canterbury Cathedral  
Hastings  
Ramsgate, Deal, Margate  
Folkestone Shopping  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break in Folkestone

Stay Date: 26/07/08, a customer from Newport who stayed at 3* Burlington Hotel in Folkestone wrote this review.

We have stayed at this hotel previously and find it adequate,easy to find and reasonably convenient for our use, on this occaision with our grandson, the room was nice and large giving us plenty of See More  Read more information room.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Romney, Hythe & Dymchurch Railway  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Folkestone

Stay Date: 06/09/08, a customer from Derbyshire who stayed at 2* Grand Burstin Hotel in Folkestone wrote this review.

A good visit to safari park, weather not on our side but very good walk had. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Lympne Park  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Stay in Folkstone

Stay Date: 28/11/08, a customer who stayed at 2* Grand Burstin Hotel in Folkestone wrote this review.

The Hotel was good enough for what we required that was a room and bed, while visiting relations in area. The only thing I could complain about was on the booking form it stated room available at See More  Read more information 2pm when we went at 2.20pm, we was told the room would not be ready until 3pm. To us no problem we left and went back at 9.30pm. Over all clean room and quite, good breakfast with plenty of choice andthe staff was pleasant.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

2 great days spent, 1 in Disneyland, 1 in Dover

Stay Date: 19/03/09, a customer from Bristol who stayed at 2* Grand Burstin Hotel in Folkestone rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Dover Castle  
Disneyland, Paris, for the Day  
 
 

Overnight Stay

Stay Date: 17/05/09, a customer from York who stayed at 2* Grand Burstin Hotel in Folkestone wrote this review.

En route to Belgium - pure overnight stop. Arrived fairly late, dealt with efficiently by the Burstin Hotel staff. Room spacious, equipped for tea making etc. Enjoyed night time entertainment. No See More  Read more information complaints.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Shortbreak in Folkestone, Kent

Stay Date: 26/05/09, a customer from West Midlands who stayed at 2* Grand Burstin Hotel (3 or 4 night Half Board Offer) in Folkestone wrote this review.

Grand Burstin was adequate. It was quite faded around the edges and requires refurbishment. But the service was very good, the staff extremely helpful and friendly. The food was good. I was on a See More  Read more information walking holiday so I did extensive walking along the coast, downs, cliffs, and cross-country hiking along the valley pathways.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Canterbury  
Dover  
Dungeness  
RHD Railway  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break In Folkestone

Stay Date: 24/05/09, a customer who stayed at 3* Burlington Hotel in Folkestone rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
 

Nice Break In Folkstone

Stay Date: 22/05/09, a customer who stayed at 3* Burlington Hotel in Folkestone wrote this review.

The hotel was a splendid building, the room very large with a view to the sea. The Leas on Folkstone front were a lovely place to walk which we did several times, we found a nice pub near the old See More  Read more information church where we had both our evening meals- we drove to Hastings & Rye and travelled the whole return distance on the hythe light railway, we wished we had booked another night as the trip was sopleasant   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Rye  
Hastings  
Hythe - Dymchurch Railway  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break In Dover

Stay Date: 25/10/09, a customer who stayed at 4* Ramada Hotel Dover in Dover rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
 

Good Hotel

Stay Date: 24/08/09, a customer who stayed at 4* Ramada Hotel Dover in Dover wrote this review.

This is a good hotel if you want to stay for a night before travelling from Dover. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Port Lympne Animal Park  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Relaxing Weekend In Folkestone

Stay Date: 14/08/09, a customer from London who stayed at 2* Grand Burstin Hotel (2 Night Offer & 2 Dinners) in Folkestone wrote this review.

Enjoyed a lovely weekend in a beautiful part of England. Breathtaking views from Lees cliffs Folkestone and some exellent walk:,except the walk up the hill into town from hotel. Having said that the See More  Read more information Grande Burstin was a good hotel with excellent entertainment the only problem was it was at the top of a hill.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Dover  
Hythe  
Dymchurch Light Railway  
Visited Zig Zag Path  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Folkestone With A 6 Year Old

Stay Date: 29/07/10, a customer who stayed at 2* Grand Burstin Hotel in Folkestone wrote this review.

