Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 8am - 10pm, 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - Dover, Folkestone & Area

Dover, Folkestone & Area Holiday Reviews

Dover Castle, Dover

For a relaxing short break in the Garden of England, our hotels in Dover & Folkestone are an excellent choice. Discover this incredibly scenic corner of the country – full of history, and a great base from which to explore Kent, the area is more than just a stop on the way to continental Europe.

Whether you choose to take it easy and indulge in afternoon tea by Dover’s pretty harbour, go hiking on the headlands, or head out on the sightseeing trail, a short break in the south-east is as chilled-out or high-octane as you make it. Easily accessed from the A2 and the M20, and within easy driving distance of must-see Canterbury and vibrant Ashford, our hotels in Dover & Folkestone are ideally located for a getaway.

  • Our hotels in Dover are perfect for a visit to the singularly impressive Dover Castle; the largest castle in England and originally founded in the 12th century, it dominates the skyline. Home to a long, fascinating history, it’s a must-visit
  • History enthusiasts should also check out the Dover Western Heights – one of the country’s most impressive fortifications – and the Victorian-era boldbegin#Dover Museum
  • Our hotels in Folkestone are in a great position for visiting local attractions too, not least the Kent Battle of Britain Museum – one of the country’s best World War II dedicated museums.
  • Every bit as pretty as Dover’s white cliffs, the Folkestone Leas are naturally beautiful, and have wonderful views out to sea; for comedy gigs and music concerts, the Folkestone Leas Cliff Hall is difficult to beat
A charming destination for your next short break, take a look through our Dover & Folkestone hotels in the list below.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 104

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Folkestone

Stay Date: 26/04/13, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 2* Grand Burstin Hotel (2 Night Offer & 2 Dinners) in Folkestone wrote this review.

Nice town with plenty of shops and market on Saturday. Hotel overlooked beach. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Folkestone  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Folkstone

Stay Date: 29/06/13, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 2* Grand Burstin Hotel (2 Night Offer & 2 Dinners) in Folkestone wrote this review.

House hunting See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Lovely Trip to Rye

Stay Date: 12/07/13, a customer aged 45-64 from Brandon who stayed at 2* Grand Burstin Hotel (2 Night Offer & 2 Dinners) in Folkestone wrote this review.

Enjoyed a lovely trip to Rye, very pretty town and good coffee shops. Went to the Dymchurch steam railway (that kept hubby happy). The hotel was excellent value for money, although a little tired See More  Read more information looking. The food was good with a large selection, self service but that's great with my diet to have such a choice. Had a lovely view over the harbour, but that had a downside as one of the fishingboats had his motor running for nearly an hour from before 5 am and the fire alarm went off (false alarm) at just gone 5 am so not a brilliant night sleep but beds were comfortable, curtains thick enoughto block daylight. Would stay again, very handy for day trips to France.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Rye  
Rocksalt  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Two days at Folkestone

Stay Date: 29/07/13, a customer aged 25-44 who stayed at 2* Grand Burstin Hotel (2 Night Offer & 2 Dinners) in Folkestone wrote this review.

We stayed at Grand Burstin hotel for two days (Breakfast and dinner). Food was quite good; however it did not have much options for vegetarians. We asked for a sea-facing room- but what we got was a See More  Read more information room in the basement, which was more like a dungeon. We asked for a wi-fi connection when I booked the room but in the basement there was no signal and hence had to stay without wifi. Also, when webooked the hotel, they said the pool and the gym was free but then they charged for the pool when we checked-in. Grand Burstin is a very basic hotel with minimum facilities. I wouldn't plan to stayin Grand Burstin again!   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Folkestone  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

A day at the Beach

Stay Date: 25/10/13, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 2* Grand Burstin Hotel (2 Night Offer & 2 Dinners) in Folkestone wrote this review.

Stayed at a hotel which was well situated to the beach and town good for walks. Then came back and had a nice meal at the hotel and watched the evening entertainment See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Our holiday break

Stay Date: 15/06/14, a customer aged 45-64 from Rochester who stayed at 2* Grand Burstin Hotel (2 Night Offer & 2 Dinners) in Folkestone wrote this review.

