Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 8am - 10pm, 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - Bloomsbury & Russell Square

Bloomsbury & Russell Square Holiday Reviews

British Museum, Bloomsbury and Russell Square

Bloomsbury is in the academic heart of London, and home to prestigious landmarks such as London University, the Royal Academy of Performing Arts and the captivating British Museum. Discover Museum Street with its collection of unique bookshops and sophisticated cafes or head to Russell Square; a haven for tourists and locals alike.

Bloomsbury and Russell Square are both great areas for being within walking distance of main attractions and museums, all without being too crowded. With many tube stations nearby and great bus routes, you'll be able to get to wherever you fancy visiting. Plus, you're only one stop from Kings Cross Station and St Pancras should you be looking to enjoy an exciting Eurostar break.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 5999

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

London weekend

Stay Date: 13/05/16, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 3* President Hotel in Russell Square wrote this review.

We found the location very convenient. The staff were efficient and friendly. Breakfast good value. We got an Oyster card which was fantastic for avoiding purchasing tickets in queues and we were See More  Read more information able to get around so easily and quickly. There's so much to do so choosing is just personal preference. We didn't attempt to see many things superficially but chose a couple of places we didthoroughly. The Natural History Museum and Tower of London were our choices and feel we had a great time at both. Les Miserables on the evening and a restaurant on Russell Square made use of every minute of ourtwo days. Thanks to SuperBreak which made booking so easy! Fantastic weekend.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Natural History Museum  
Tower of London  
Les Miserables  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Night and Day  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

London Break

Stay Date: 29/04/16, a customer aged 25-44 from United Kingdom who stayed at 3* President Hotel in Russell Square wrote this review.

The hotel was in a perfect location for all major site seeing attractions in London. Very close to tube so perfect. Hotel itself was brilliant and we would definitely recommend and would stay again! See More  Read more information The breakfast was also a very big bonus too and set us up for the full morning!   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Icebar  
Tower of London  
Guided tour of London's oldest pubs  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Carlucios  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

London

Stay Date: 10/05/16, a customer aged 25-44 who stayed at 3* Royal National Hotel in Russell Square wrote this review.

SuperBreak to London was excellent as usual, great hotel, travel easy all booked through SuperBreak, will be using again next year. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
River Cruise  
big bus tour  
theatre - Motown Musical  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Pizza Express  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

The President Hotel, Russell Square, London

Stay Date: 14/05/16, a customer aged 45-64 from Uk who stayed at 3* President Hotel in Russell Square wrote this review.

Travel to The President Hotel. The hotel is a 2 minute walk from Russell Square Tube station. When travelling on the tube a contactless bank card can be used the same way as an Oyster card. I was See More  Read more information charged £6.50 daily. If I'd bought a daily tube ticket direct from the station it would have cost me £12 daily. We travelled to the hotel from Kings Cross tube station. Russell Square is one stop fromKings Cross on the Piccadilly line. Directions to the hotel from Russell Square tube station. To find the hotel, turn left when you leave the tube station (there is a small Tesco store oppositethe tube station) and then immediately left again. Follow the road for approx 2 mins. You will go past the "Friend in Hand" public house (on your left) and the hotel will be directly in front of you.The Friend in Hand public house serves excellent food and is reasonably priced. The hotel room. Check in at reception was very quick and friendly. We had a room on the second floor. The bedroomwas very clean. The toilet and bathroom are en-suite. The toilet is in a separate room from the bathroom. We had a twin room and both beds was extremely comfortable, two pillows were provided for eachbed and all were very clean. There are additional blankets in the wardrobe if required. The wardrobe is adequate but I would suggest taking some additional coat hangers with you if you are sharing aroom. Our hotel room was on the same side as the entrance to the hotel. The windows opened sufficiently to allow air to flow through the room if required. Traffic noise and the slight rumbling of thetube station trains could be heard when the window is open, however when the window is fully closed (this included a sliding second window) the noise was very very minimum in fact it was pretty muchsilent. I am a very light sleeper and normally have to wear ear plugs in hotels to get to sleep. I never once wore my ear plugs. The room was serviced daily. One morning I had to phone housekeeping aswe couldn't work out how to use the shower. Housekeeping were very helpful and promptly came to our room to rectify the situation. (the problem was a stiff lever). Breakfast at the hotel. When youcheck in at the hotel you will be given a breakfast card if you're staying Bed & Breakfast. You will need this to enter the dining room for breakfast. You will be taken to a table to be seated andfrom there the breakfast is self service. There is a choice of orange juice or apple juice. Fresh fruit consisted of segmented grapefruit or oranges and prunes. There's a choice of cereals. The cookedbreakfast consisted of bacon, sausages, tomatoes, baked beans, hash browns and a choice of boiled, poached, scrambled and fried eggs. The cooked breakfast soon goes cold as the plates weren't hot. Noplates were hot on the three mornings we had breakfast. The toast is already prepared and placed in a large container close to the cooked breakfast. The toast was not to my liking as it was barelytoasted and was limp. I prefer freshly toasted toast. There is a good variety of jams and marmalade at your table. Tea and coffee is served to you. The tea wasn't pleasant. If I closed my eyes to drink itI wouldn't have known it was tea, however the coffee was ok. Both tea and coffee were mildly warm, certainly not hot. We didn't eat in the dining room on an evening. Checking out of thehotel. Check out was quick and efficient. If your train / bus isn't due until later in the day bags can be left at the hotel at a cost of 50p per bag / suitcase. A ticket is given to you and this must beproduced to reception when you require to pick up your baggage. Overall I would most definitely use the President Hotel again. It's a 2 minute walk from the tube station and a 10 minute walk to theBritish Museum. There are ample restaurants and small shops close to the hotel.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Kensington Gardens  
Covent Garden  
British Museum  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Friend at Hand  
Steak & Co  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

