Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 8am - 10pm, 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - Dover, Folkestone & Area

Dover, Folkestone & Area Holiday Reviews

Dover Castle, Dover

For a relaxing short break in the Garden of England, our hotels in Dover & Folkestone are an excellent choice. Discover this incredibly scenic corner of the country – full of history, and a great base from which to explore Kent, the area is more than just a stop on the way to continental Europe.

Whether you choose to take it easy and indulge in afternoon tea by Dover’s pretty harbour, go hiking on the headlands, or head out on the sightseeing trail, a short break in the south-east is as chilled-out or high-octane as you make it. Easily accessed from the A2 and the M20, and within easy driving distance of must-see Canterbury and vibrant Ashford, our hotels in Dover & Folkestone are ideally located for a getaway.

  • Our hotels in Dover are perfect for a visit to the singularly impressive Dover Castle; the largest castle in England and originally founded in the 12th century, it dominates the skyline. Home to a long, fascinating history, it’s a must-visit
  • History enthusiasts should also check out the Dover Western Heights – one of the country’s most impressive fortifications – and the Victorian-era boldbegin#Dover Museum
  • Our hotels in Folkestone are in a great position for visiting local attractions too, not least the Kent Battle of Britain Museum – one of the country’s best World War II dedicated museums.
  • Every bit as pretty as Dover’s white cliffs, the Folkestone Leas are naturally beautiful, and have wonderful views out to sea; for comedy gigs and music concerts, the Folkestone Leas Cliff Hall is difficult to beat
A charming destination for your next short break, take a look through our Dover & Folkestone hotels in the list below.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 120

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Shortbreak in Folkestone, Kent

Stay Date: 26/05/09, a customer from West Midlands who stayed at 2* Grand Burstin Hotel (3 or 4 night Half Board Offer) in Folkestone wrote this review.

Grand Burstin was adequate. It was quite faded around the edges and requires refurbishment. But the service was very good, the staff extremely helpful and friendly. The food was good. I was on a See More  Read more information walking holiday so I did extensive walking along the coast, downs, cliffs, and cross-country hiking along the valley pathways.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Canterbury  
Dover  
Dungeness  
RHD Railway  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

New Year

Stay Date: 02/01/11, a customer from Uk who stayed at 2* Grand Burstin Hotel New Year Break in Folkestone wrote this review.

3nite all inclusive over new year very enjoyable, restaurant staff worked hard, entertainment very good all starf very polite had a good all round time. Only down side not enough tables & seats in See More  Read more information main ball room on new years eve.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break In Dover

Stay Date: 21/04/12, a customer from Uk who stayed at 4* Best Western Plus Dover Marina Hotel & Spa (2 Nights Offer & 1 Night Dinner) in Dover rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
 

Peaceful Haven in Dover

Stay Date: 15/02/13, a customer aged 25-44 from Kent who stayed at 4* Ramada Hotel Dover (2 Night Offer inc Ferry Crossing) in Dover wrote this review.

This was the perfect place to go for our first weekend away without the children in 17 years! Even though the hotel had quite a few functions on, it was still lovely and quiet and the staff couldn't See More  Read more information have been more friendly and helpful. Walking over the White Cliffs of Dover for about 4 hours gave us lots of exercise and time to talk, laugh and fall in love all over again! I've also beenintroduced to a new drink - Archers, thanks to the girl at the bar in the Hotel, mmmmm - I'm hooked!   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
St Margarets at Cliffe  
The White Cliffs of Dover  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Tesco Cafe  
 

User Review Ratings: 2 out of 2 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Day out in Calais

Stay Date: 25/10/13, a customer aged 45-64 from Lincoln who stayed at 4* Best Western Plus Dover Marina (2 Night Offer inc Ferry Crossing) in Dover wrote this review.

As part of our Superbreak, we had a foot passenger trip to Calais. We went out on the 9:25 ferry to Calais, on arrival we took the bus into Calais, then purchased a day pass for the local buses See More  Read more information (3.30e), and went out to Cite de Europe, and had a great shopping trip, had lunch, etc. returning back on the 6:30 ferry - great day out and the weather was great - dry and sunny - not bad for the lastweekend in October.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Calais  
Cite de Europe  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Family Visit

Stay Date: 01/11/13, a customer aged 65+ from Dereham who stayed at 4* Best Western Plus Dover Marina Hotel & Spa (2 Nights Offer & 1 Night Dinner) in Dover wrote this review.

