Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 8am - 10pm, 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - City & Tower Bridge

City & Tower Bridge Holiday Reviews

Tower Bridge, City and Tower Bridge

Is there any better place to stay on a short break to the capital than The City? Central London's Square Mile is best known as a financial hub, but with hotels near Tower Bridge offering easy access to the city's top attractions, it's also just a great destination for a getaway.

Besides the impressive Tower Bridge, hotels in The City are close by to must-visit Tower of London, the vibrant Old Spitalfields Market and have excellent transport links to the superb shopping of Oxford Street and the glittering West End. To the east, the trendy Docklands area and tremendous music and cultural events at The O2 Arena are also just a short tube ride away.

  • Steeped in history, the Tower of London offers a great day out for the whole family. One of London's most endearingly popular attractions, the Beefeaters, the Ravens and the Crown Jewels are simply not to be missed!
  • Speaking of historic sites, two of London's most famous landmarks are in the area, and well worth a visit; the Monument to the Great Fire of London and the breath-taking St Paul's Cathedral are both a short walk away.
  • Experience the traditional London markets of Old Spitalfields and Leadenhall Market - both within your immediate vicinity.
  • On the south side of the Thames, the spectacular View from The Shard and HMS Belfast are both worth taking in if you get the chance.
A great choice for your next trip to London, check out our great range of hotels near Tower Bridge below for a short break to remember.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 332

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Great Short Break In London

Stay Date: 13/02/11, a customer who stayed at 3* Thistle City Barbican (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in The City rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
London Eye  
Film Museum  
 
 

Short Break In London

Stay Date: 27/02/11, a customer who stayed at 3* Thistle City Barbican (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in The City rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Queen Exhibition  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Strada, St Katherine's Dock  
 
 

Short Break In London

Stay Date: 27/02/11, a customer from Uk who stayed at 3* Thistle City Barbican (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in The City wrote this review.

The trip to London was excellent apart from the hotel. The hotel bath and shower had no cold water when we arrived. We reported it in the morning, but they never fixed it and with a lot of fuss they See More  Read more information moved us.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
London Bus Tour  
London Eye  
Madame Tussauds  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
China Town  
Thistle City Barbican  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break in London

Stay Date: 14/08/11, a customer who stayed at 3* Thistle City Barbican (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in The City wrote this review.

The hotel was very busy, poor service at dinner with too many people. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Tower of London  
Buckingham Palace  
London Eye  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Italion Restraunt  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

A Very Special Annivesary At The Barbican Hotel

Stay Date: 23/10/11, a customer who stayed at 3* Thistle City Barbican (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in The City wrote this review.

The anniversary was not a special year (34) but the restaurant manager and his staff made it very very special for us. We came for dinner and found a table laid with a damask cloth and beautiful fan See More  Read more information shaped napkins. A requested desert, no longer on the menu, had been made especially for our anniversary. It made our ordinary anniversary into a one we will never forget and we will treasure thememory of their thoughtfulness for (hopefully) many more anniversaries.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Royal Ballet:Sleeping Beauty  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Staying At Hotel

Stay Date: 25/10/11, a customer from Uk who stayed at 3* Thistle City Barbican (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in The City wrote this review.

Although i had stayed at this hotel 3 weeks earlier it was not a good experience but i decided to give them a second chance and it was better than the first time. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

London Exhibitions

Stay Date: 02/03/12, a customer who stayed at 3* Thistle City Barbican (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in The City wrote this review.

Good coverage of charles dickens in exhibitions at the british library and museum of london. Always interesting to visit medical exhibitions at the wellcome centre. A superb 'waste not' exhibition See More  Read more information by chinese srtist at the barbican centre.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Pizza Express- Euston Road  
Wellcome Centre - Euston Road  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break in London

Stay Date: 14/03/12, a customer who stayed at 3* Thistle City Barbican (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in The City wrote this review.

We had a deal which included the first night's meal in the hotel restaurant. This was a mistake. The restaurant is described in the hotel's promnotional literature as a 'brasserie'. It was more like See More  Read more information a cross between a motorway service station and a canteen. Service was slow and there was nothing healthy on the menu. A warm goat's cheese starter came with a dollop of what appeared to be branstonpickle on top. The 'french onion soup' tasted like bovril. This was a shame, as the breakfast was ok, the room was spacious and comfortable, and the staff were uniformly friendly and helpful. The hotelis slightly out on a limb, about a ten minute walk from the nearest tube stations, but the area is generally pleasant.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
National Portrait Gallery  
Noel Coward Theatre  
Foundling Museum  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Two Nights In London

Stay Date: 14/03/12, a customer who stayed at 3* Thistle City Barbican (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in The City wrote this review.

We travelled by east midlands train the journey taking about 2 hours 7 mins from sheffield. Superbreak provided the train tickets and also oyster cards for the ride to old street station via the See More  Read more information underground. As we had never used these cards before some instruction as to how to check the value and zonal tube prices would have been useful. Also, as we discovered that we were able to use our seniorcitizen bus passes in London, details of what bus routes to take from the tube station would have saved me having to carry a suitcase for two bus stops. However, that aside we found the serviceprovided by Superbreak to be prompt and efficient. The hotel was clean and comfortable although not in the ideal location. The swimming pool was warm and not too busy. My wife thinks that the double bedwas too firm although the room was light and airy and quiet at night.Would i stay at this hotel again? Possibly and without doubt i would choose thistle chain of hotels. Thanks again for a very pleasanttwo day break.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
The Globe Theatre - Entrance £10.50 For O/60  
Millennium-Bridge - Very Nice Walk From The Globe  
St Pauls Cathedral - Entrance Charges Put Us Off  
Barbican - Poor Signage Entrance Locked  
 
Rate This Review:
 
Editor Notes:

Editor's comments: Details of how to use the Oyster Card can be found on our website via the Oyster Card FAQs http://www.superbreak.com/oyster-card/faq.htm

 

Great Break In London

Stay Date: 14/03/12, a customer from Uk who stayed at 3* Thistle City Barbican (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in The City wrote this review.

Fully enjoyable stay in the capital, nice area, easy access to central London, good value for money. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Harrods  
Madame Tussards  
London Eye  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Chicken Diner  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 201 - 210 of 332 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 8am-10pm GMT, 7 days a week
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Release-20170705

Version=100637 @ 17/08/2017 08:58:35

Last rendered @ 22/08/2017 04:48:49

Last rendered @ 22/08/2017 04:48:49

x-forward-port: "80"

X-Forwarded-Proto: ""

Is Secure? False

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB16

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.