My grangdaughter and I spent 2 days in Folkestone and had a wonderful time. We spent most of the day on the sandy beach and the early evening in the great Lower Leas Park - the best park I have ever See More  Read more information seen for children. We swam in the hotel pool and hope to go back for a few days before she goes back to school!.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Lower Leas Park Folkestone  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Overnight In Dover

Stay Date: 24/08/10, a customer from Uk who stayed at 4* Ramada Hotel Dover in Dover wrote this review.

My partner and I spent just 1 night in Dover pre-cruise. We arrived early in the afternoon and had a good walk about the town before taking a taxi to the hotel as we knew the fare to the Ramada was See More  Read more information about £8. Despite this cost we returned to the town in the evening to have a meal at Cullin's Yard which we thoroughly enjoyed both for the excellent food and the atmosphere. Our hotel room was wellequipped though the bathroom door kept banging whilst we had the window open and the bath itself was very narrow. We thought we might have been disturbed by traffic noise as we overlooked the car parkbut this proved not to be the case and the bed was comfortable. The following morning we had time to visit Dover Castle and take the fascinating tour of the secret wartime tunnels before walking backinto the town which took rather longer than the 10 minutes the taxi driver had advised us to allow - more like 30 minutes! Overall our visit was very enjoyable especially as the weather was fine. Themain drawback was that the hotel was so far out of the town which seemed a great pity when there was a large seafront hotel standing empty. We would definitely have preferred to stay there if it hadbeen open.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Dover Castle  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Cullin's Yard, Dover  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Grand Burstin Hotel Dover

Stay Date: 19/09/10, a customer who stayed at 2* Grand Burstin Hotel (2 Night Offer & 2 Dinners) in Folkestone wrote this review.

Hotel rooms were tried and in need of refurbishment. Lifts broke down, or were turned off. Food was adequate. Food choice could have been better. Hotel was ok for short weekend break. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Dover Castle  
Wartime Tunnels Dover  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Great Stopover For France

Stay Date: 07/10/10, a customer from Uk who stayed at 2* Grand Burstin Hotel in Folkestone wrote this review.

The Grand Burstin is a great way to start your holiday to France. Good food, happy hour bar and great entertainment. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Hotel Brasserie  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

New Year

Stay Date: 02/01/11, a customer from Uk who stayed at 2* Grand Burstin Hotel New Year Break in Folkestone wrote this review.

3nite all inclusive over new year very enjoyable, restaurant staff worked hard, entertainment very good all starf very polite had a good all round time. Only down side not enough tables & seats in See More  Read more information main ball room on new years eve.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

A Weekend In Kent

Stay Date: 27/02/11, a customer from Uk who stayed at 2* Grand Burstin Hotel (2 Night Offer & 2 Dinners) in Folkestone wrote this review.

Hotel was easy to find, had a room at front of hotel with views of the harbour. Would have liked waitress service in restaurants but both restaurants were self service. Room was clean and See More  Read more information comfortable. Lots of places within easy travelling distance of folkstone, we went to leeds castle and chatham docks where they have a dickens world was most impressed with both.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Leeds Castle  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break In Folkestone

Stay Date: 22/04/11, a customer who stayed at 2* Grand Burstin Hotel in Folkestone rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Beach  
Creative Quarter  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
fish and chips  
 
 

A Relaxing Weekend By The Sea.

Stay Date: 08/05/11, a customer who stayed at 3* Burlington Hotel in Folkestone wrote this review.

A very enjoyable location, with pleasant surroundings and a good hotel experience. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Grand Burstin Hotel

Stay Date: 19/08/11, a customer from Uk who stayed at 2* Grand Burstin Hotel in Folkestone wrote this review.

Good points: triple room, nice sea view, cooked buffet breakfast satisfactory, good selection of tv channels in room, good bathroom, good food in buffet restaurant (victorian) in evening, See More  Read more information decent-size room. Poor points: no croissants at breakfast, watered-down orange juice in both restaurants, limited choice of food in victorian buffet restaurant in evening, two drawers in unit in bedroom comingto pieces, hotel looking a little run-down in places (especially in lifts) - like folkestone itself, in fact! overall satisfactory. Would probably go again if only because it seems to be the onlylarge hotel in or near the centre of folkestone.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Port Lympne Animal Park  
Romney Hythe & Dymchurch Railway  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Bella Pasta  
Victoria Restaurant In Hotel  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Great Burstin- Out All Over!

