Customer Reviews by Destination - Dover, Folkestone & Area

Dover, Folkestone & Area Holiday Reviews

Dover Castle, Dover

For a relaxing short break in the Garden of England, our hotels in Dover & Folkestone are an excellent choice. Discover this incredibly scenic corner of the country – full of history, and a great base from which to explore Kent, the area is more than just a stop on the way to continental Europe.

Whether you choose to take it easy and indulge in afternoon tea by Dover’s pretty harbour, go hiking on the headlands, or head out on the sightseeing trail, a short break in the south-east is as chilled-out or high-octane as you make it. Easily accessed from the A2 and the M20, and within easy driving distance of must-see Canterbury and vibrant Ashford, our hotels in Dover & Folkestone are ideally located for a getaway.

  • Our hotels in Dover are perfect for a visit to the singularly impressive Dover Castle; the largest castle in England and originally founded in the 12th century, it dominates the skyline. Home to a long, fascinating history, it’s a must-visit
  • History enthusiasts should also check out the Dover Western Heights – one of the country’s most impressive fortifications – and the Victorian-era boldbegin#Dover Museum
  • Our hotels in Folkestone are in a great position for visiting local attractions too, not least the Kent Battle of Britain Museum – one of the country’s best World War II dedicated museums.
  • Every bit as pretty as Dover’s white cliffs, the Folkestone Leas are naturally beautiful, and have wonderful views out to sea; for comedy gigs and music concerts, the Folkestone Leas Cliff Hall is difficult to beat
A charming destination for your next short break, take a look through our Dover & Folkestone hotels in the list below.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 115

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Family Visit

Stay Date: 01/11/13, a customer aged 65+ from Dereham who stayed at 4* Best Western Plus Dover Marina Hotel & Spa (2 Nights Offer & 1 Night Dinner) in Dover wrote this review.

The hotel was well situated, right on the promenade. Lovely views from the restaurant and bar areas. The staff in the restaurant were very helpful and polite, which was not true of the reception. See More  Read more information Whilst the reception area was efficiently run the people could have been a little more accommodating. The building is quite quirky with floors sloping in all directions.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Quick Spa Break

Stay Date: 18/01/14, a customer aged 45-64 from Brighton who stayed at 4* Best Western Plus Dover Marina Hotel - Spa Package in Dover wrote this review.

We need to re-charge our batteries and it was my husbands birthday. We were only disappointed that the hotel didn't have a swimming pool seeing as it was in the Spa Break section. Excellent hotel, See More  Read more information dinner, breakfast and staff were very polite and professional. We up-graded to an our massage after seeing there was no pool which was very good. The sauna is in the gym so no really spa style and notowels were provided so we didn't use that either. Overall we had an excellent nights stay, slept well and felt revived.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Dover Cliffs  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Day Trip To France

Stay Date: 22/01/14, a customer aged 65+ from Bristol who stayed at 4* Best Western Plus Dover Marina Hotel & Spa (2 Nights Offer & 1 Night Dinner) in Dover wrote this review.

This hotel is in an excellent situation for this kind of shopping trip to France.We had dinner in the hotel the first night.The next morning we caught a 10.00 Ferry out and a 17.45 back.This gave us See More  Read more information ample time to drive to Boulogne and back, we even squeezed a picnic in. The second evening (Thursday) in the hotel they had an Indian Buffet. At first we did not fancy it, but after a walk aroundlooking for an alternative place to eat we thought we would give it a try. We were so glad we did. Apparently they have a chef in the hotel from Sri Lanka. The food was excellent. If we use this hotel inthe future we will make sure we structure our visit around a Thursday evening.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
France  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Hotel Restaurant 1st night  
Hotel Restaurant 2nd night  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Our holiday break

Stay Date: 15/06/14, a customer aged 45-64 from Rochester who stayed at 2* Grand Burstin Hotel (2 Night Offer & 2 Dinners) in Folkestone wrote this review.

Overall we enjoyed a break. The food was cold and not nice the first day. Second eve we upgraded to other restaurant in hotel and that was lovely so was breakfast there. Was not happy when staff See More  Read more information interrupted us watching a soap on tv(there were 2 other tvs to switch to football, was told it was world cup so all tvs had to be put on football didn't think that was fair. We went and used the gymvery good and staff there very nice, helpful and happy. We did go out for walks and shops too.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
harbour fish and chips  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Boat trip in Dover bay

Stay Date: 13/06/14, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 4* Best Western Plus Dover Marina Hotel - Spa Package in Dover wrote this review.

