Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 8am - 10pm, 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - Covent Garden & Strand Area

Covent Garden & Strand Area Holiday Reviews

Somerset House, Covent Garden & Strand Area

Choosing hotels in Covent Garden & the Strand is an exciting task! As one of London’s premier entertainment areas, Covent Garden and the Strand combine vibrant street entertainment with exclusive designer stores. Visitors can discover the colourful markets and unique boutiques, as well as enjoying a refreshing drink or two in one of the many cosmopolitan street-side bars and cafes.

Whilst staying in a Covent Garden or Strand hotel, be sure to take a trip to one of the nearby London landmarks or fascinating museums.

  • The British Museum is located just minutes from Covent Garden offering you the chance to discover 2 million years of human history all housed under one roof.
  • The National Gallery sits on the edge of Covent Garden and is home to masterpieces by some of the world’s greatest artists including Da Vinci and Michelangelo.
  • The London Transport Museum takes you on a journey through the capital’s history of transport from the 19th century right up to the present day.
If that’s not enough culture for you, then why not enjoy an evening performance at the prestigious Royal Albert Hall or head out to a nearby theatre to see a West End show?

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 773

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Birthday Theatre Trip

Stay Date: 29/12/12, a customer aged 45-64 from Worcester who stayed at 4* Radisson Blu Edwardian, Mercer Street in Covent Garden wrote this review.

The trip was made to celebrate a special birthday and was centered around the show Matilda. The hotel was right across the road so no long walk for an inclement winter's night. The trip was marred See More  Read more information only by the hotel's inability to deliver on the special requests for flowers, champagne and birthday cake I submitted on their special request form a week before the trip. Thanks a bunch Blue Radissoncentral reservations for nothing.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Cambridge Theatre  
Covent Garden  
National Gallery  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Cafe Rouge - Leicester Square  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Excellent Break In West End!

Stay Date: 27/12/12, a customer aged 25-44 from Wolverhampton who stayed at 3* Travelodge London Covent Garden in Covent Garden wrote this review.

Just got home after spending a night in London and seeing the show "Let It Be". Had a wonderful time. Everything was booked through Superbreak. The service when booking was great and efficient. See More  Read more information Can't recommend the show enough- could only be better if you saw the Beatles themselves!!! Book today!!   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
West End  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Let it be - show  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

London Experience

Stay Date: 07/12/12, a customer aged 45-64 from Gateshead who stayed at 4* Strand Palace Hotel in Covent Garden wrote this review.

Arrived at hotel shortly after 12 and as room was ready we were allowed in 2 hours before normal check in; the room was very spacious; clean and comfortable. All the staff were very attentive and See More  Read more information couldn't do enough for you. The breakfast was amazing with plenty of choice; catering for all tastes and needs. During the stay we visited a few attractions; the theatre and did a lot of shopping. Wesay The Woman in Black; which wasn't to my taste but the rest of the audience appeared to really enjoy it. Whilst in London we ate at at a couple of nice restaurants; Cafe Pacifico a realauthentic Mexican; very enjoyable and great value for money. 21 Covent Garden Plaza; the food was very nice but quite pricey which is what you would expect for the location. Patisserie Valerie; a lovelycoffee shop which also does light lunches; well worth a visit. And if you fancy a cocktail; I would recommend Sophie's Restaurant and Cocktail Bar; the Rose Hyp cocktail was amazing. We also took sometime out from the hustle and bustle of the city and had a lovely stroll through Hyde Park; the Winter Wonderland was in full swing and the atmosphere amazing.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
National Gallery  
Tower of London  
Valentino Exhibition, Somersett House  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Patisserie Valerie  
Cafe Pacifico Covent Garden  
21 Covent Garden Plaza  
 

User Review Ratings: 3 out of 3 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

The Finale to Education in London

Stay Date: 27/11/12, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 3* Travelodge London Covent Garden in Covent Garden wrote this review.

We thought Superbreak offered an excellent deal for going to our son's graduation in London. The price was excellent and we survived train delays due to flooding. We choose the Travelodge in Drury See More  Read more information Lane as we have been visiting for over 30 years (when it was high end). I think it's now better suited to younger visitors as the quality of the hotel was poor - the location is brilliant. Superbreakhad offered other alternatives - it was our choice so our mistake. We'd use Superbreak again but probably upgrade to something more realistic to our age group! For value for money it was excellent.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Tate Modern  
Borough Market  
The 02  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Tate Modern Restaurant  
Zuma  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Return to the Mercer Street Radisson

Stay Date: 24/11/12, a customer aged 65+ from Exeter who stayed at 4* Radisson Blu Edwardian, Mercer Street in Covent Garden wrote this review.