Overall we enjoyed a break. The food was cold and not nice the first day. Second eve we upgraded to other restaurant in hotel and that was lovely so was breakfast there. Was not happy when staff See More  Read more information interrupted us watching a soap on tv(there were 2 other tvs to switch to football, was told it was world cup so all tvs had to be put on football didn't think that was fair. We went and used the gymvery good and staff there very nice, helpful and happy. We did go out for walks and shops too.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
harbour fish and chips  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

You get what you pay for

Stay Date: 28/10/14, a customer aged 25-44 who stayed at 2* Grand Burstin Hotel (2 Night Offer & 2 Dinners) in Folkestone wrote this review.

The hotel is very old and very tired, a few bits of tinsel in October were never going to cheer up the peeling orange paint and broken ceiling tiles. If you want to relive a school residential See More  Read more information holiday then this is the place for you- mass catered cheap food and tacky excursions, otherwise, you would be better off somewhere else.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Town Shopping  
Lea's Lift  
Martello Tower  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Folkestone

Stay Date: 24/04/15, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 2* Grand Burstin Hotel (2 Night Offer & 2 Dinners) in Folkestone wrote this review.

This hotel is looking very dated and could do with a face lift. The room you gave us was of a very low standard so we upgraded and this was not much better. Not one of our better stays with your See More  Read more information company.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Weekend break in Folkestone

Stay Date: 24/04/15, a customer aged 65+ who stayed at 2* Grand Burstin Hotel (2 Night Offer & 2 Dinners) in Folkestone wrote this review.

Entertainment in the hotel was excellent but the menus need more variation. The room was too warm preventing a good night's sleep. The electrical socket was under the bed and in the middle so we had See More  Read more information to move the bed to plug in a machine that I have to use to blow air into my nose as I suffer with sleep apnoea. The hotel could do with repainting especially the exterior. The staff were veryhelpful.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Weekend special offer at the Great Burstin Hotel Folkestone.

Stay Date: 12/09/15, a customer aged 65+ from London who stayed at 2* Grand Burstin Hotel (2 Night Offer & 2 Dinners) in Folkestone wrote this review.

Firstly this is a 2* holiday makers hotel. So please do not expect it to be quiet! In July and August it is very busy with children and families. 6 floors all with lifts. Hotel is tired but really See More  Read more information if you are on holiday you enjoy the seaside! Food was basic but plentiful. Staff worked quietly in the background replenishing the food. You can pay £10 per person per night and eat in a "better"restaurant and have a sea view. There are various options. Better see online and phone to ask questions that are important to you. I am a walking disabled. If you have a blue badge Folkestone Councilare very good. You can park almost anywhere but if you park wrongly you will be fined! Look up blue badge parking Folkestone online and pick the one that tells you where you can or cannot park andprint it out. Disabled or not the hotel charges £3.50 a day for this. Across the road it is £5.00. Weekend was noisy and did not get quiet until about midnight. Staff were helpful and quick to, ifthey could, solve your problems. September is full of silver surfers with oldie music, Beatles etc. They have two ballrooms. Booking in is 3pm so take this time to drive around to get yourbearings. You do not have to have half board they have a very good priced Brassiere to one side of the bar. There are slot machines in the comfortable lounge area. I forgot to add they have a swimming pooland gym and possibly a sauna. BUT you have to pay. Again please check with the hotel as these extras can add up. Beds are firm. Very basic TV unless you upgrade. Prices vary from say £85 doublehalf board to £61 for a double per night off season or search special offers. CHECK!   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Harbour  
International design centre  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Hotel Restaurant  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 81 - 90 of 104 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 8am-10pm GMT, 7 days a week
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Travel Aware - Staying Safe and Healthy Abroad

The Foreign & Commonwealth Office and National Travel Health Network and Centre have up-to-date advice on staying safe and healthy abroad. For the latest travel advice from the Foreign & Commonwealth Office including security and local laws, plus passport and visa information check www.gov.uk/travelaware and follow @FCOtravel and Facebook.com/FCOtravel

Keep informed of current travel health news by visiting www.travelhealthpro.org.uk

The advice can change so check regularly for updates.

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Release-20170705

Version=1001507 @ 06/12/2017 08:14:45

Last rendered @ 13/12/2017 03:43:19

Last rendered @ 13/12/2017 03:43:19

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: ""

Is Secure? False

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB13

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.