Stay Date: 29/01/12, a customer from Uk who stayed at 2* Grand Burstin Hotel in Folkestone wrote this review.

When we entered the hotel, we were surrounded by smokers... Not a great introduction for non-smokers like us. The hotel looked run down and was full of people who looked like they were happy to See More  Read more information spend the day and night in the bar. The rooms were a slightly higher standard than a travelodge, although the bathroom needed a deeper clean. It would have been nice to be in a premier room with propersea views, but we didn't realise we could "upgrade" to one of them.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
the park  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Cafe In The Hidden Theatre.  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break In Folkestone

Stay Date: 12/02/12, a customer who stayed at 2* Grand Burstin Hotel in Folkestone rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Beach Front  
Water Powered Cliff Lift  
 
 

A Room With A View

Stay Date: 08/06/12, a customer from Uk who stayed at 2* Grand Burstin Hotel (2 Night Offer & 2 Dinners) in Folkestone wrote this review.

The hotel itself was very tired, dirty in places and in dire need of some tlc. Our room was ok, the bathroom was very poor, but the fabulous view of the harbour and sea from our window/balcony made See More  Read more information up for the disappointment. Great cocktail bars in folkestone: hallets in the creative quarter and rocksalt by the harbour. Dover castle and the town of rye great places to visit.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Dover Castle  
Rye  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Super Shopping with Superbreak

Stay Date: 24/01/13, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 2* Grand Burstin Hotel in Folkestone wrote this review.

We booked a night at the Grand Burstin Hotel Folkestone as P&O Ferries had a special offer on a day trip to Calais. We wanted an overnight stay before we went. Have stayed at this hotel before. See More  Read more information Meals excellent, helpful staff, clean rooms.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Folkestone

Stay Date: 26/04/13, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 2* Grand Burstin Hotel (2 Night Offer & 2 Dinners) in Folkestone wrote this review.

Nice town with plenty of shops and market on Saturday. Hotel overlooked beach. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Folkestone  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Folkstone

Stay Date: 29/06/13, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 2* Grand Burstin Hotel (2 Night Offer & 2 Dinners) in Folkestone wrote this review.

House hunting See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Lovely Trip to Rye

Stay Date: 12/07/13, a customer aged 45-64 from Brandon who stayed at 2* Grand Burstin Hotel (2 Night Offer & 2 Dinners) in Folkestone wrote this review.

Enjoyed a lovely trip to Rye, very pretty town and good coffee shops. Went to the Dymchurch steam railway (that kept hubby happy). The hotel was excellent value for money, although a little tired See More  Read more information looking. The food was good with a large selection, self service but that's great with my diet to have such a choice. Had a lovely view over the harbour, but that had a downside as one of the fishingboats had his motor running for nearly an hour from before 5 am and the fire alarm went off (false alarm) at just gone 5 am so not a brilliant night sleep but beds were comfortable, curtains thick enoughto block daylight. Would stay again, very handy for day trips to France.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Rye  
Rocksalt  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Two days at Folkestone

Stay Date: 29/07/13, a customer aged 25-44 who stayed at 2* Grand Burstin Hotel (2 Night Offer & 2 Dinners) in Folkestone wrote this review.

We stayed at Grand Burstin hotel for two days (Breakfast and dinner). Food was quite good; however it did not have much options for vegetarians. We asked for a sea-facing room- but what we got was a See More  Read more information room in the basement, which was more like a dungeon. We asked for a wi-fi connection when I booked the room but in the basement there was no signal and hence had to stay without wifi. Also, when webooked the hotel, they said the pool and the gym was free but then they charged for the pool when we checked-in. Grand Burstin is a very basic hotel with minimum facilities. I wouldn't plan to stayin Grand Burstin again!   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Folkestone  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

A day at the Beach

Stay Date: 25/10/13, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 2* Grand Burstin Hotel (2 Night Offer & 2 Dinners) in Folkestone wrote this review.

Stayed at a hotel which was well situated to the beach and town good for walks. Then came back and had a nice meal at the hotel and watched the evening entertainment See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Ramada

Stay Date: 24/12/13, a customer aged 45-64 from Eastbourne who stayed at 4* Ramada Hotel Dover Christmas Break in Dover wrote this review.

