Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 8am - 10pm, 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - City & Tower Bridge

City & Tower Bridge Holiday Reviews

Tower Bridge, City and Tower Bridge

Is there any better place to stay on a short break to the capital than The City? Central London's Square Mile is best known as a financial hub, but with hotels near Tower Bridge offering easy access to the city's top attractions, it's also just a great destination for a getaway.

Besides the impressive Tower Bridge, hotels in The City are close by to must-visit Tower of London, the vibrant Old Spitalfields Market and have excellent transport links to the superb shopping of Oxford Street and the glittering West End. To the east, the trendy Docklands area and tremendous music and cultural events at The O2 Arena are also just a short tube ride away.

  • Steeped in history, the Tower of London offers a great day out for the whole family. One of London's most endearingly popular attractions, the Beefeaters, the Ravens and the Crown Jewels are simply not to be missed!
  • Speaking of historic sites, two of London's most famous landmarks are in the area, and well worth a visit; the Monument to the Great Fire of London and the breath-taking St Paul's Cathedral are both a short walk away.
  • Experience the traditional London markets of Old Spitalfields and Leadenhall Market - both within your immediate vicinity.
  • On the south side of the Thames, the spectacular View from The Shard and HMS Belfast are both worth taking in if you get the chance.
A great choice for your next trip to London, check out our great range of hotels near Tower Bridge below for a short break to remember.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 338

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Staying At Hotel

Stay Date: 25/10/11, a customer from Uk who stayed at 3* Thistle City Barbican (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in The City wrote this review.

Although i had stayed at this hotel 3 weeks earlier it was not a good experience but i decided to give them a second chance and it was better than the first time. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

London Exhibitions

Stay Date: 02/03/12, a customer who stayed at 3* Thistle City Barbican (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in The City wrote this review.

Good coverage of charles dickens in exhibitions at the british library and museum of london. Always interesting to visit medical exhibitions at the wellcome centre. A superb 'waste not' exhibition See More  Read more information by chinese srtist at the barbican centre.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Pizza Express- Euston Road  
Wellcome Centre - Euston Road  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break in London

Stay Date: 14/03/12, a customer who stayed at 3* Thistle City Barbican (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in The City wrote this review.

We had a deal which included the first night's meal in the hotel restaurant. This was a mistake. The restaurant is described in the hotel's promnotional literature as a 'brasserie'. It was more like See More  Read more information a cross between a motorway service station and a canteen. Service was slow and there was nothing healthy on the menu. A warm goat's cheese starter came with a dollop of what appeared to be branstonpickle on top. The 'french onion soup' tasted like bovril. This was a shame, as the breakfast was ok, the room was spacious and comfortable, and the staff were uniformly friendly and helpful. The hotelis slightly out on a limb, about a ten minute walk from the nearest tube stations, but the area is generally pleasant.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
National Portrait Gallery  
Noel Coward Theatre  
Foundling Museum  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Two Nights In London

Stay Date: 14/03/12, a customer who stayed at 3* Thistle City Barbican (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in The City wrote this review.

We travelled by east midlands train the journey taking about 2 hours 7 mins from sheffield. Superbreak provided the train tickets and also oyster cards for the ride to old street station via the See More  Read more information underground. As we had never used these cards before some instruction as to how to check the value and zonal tube prices would have been useful. Also, as we discovered that we were able to use our seniorcitizen bus passes in London, details of what bus routes to take from the tube station would have saved me having to carry a suitcase for two bus stops. However, that aside we found the serviceprovided by Superbreak to be prompt and efficient. The hotel was clean and comfortable although not in the ideal location. The swimming pool was warm and not too busy. My wife thinks that the double bedwas too firm although the room was light and airy and quiet at night.Would i stay at this hotel again? Possibly and without doubt i would choose thistle chain of hotels. Thanks again for a very pleasanttwo day break.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
The Globe Theatre - Entrance £10.50 For O/60  
Millennium-Bridge - Very Nice Walk From The Globe  
St Pauls Cathedral - Entrance Charges Put Us Off  
Barbican - Poor Signage Entrance Locked  
 
Rate This Review:
 
Editor Notes:

Editor's comments: Details of how to use the Oyster Card can be found on our website via the Oyster Card FAQs http://www.superbreak.com/oyster-card/faq.htm

 

Great Break In London

Stay Date: 14/03/12, a customer from Uk who stayed at 3* Thistle City Barbican (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in The City wrote this review.

Fully enjoyable stay in the capital, nice area, easy access to central London, good value for money. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Harrods  
Madame Tussards  
London Eye  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Chicken Diner  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

London Trip

Stay Date: 21/04/12, a customer from Uk who stayed at 3* Thistle City Barbican (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in The City wrote this review.

Great trip, hotel as expected and excellent value for money. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
British Museum  
Theatre  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
hotel  
pub meals  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Worth A Stay

Stay Date: 22/04/12, a customer from Uk who stayed at 3* Thistle City Barbican (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in The City wrote this review.

The hotel was nice, the staff where very friendly. Hotel bar a bit on the dear side. I booked the hotel with a "deal" evening meal which was disapointing..There was a choice of 3..And the portions See More  Read more information where quite small. The first room we was allocated (we paid extra for an upgrade at this point)was not nice, with wallpaper coming away from the walls, paint work very shabby and the carpet a bitfrayed. We asked to be moved to another room which was slighlty better. Overall the hotel its self was really nice, the staff very friendly but I think they could spend a bit of money slapping some freshpaint in some of the bedrooms.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Dominion Theatre  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Hotel Restaurant  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

London Threatre Trip

Stay Date: 22/04/12, a customer who stayed at 3* Thistle City Barbican (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in The City wrote this review.

Great show, good hotel. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Open top bus  
Covent Gardens  
Threatre  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Fish Restaurant  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

London Food Trip

Stay Date: 23/08/12, a customer aged 45-64 from Banff who stayed at 3* 3* Mystery Non Refundable Hotel in Old Street/City wrote this review.

The hotel is next to a bus stop (not for tourists) book has a bus route for all buses in London and our hotel was well served, Brick Lane 10mins walk, bargain with the hustlers outside the See More  Read more information restruants, we got a 4 course meal and 2 pints of lager for £12. My son reckons that the kebab shop next to the hotel is the best since he was in Australia. Hotel is clean staff wonderful and breakfast morethan adequate to keep you going until you hit the food markets.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Borough Market  
Camden Market  
THAMES SKYWAY  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Fire and Stone  
Eds Diner  
BOROUGH MARKET  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

London Breaks

Stay Date: 07/09/12, a customer aged 65+ who stayed at 4* Novotel London Tower Bridge in Tower Hill wrote this review.

We found the hotel was in an excellent position - quiet at night and clean comfortable rooms a touch on the small size but adequate, very handy for the tube system, tower and river. we have used See More  Read more information this hotel twice - for general sightseeing and for visiting wembley and shows.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Imperial War Museum  
All the Main Tourist Sites in London  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Pizza Express  
2nd restaurant at the Quays  
St. Katherine's Quays Restaurant  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 201 - 210 of 338 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 8am-10pm GMT, 7 days a week
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Release-20170705

Version=1001374 @ 19/10/2017 16:34:03

Last rendered @ 19/10/2017 17:40:11

Last rendered @ 19/10/2017 17:40:11

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: ""

Is Secure? False

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB14

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.