London short break

Stay Date: 18/05/16, a customer aged 65+ who stayed at 3* Tavistock Hotel in Russell Square wrote this review.

Nice hotel. Staff very good. Nice bar and restaurant. Room was good with view over Tavistock Square. Central position for attractions and transport links. Bus stops across the road. Underground See More  Read more information station was 300 yards away. All in all a very nice stay. Only complaint is there are no double bedrooms in the hotel and it is a bit noisy on the street out front during early hours which is a problem ifyou like your window open at night like me! But one of the best budget hotels I have stayed in. I would recommend. Good value for money.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Churchill War Rooms  
Imperial War Museum  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
cafe  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Brill London time

Stay Date: 14/05/16, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 3* Royal National Hotel in Russell Square wrote this review.

Everything was fantastic - the train, the hotel. The weather, the hotel and the food was very good considering size of hotel and the rooms were lovely, clean and warm. A credit to SuperBreak. This See More  Read more information was my first booking with SuperBreak and will not be my last. 1st class from start to finish, will not hesitate to recommend to anyone......thank you.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Westminster  
Madame Tussards  
River Cruise  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

London on a budget

Stay Date: 23/05/16, a customer aged 65+ who stayed at 3* President Hotel in Russell Square wrote this review.

Used our bus pass to get around. Excellent bus service if you are not in a hurry. See so much more from the top deck of a London bus. Very easy to follow and understand. Hotel and its staff were See More  Read more information excellent helpful and courteous. Could not be faulted. Aim to go again next year.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Her Majestys Theatre  
Sky Garden  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Weatherspoons  
Amarcord  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

President Hotel, London

Stay Date: 25/05/16, a customer aged 45-64 from Trimdon Station who stayed at 3* President Hotel in Russell Square wrote this review.

Very helpful and attentive staff; room change offered and check in easy. Breakfast lovely and not rushed and rooms very clean. Concierge very helpful. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Theate - Book of Mormon  
Theatre - Kinky Boots  
Theatre - Dr Fausteus  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Fantastic stay

Stay Date: 28/05/16, a customer aged 45-64 from United Kingdom who stayed at 3* President Hotel in Russell Square wrote this review.

Booked the President Hotel and theatre tickets to see Motown The Musical. The hotel was fabulous and the staff were friendly and very helpful. Location of the hotel was excellent and only a 10 See More  Read more information minute walk to the theatre.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Shakespeare Theatre  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Restaurant at Hotel  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

An enjoyable weekend

Stay Date: 27/05/16, a customer aged 45-64 from Preston who stayed at 5* The Principal London in Russell Square wrote this review.

We had a lovely weekend. The hotel feels a bit "tired" but in fairness they are in the process of refurbishing. The staff were wonderful and quick to deal with an issue with our room - the air See More  Read more information conditioning did not work so they moved us immediately. Staff were polite and welcoming and the food was great. The hotel is in a great position for Euston Station but within easy reach of the theatredistrict.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Criterion Theatre  
New London Theatre  
Wembley  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Garfunkels  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 351 - 360 of 5999 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 8am-10pm GMT, 7 days a week
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Release-20170705

Version=1001286 @ 05/10/2017 10:49:14

Last rendered @ 17/10/2017 06:49:35

Last rendered @ 17/10/2017 06:49:35

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: ""

Is Secure? False

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB15

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.