The boat trip in Dover took us around the bay. It was an exhilarating experience. Got to captain the boat. Pleasant boat operator. I was able to see the big ship embark/disembark. Such vessel of See More  Read more information magnanimous size. The hotel was very clean. My room did not have a sea view. The facilities were excellent, fan, t.v, tea making ingredients added to the personal touch. Breakfast provided muchvariety. Diner was silver service. The food was tasty. Having driven to Dover by car from London, a satellite navigation system is essential. I am not conversant with Dover, but I arrived without gettinglost, thanks to the trusty satnav! It enabled me to get to Folkestone after consulting with hotel staff on where to eat there. Staff were extremely helpful and polite. The spa treatment wasrelaxing. My only criticism was that the sauna did not have a communal shower to cool off. It was have been nice if there was a steam room. The gym facilities were good. The location of the hotel bythe sea is perfect. I like the fact that the beach is similar to that of Brighton as there is sand. I went shopping in the out buildings opposite the hotel. Lots of nice shops. It suddenly dawned on methat Dover is a mature town in terms of its inhabitants. I saw many a silver haired persons (I'm trying to be respectful by using an appropriate terminology) shopping. I purchased some lovelyclothing. After imbibing the fresh air of Dover, suffice to say my stay was a comfortable and enjoyable experience. If asked if I would come back to Best Western Dover Marina Hotel, the answeris.............YES YES YES.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
boat trip outside the hotel.  
Visit to Folkestone.  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Chinese buffet in Folkestone.  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Ramada hotel

Stay Date: 26/08/14, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 4* Ramada Hotel Dover (2 Night Offer inc Ferry Crossing) in Dover wrote this review.

Good hotel and good location, Excellent service from all the staff. Nice atmosphere in the bar and good quality food in the restaurant. Only a five minute drive to Dover castle and the port is about See More  Read more information the same (£8 taxi). Great hotel for a 1-2 night stay, if your planning a trip to Calais! I will book this hotel again, as the service was second to none!   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Olive Tree  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Dover Castle

Stay Date: 22/08/14, a customer aged 65+ from Runcorn who stayed at 4* Best Western Plus Dover Marina Hotel - Spa Package in Dover wrote this review.

Very interesting tours and exhibits. The staff were very helpful and informative. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Canterbury Cathedral  
Dover Castle  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Spa break in Dover

Stay Date: 04/10/14, a customer aged 25-44 who stayed at 4* Best Western Plus Dover Marina Hotel - Spa Package in Dover wrote this review.

Enjoyable spa break in Dover. Hotel lovely and clean. Staff friendly. Food somewhat disappointing and service slow in the restaurant and bar. Would recommend. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Excellent Break in Dover

Stay Date: 26/10/14, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 4* Best Western Plus Dover Marina Hotel & Spa (2 Nights Offer & 1 Night Dinner) in Dover wrote this review.

Hotel room was a little on the warm side and because of safety, we were unable to open the window more than a couple of inches. Bed was also rather on the small side. On the positive side, See More  Read more information breakfast was excellent and we enjoyed our evening meal in the hotel. The ironing board and shoe shine kit were nice touches. Parking in the car park across the road was also convenient.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Dover Castle  
Samphire Hoe  
Romney Hythe and Dymchurch Railway  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Wetherspoon Dover  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

You get what you pay for

Stay Date: 28/10/14, a customer aged 25-44 who stayed at 2* Grand Burstin Hotel (2 Night Offer & 2 Dinners) in Folkestone wrote this review.

The hotel is very old and very tired, a few bits of tinsel in October were never going to cheer up the peeling orange paint and broken ceiling tiles. If you want to relive a school residential See More  Read more information holiday then this is the place for you- mass catered cheap food and tacky excursions, otherwise, you would be better off somewhere else.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Town Shopping  
Lea's Lift  
Martello Tower  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 11 - 20 of 115 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 8am-10pm GMT, 7 days a week
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2016 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Release-20170322

Version=10628929517 @ 21/03/2017 16:24:19

Last rendered @ 22/03/2017 22:20:16

Last rendered @ 22/03/2017 22:20:16

x-forward-port: "80"

X-Forwarded-Proto: ""

Is Secure? False

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB17

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.