The hotel was well situated, right on the promenade. Lovely views from the restaurant and bar areas. The staff in the restaurant were very helpful and polite, which was not true of the reception. See More  Read more information Whilst the reception area was efficiently run the people could have been a little more accommodating. The building is quite quirky with floors sloping in all directions.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Ramada

Stay Date: 24/12/13, a customer aged 45-64 from Eastbourne who stayed at 4* Ramada Hotel Dover Christmas Break in Dover wrote this review.

Had a relaxing break See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Quick Spa Break

Stay Date: 18/01/14, a customer aged 45-64 from Brighton who stayed at 4* Best Western Plus Dover Marina Hotel - Spa Package in Dover wrote this review.

We need to re-charge our batteries and it was my husbands birthday. We were only disappointed that the hotel didn't have a swimming pool seeing as it was in the Spa Break section. Excellent hotel, See More  Read more information dinner, breakfast and staff were very polite and professional. We up-graded to an our massage after seeing there was no pool which was very good. The sauna is in the gym so no really spa style and notowels were provided so we didn't use that either. Overall we had an excellent nights stay, slept well and felt revived.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Dover Cliffs  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Day Trip To France

Stay Date: 22/01/14, a customer aged 65+ from Bristol who stayed at 4* Best Western Plus Dover Marina Hotel & Spa (2 Nights Offer & 1 Night Dinner) in Dover wrote this review.

This hotel is in an excellent situation for this kind of shopping trip to France.We had dinner in the hotel the first night.The next morning we caught a 10.00 Ferry out and a 17.45 back.This gave us See More  Read more information ample time to drive to Boulogne and back, we even squeezed a picnic in. The second evening (Thursday) in the hotel they had an Indian Buffet. At first we did not fancy it, but after a walk aroundlooking for an alternative place to eat we thought we would give it a try. We were so glad we did. Apparently they have a chef in the hotel from Sri Lanka. The food was excellent. If we use this hotel inthe future we will make sure we structure our visit around a Thursday evening.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
France  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Hotel Restaurant 1st night  
Hotel Restaurant 2nd night  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Boat trip in Dover bay

Stay Date: 13/06/14, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 4* Best Western Plus Dover Marina Hotel - Spa Package in Dover wrote this review.

The boat trip in Dover took us around the bay. It was an exhilarating experience. Got to captain the boat. Pleasant boat operator. I was able to see the big ship embark/disembark. Such vessel of See More  Read more information magnanimous size. The hotel was very clean. My room did not have a sea view. The facilities were excellent, fan, t.v, tea making ingredients added to the personal touch. Breakfast provided muchvariety. Diner was silver service. The food was tasty. Having driven to Dover by car from London, a satellite navigation system is essential. I am not conversant with Dover, but I arrived without gettinglost, thanks to the trusty satnav! It enabled me to get to Folkestone after consulting with hotel staff on where to eat there. Staff were extremely helpful and polite. The spa treatment wasrelaxing. My only criticism was that the sauna did not have a communal shower to cool off. It was have been nice if there was a steam room. The gym facilities were good. The location of the hotel bythe sea is perfect. I like the fact that the beach is similar to that of Brighton as there is sand. I went shopping in the out buildings opposite the hotel. Lots of nice shops. It suddenly dawned on methat Dover is a mature town in terms of its inhabitants. I saw many a silver haired persons (I'm trying to be respectful by using an appropriate terminology) shopping. I purchased some lovelyclothing. After imbibing the fresh air of Dover, suffice to say my stay was a comfortable and enjoyable experience. If asked if I would come back to Best Western Dover Marina Hotel, the answeris.............YES YES YES.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
boat trip outside the hotel.  
Visit to Folkestone.  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Chinese buffet in Folkestone.  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 11 - 20 of 120 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 8am-10pm GMT, 7 days a week
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Release-20170705

Version=100339 @ 19/07/2017 08:24:02

Last rendered @ 25/07/2017 06:01:10

Last rendered @ 25/07/2017 06:01:10

x-forward-port: "80"

X-Forwarded-Proto: ""

Is Secure? False

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB12

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.