Had a relaxing break See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

That's (not) entertainment

Stay Date: 24/12/14, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 4* Best Western Plus Dover Marina Hotel & Spa Christmas Break in Dover wrote this review.

The hotel was in a perfect location so it was quiet both inside and outside. Could not fault the food. The hotel room and corridors were incredibly hot so often had to have the room's window open See More  Read more information whereas if we sat by the window in the foyer or the restaurant it was very cold as the windows appeared to be quite old. The only real problem for us was the 'entertainment' we were expecting at ourChristmas stay was just a pianist in the restaurant so we were often stuck for something to do in the evening so would often retreat to our room after dinner to watch tv.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Good peaceful break

Stay Date: 28/02/15, a customer aged 25-44 who stayed at 4* Ramada Hotel Dover (Afternoon Tea Offer) in Dover wrote this review.

Had booked Ramada Hotel near Dover without much expectation to relax and in-wind for the weekend and received exactly the same experience. Hotel was quite OK and breakfast quality could improve. See More  Read more information Overall location was excellent.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Light house near Dover  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Enjoyable but slightly disappointing two night stay

Stay Date: 06/04/15, a customer aged 65+ who stayed at 4* Ramada Hotel Dover (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Dover wrote this review.

The hotel was good and the food was excellent, breakfast was fantastic and the staff were very efficient and helpful. Dinner was excellent but we were disappointed to learn that the evening meal See More  Read more information allowance on the first night was only £15 per person, so we ended up having to pay £30 towards what we thought was a free dinner. There was a funeral reception at the hotel on the second afternoon whichmeant the bar was completely full and we had to take our drinks into the reception area. The noise from this party continued well into the night keeping us awake until after 1 am.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Dover Castle  
Downe House  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Weekend break in Folkestone

Stay Date: 24/04/15, a customer aged 65+ who stayed at 2* Grand Burstin Hotel (2 Night Offer & 2 Dinners) in Folkestone wrote this review.

Entertainment in the hotel was excellent but the menus need more variation. The room was too warm preventing a good night's sleep. The electrical socket was under the bed and in the middle so we had See More  Read more information to move the bed to plug in a machine that I have to use to blow air into my nose as I suffer with sleep apnoea. The hotel could do with repainting especially the exterior. The staff were veryhelpful.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Pleasantly surprised

Stay Date: 15/08/15, a customer aged 25-44 who stayed at 2* Grand Burstin Hotel in Folkestone wrote this review.

We have stayed at the hotel several times before. It is always clean but quite dated. We know what to expect and I was honestly pleasantly surprised. They have finally started to put a little See More  Read more information money into renovation. It makes quite a difference.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Weekend special offer at the Great Burstin Hotel Folkestone.

Stay Date: 12/09/15, a customer aged 65+ from London who stayed at 2* Grand Burstin Hotel (2 Night Offer & 2 Dinners) in Folkestone wrote this review.

Firstly this is a 2* holiday makers hotel. So please do not expect it to be quiet! In July and August it is very busy with children and families. 6 floors all with lifts. Hotel is tired but really See More  Read more information if you are on holiday you enjoy the seaside! Food was basic but plentiful. Staff worked quietly in the background replenishing the food. You can pay £10 per person per night and eat in a "better"restaurant and have a sea view. There are various options. Better see online and phone to ask questions that are important to you. I am a walking disabled. If you have a blue badge Folkestone Councilare very good. You can park almost anywhere but if you park wrongly you will be fined! Look up blue badge parking Folkestone online and pick the one that tells you where you can or cannot park andprint it out. Disabled or not the hotel charges £3.50 a day for this. Across the road it is £5.00. Weekend was noisy and did not get quiet until about midnight. Staff were helpful and quick to, ifthey could, solve your problems. September is full of silver surfers with oldie music, Beatles etc. They have two ballrooms. Booking in is 3pm so take this time to drive around to get yourbearings. You do not have to have half board they have a very good priced Brassiere to one side of the bar. There are slot machines in the comfortable lounge area. I forgot to add they have a swimming pooland gym and possibly a sauna. BUT you have to pay. Again please check with the hotel as these extras can add up. Beds are firm. Very basic TV unless you upgrade. Prices vary from say £85 doublehalf board to £61 for a double per night off season or search special offers. CHECK!   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Harbour  
International design centre  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Hotel Restaurant  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Burstin Hotel Folkestone harbour

Stay Date: 18/08/17, a customer aged 45-64 from Rochester who stayed at 2* Grand Burstin Hotel (2 Night Offer & 2 Dinners) in Folkestone wrote this review.