This hotel has been a favourite of ours for years, once called the Mountbatten, now the Mercer Street Hotel. Location is just perfect for theatres, good restaurants,sight seeing and shopping in See More  Read more information Regents Street, Piccadilly and Oxford St. Tube stations nearby. Covent Garden is just ten minutes walk away. Concierge staff go the extra mile every time to be helpful. Freshly cooked breakfasts to order,and a wide selection of cold choices offering something for everyone.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
The Criterion Restaurant  
The Chesterfield hotel restaurant  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Theatre Visit London

Stay Date: 23/11/12, a customer aged 65+ who stayed at 4* Strand Palace Hotel in Covent Garden wrote this review.

Purpose of trip was to celebrate wife's birthday. Hotel was located within walking distance of theatre and restaurant for pre-show meal. Both excellent and hotel placed card and bottle of bubbly in See More  Read more information room to mark birthday. They knew of same through the suggestion of your own that it be included in the booking. Thank you most sincerely for that as it added something special to the trip.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Theatre Show  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Aurora  
 

User Review Ratings: 3 out of 3 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Theatre and Culture

Stay Date: 16/11/12, a customer aged 65+ who stayed at 4* Kingsway Hall in Covent Garden wrote this review.

Primarily to see Top Hat , marvellous production and staying at a very convenient and excellent hotel - Kingsway Hall See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Courtauld Gallery  
Top Hat at the Aldwych  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Weekend in London

Stay Date: 26/10/12, a customer aged 45-64 from Swansea who stayed at 4* Radisson Blu Edwardian, Mercer Street in Covent Garden wrote this review.

the Raddisson Blu Hotel in Covent Gardens was in an excellent location and considering how busy it was around there it was remakably quiet in our room which was extremely clean and well furnished, See More  Read more information we had a busy break including the lion king, the london eye, hampton court and wimbledon tennis museum and tour. all were great. one bit of advice, avoid half term if you want to see the museums, theunderground and the museums themselves were extremely crowded   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Wimbledon  
Lion King  
Edf London Eye  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Cantina Laredo  
Rosso pomodore  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

50th Birthday

Stay Date: 31/10/12, a customer aged 45-64 from Northampton who stayed at 5* The Savoy in The Strand wrote this review.

From the moment we arrived to when we left the whole experience was amazing. We were greeted with very pleasant and help-full staff which continued throughout our 2 night stay, and when shown to See More  Read more information our room there was a cake already in there to celebrate the wifes 50th birthday. Any questions or requests were met with a smile and eagerness to help. We booked a meal in the Riverside restaurant inthe hotel before we went to see our show and again not disappointed. Overall we enjoyed this 2 night break for the wifes 50th birthday more than most 2wk holidays we have had.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Covent Garden  
West End Show  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Rock of Ages Musical

Stay Date: 28/10/12, a customer aged 25-44 who stayed at 3* Travelodge London Covent Garden in Covent Garden wrote this review.

We stayed at the Travel Inn Covent Garden which was located right next to the Shaftbury Theatre where we were seeing our chosen show. The hotel was average. We arrived at 1pm (paid an extra ?10 to See More  Read more information get into our room early) however we did not get any towels or pillows until 7.30pm after 3 times of asking and then they made my husband wait 10mins in reception because they would not bring them tous. The show was incredible and we would recommend to everyone. We ate in the hotel as we had the meal deal as part of our package. The food was good "Pub" food but we had no complaints as it was verynice. However when we ordered our food we also odered and paid for two drinks which the bar person said she would bring to our table. We ordered at 7.07pm and was still waiting for our drinks when ourstarter arrived at 7.26pm. We actually got the waitress to go behind the bar and find our drinks. Apart from the poor service at the hotel my husband and I had a wonderful break and as I said wereally enjoyed the Musical.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Rock Of Ages Musical  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 311 - 320 of 773 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 8am-10pm GMT, 7 days a week
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Release-20170705

Version=100637 @ 17/08/2017 08:40:12

Last rendered @ 19/08/2017 13:55:46

Last rendered @ 19/08/2017 13:55:46

x-forward-port: "80"

X-Forwarded-Proto: ""

Is Secure? False

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB11

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.