Good value break, hotel was tired but very clean, choice of three or four different meals each night, entertainment every night, beautiful location overlooking the harbour. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Museum  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break in Folkestone

Stay Date: 22/07/06, a customer from Milton Keynes who stayed at 3* Burlington Hotel in Folkestone rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Dover Castle  
Rochester Castle  
 
 

Short Break in Folkestone

Stay Date: 10/08/07, a customer from London who stayed at 2* Grand Burstin Hotel in Folkestone wrote this review.

the hotel was in a remote area and there really is nothing to do if you are into clubbing there are a few clubs near by See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break in Folkestone

Stay Date: 17/08/07, a customer who stayed at 2* Grand Burstin Hotel in Folkestone rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Staff  
 
 

Ramada Dover

Stay Date: 08/08/08, a customer from Liverpool who stayed at 4* Ramada Hotel Dover in Dover wrote this review.

Room very comfortable; but public rooms form part of central rotunda of hotel and are open plan. On Saturday night there was a wedding reception, with v loud disco music in the dining room, which See More  Read more information made it well nigh impossible to use the public rooms if you weren't a wedding guest. Other guests were told to have meals in their rooms! Fortunately, we were out with friends are so weren'tinconvenienced - but we'd have hated to have young children or elderly parents with us.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

A Bit of A Rush Trip!

Stay Date: 23/11/08, a customer who stayed at 2* Grand Burstin Hotel in Folkestone wrote this review.

As regards the hotel, we were there one minute, then literally gone the next! We arrived at 7.30pm Sunday evening, had a quick bite to eat in the Restaurant, then went straight to bed, as we had to See More  Read more information be up the next morning at 4.00am for a Eurotunnel crossing to France on a 'booze cruise' and Christmas shopping expedition! Ref. the Grand Burstin Hotel in Folkestone, we had a quick check-in. TheReceptionist was reasonably helpful, could have been a little more forthcoming with information we had to ask her for. Unbeknown to us, the Restaurant closed at 8.00pm, so by the time we got in therewith 10 mins. to spare - the choice of food was non-existent and dried up, but as we did not have to pay for this (we had exchanged it for our breakfast, as we would have to forfeit this due to a veryearly morning departure), we were not too bothered! Felt a little out of it, as the hotel was teeming with 'over 70's'! so went straight up to our room and watched TV! Our room was very basic, but cleanand warm and was ideal for a night's stopover. Would use it again for a similar trip. Our bi-annual trip to France was as exhausting as ever, but a good day out with some good offers in the bag!Thought food and clothes were much dearer than last time though!   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Cite Europe, Calais, France  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
in Cite Europe  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break In Folkestone

Stay Date: 19/05/09, a customer from Rochdale who stayed at 2* Grand Burstin Hotel in Folkestone rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
 

Short Break In Folkestone

Stay Date: 05/06/09, a customer from Hemel Hempstead who stayed at 2* Grand Burstin Hotel (2 Night Offer & 2 Dinners) in Folkestone rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Rare Breeds Centre  
 
 

Short Break In Folkestone

Stay Date: 04/09/09, a customer from Pontefract who stayed at 2* Grand Burstin Hotel (2 Night Offer & 2 Dinners) in Folkestone rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Battle  
Folkestone  
Hastings  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Grand Burstin Hotel  
 
 

Grand Burstin Hotel

Stay Date: 16/02/10, a customer from Southampton who stayed at 2* Grand Burstin Hotel in Folkestone wrote this review.

We stayed for one night at the Grand Burstin Hotel and that was just enough for us. Staff were friendly enough, but rooms were very run down but quite spacious. Bathroom had no shower and towel rail See More  Read more information not working. Breakfast was ample. A very very busy hotel.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Canterbury Cathedral  
Rochester Cathedral  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

P&O Dover Cruise

Stay Date: 16/02/10, a customer from Newgate Lane who stayed at 2* Grand Burstin Hotel in Folkestone wrote this review.

The hotel staff were very pleasant apart from my return from my mini cruise. When quoting my room number I was told that "you owe us money", on further investigation it turned out that the See More  Read more information receptionist the previous night had given me the wrong room/key no. I was given an upgraded room for the second night - but no apology for the initial attitude.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
P&O Cruise To Calais  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Langans Brasserie On Board Mv Pride Of Calais  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Grand Burstin Folkestone

Stay Date: 13/08/10, a customer who stayed at 2* Grand Burstin Hotel in Folkestone wrote this review.

View from 7th floor good over roof tops to sea. Had to complain about state of toilet - not rectified. Hotel generally ok. Would stay again at right price. Toured north east Kent by car - throughly See More  Read more information enjoyed area.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Sandwich  
Deal  
Wildwood, Herne Bay  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Fish Bar Whitstable  
Cabin Cafe Folkestone  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break In Folkestone

Stay Date: 26/08/10, a customer who stayed at 2* Grand Burstin Hotel in Folkestone wrote this review.

Folkestone has really hit rock bottom with nothing there anymore. The hotel supplied a good range of entertainment. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Pullman Arms  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break In Dover, Folkestone & Area

Stay Date: 08/09/10, a customer who stayed at 2* Grand Burstin Hotel (2 Night Offer & 2 Dinners) in Folkestone rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
 

Short Break In Folkestone

Stay Date: 27/09/10, a customer who stayed at 2* Grand Burstin Hotel in Folkestone rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
 

Lovely Folkestone

Stay Date: 25/09/11, a customer who stayed at 2* Grand Burstin Hotel (2 Night Offer & 2 Dinners) in Folkestone wrote this review.

Had lovely view from window at burstin hotel, on third floor overlooking harbour. Drinks in the bar were quite reasonable. Very nice for a cheap and cheerful break. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Shopping Centre  
Walk Round Harbour Folkestone  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Kent 2012

Stay Date: 31/03/12, a customer from Uk who stayed at 2* Grand Burstin Hotel in Folkestone wrote this review.

Great stay in kent. Folkstone a good base to travel around county from. Hotel a little rough around the edges. Cleaning could be paid a little more attention to especially in the rooms in the grand See More  Read more information burstin - however a budget price so we still consider good value for money. Lovely area. Many good places to visit. Would recommend a coastal tour if using own car. Recommend checking opening timesfor attractions if visiting out of peak season.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Leeds Castle  
Rochester Cathedral  
White Cliffs And South Foreland Lighthouse  
Cantebury Cathedral  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break In Dover, Folkestone &Amp; Area

Stay Date: 16/06/12, a customer who stayed at 2* Grand Burstin Hotel in Folkestone rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
hotel  
 
 

Short Break in Folkestone

Stay Date: 01/10/12, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 3* Burlington Hotel in Folkestone wrote this review.

Used local buses in Kent to visit other places with daily Explorer tickets each day on the bus as the weather was changeable. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Clifton Hotel, Folkestone  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Great Weekend in Folkestone

Stay Date: 08/03/14, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 2* Grand Burstin Hotel in Folkestone wrote this review.

For a 2* the Grand Burstin is what it is. We were in the Penthouse which have great views. The carpet in room was stained and the room was a smoking room which wasn't very pleasant. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Rocksalt  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Our holiday break

Stay Date: 15/06/14, a customer aged 45-64 from Rochester who stayed at 2* Grand Burstin Hotel (2 Night Offer & 2 Dinners) in Folkestone wrote this review.

Overall we enjoyed a break. The food was cold and not nice the first day. Second eve we upgraded to other restaurant in hotel and that was lovely so was breakfast there. Was not happy when staff See More  Read more information interrupted us watching a soap on tv(there were 2 other tvs to switch to football, was told it was world cup so all tvs had to be put on football didn't think that was fair. We went and used the gymvery good and staff there very nice, helpful and happy. We did go out for walks and shops too.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
harbour fish and chips  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

You get what you pay for

Stay Date: 28/10/14, a customer aged 25-44 who stayed at 2* Grand Burstin Hotel (2 Night Offer & 2 Dinners) in Folkestone wrote this review.

The hotel is very old and very tired, a few bits of tinsel in October were never going to cheer up the peeling orange paint and broken ceiling tiles. If you want to relive a school residential See More  Read more information holiday then this is the place for you- mass catered cheap food and tacky excursions, otherwise, you would be better off somewhere else.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Town Shopping  
Lea's Lift  
Martello Tower  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Folkestone

Stay Date: 24/04/15, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 2* Grand Burstin Hotel (2 Night Offer & 2 Dinners) in Folkestone wrote this review.

This hotel is looking very dated and could do with a face lift. The room you gave us was of a very low standard so we upgraded and this was not much better. Not one of our better stays with your See More  Read more information company.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break in Folkestone

Stay Date: 21/10/07, a customer who stayed at 2* Grand Burstin Hotel in Folkestone rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Folkestone Horse Racing  
Folkestone Movie Screen  
Port Lympne Wildlife Safari  
 
 

Short Break in Folkestone

Stay Date: 08/03/08, a customer from Peterborough who stayed at 2* Grand Burstin Hotel in Folkestone wrote this review.

bed old and lumpy bed linen past its best. Tv not tuned. No shower bath only Hotel fully booked parking very difficult. nights very noisy.restaurant reminiscentof butlins holiday camp See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Wards Hotel, Folkestone  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break in Folkestone

Stay Date: 17/08/08, a customer from East Boldon who stayed at 2* Grand Burstin Hotel in Folkestone rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
 

Not The Place to Stay

Stay Date: 30/10/08, a customer who stayed at 2* Grand Burstin Hotel in Folkestone wrote this review.

I have to say that I have stay at this hotel many times before but not since it was taken over by this new group and it has really gone downhill and i for one will not be staying here again. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Grand Burstin

Stay Date: 02/06/09, a customer who stayed at 2* Grand Burstin Hotel in Folkestone wrote this review.

I stayed at the Grand Burstin as I was on business in the Folkestone area for two days. The check in process was very professional although the hotel has seen better days in general. I was in a room See More  Read more information on the 13th. floor which had a fantastic view. I decided to go out for dinner after checking out the restaurant menu which was basic to say the very least. When I came to have a shower in the morningthe cold tap on the shower wsn't working and I had to run a bath using a small glass to transfer in cold water - it took me 20 minutes to run a bath! Breakfast was very poor with a number of staffrunning around studiously avoiding eye contact with customers.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break In Kent

Stay Date: 18/04/10, a customer from Bournemouth who stayed at 2* Grand Burstin Hotel in Folkestone rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
 

Ramada Hotel Dover

Stay Date: 06/12/13, a customer aged 45-64 from Coalville who stayed at 4* Ramada Hotel Dover in Dover wrote this review.

On arrival we were impressed by the room we were allocated. The room was spacious, warm, well equipped and had the potential to be quiet, which is what we specifically requested. Unfortunately there See More  Read more information was a Marquee in the grounds just yards from the window where they hosted a Christmas Party with Disco that went on until midnight - the farthest thing from quiet that you could imagine. It took 2.5hours from being seated in the restaurant (6.15pm) to leaving after paying. We waited ages between each course and each course came with an apology that they had a Marquee full of guests eating aChristmas dinner that was stretching the kitchens to the limit. Only 5 other tables were occupied in the restaurant, all still waiting to be fed when we left at 8.45. We had paid for the evening meal andbreakfast with the booking but the ?15 allowance went nowhere as the cheapest main course with meat was ?12.75, any two course meal meant paying extra. Definitely a Hotel that we will never use again.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Ramada Hotel Dover  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Burstin Folkestone Motown

Stay Date: 02/12/16, a customer aged 45-64 from United Kingdom who stayed at 2* Grand Burstin Hotel (2 Night Offer & 2 Dinners) in Folkestone wrote this review.

Everything was really bad from start to finish - been here many times and have never known it this bad. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 1 - 104 of 104 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 8am-10pm GMT, 7 days a week
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Travel Aware - Staying Safe and Healthy Abroad

The Foreign & Commonwealth Office and National Travel Health Network and Centre have up-to-date advice on staying safe and healthy abroad. For the latest travel advice from the Foreign & Commonwealth Office including security and local laws, plus passport and visa information check www.gov.uk/travelaware and follow @FCOtravel and Facebook.com/FCOtravel

Keep informed of current travel health news by visiting www.travelhealthpro.org.uk

The advice can change so check regularly for updates.

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Release-20170705

Version=1001475 @ 22/11/2017 08:00:43

Last rendered @ 22/11/2017 16:53:24

Last rendered @ 22/11/2017 16:53:24

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: ""

Is Secure? False

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB12

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.