Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 8am - 10pm, 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - Bloomsbury & Russell Square

Bloomsbury & Russell Square Holiday Reviews

British Museum, Bloomsbury and Russell Square

Bloomsbury is in the academic heart of London, and home to prestigious landmarks such as London University, the Royal Academy of Performing Arts and the captivating British Museum. Discover Museum Street with its collection of unique bookshops and sophisticated cafes or head to Russell Square; a haven for tourists and locals alike.

Bloomsbury and Russell Square are both great areas for being within walking distance of main attractions and museums, all without being too crowded. With many tube stations nearby and great bus routes, you'll be able to get to wherever you fancy visiting. Plus, you're only one stop from Kings Cross Station and St Pancras should you be looking to enjoy an exciting Eurostar break.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 6053

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Really good stay in London

Stay Date: 11/04/14, a customer aged 45-64 from Romford who stayed at 4* Montague On The Gardens in Bloomsbury wrote this review.

Hotel really good location fab staff nice room. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Westminster  
British Museum  
London River Cruise  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Burger King  
Prets  
Spaghetti House, Holborn  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Day out in London

Stay Date: 07/04/14, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 3* Royal National Hotel in Russell Square wrote this review.

Excellent trip on the London Eye followed by a river cruise. Took the Docklands Light Railway out to Olympic Park. Beautiful open space and enjoyed a trip to the top of the metal twirly thing. What See More  Read more information a view.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
London Eye  
Science Museum  
Emirates Air  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Planet Hollywood  
Garfunkel's  
Hummingbird Cafe  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review not helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Hotel

Stay Date: 10/04/14, a customer aged 45-64 from Waterlooville who stayed at 3* Royal National Hotel in Russell Square wrote this review.

From the time we checked in there was students everywhere the lobby was full to the brim. At breakfast it was like eating in a school cafeteria . Trying to choose breakfast was a nightmare, kept See More  Read more information bumping into students all the time. The scrambled egg tasted fishy and the toast was like cardboard. Three times someone entered our room to clean it while we were still in there. There was no remote forthe TV. Corridors were full of clean and dirty laundry.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Theatre  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Theatre break in London

Stay Date: 14/03/14, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 4* Ambassadors Bloomsbury in Bloomsbury wrote this review.

The hotel was very good overall, the staff were very helpful. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Theatre  
River Cruise  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Mr Kong  
steak@co  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

London trip

Stay Date: 09/04/14, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 3* Royal National Hotel in Russell Square wrote this review.

We travelled with east coast trains to Kings Cross and walked 10 mins to our hotel, Royal National. Staff were very helpful and room was good. Great hotel for distance to tube and main line See More  Read more information stations. Approx 30 min walk to Covent Garden.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
City River Cruises  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Pizza Express  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review not helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Fantastic London Weekend

Stay Date: 04/04/14, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 3* Imperial Hotel London in Russell Square wrote this review.

A great hotel, the rooms were clean and comfortable and the location was so easy to access the sites of London. Although we planned to use the underground it was far quicker to take the bus and use See More  Read more information taxis which were very good value for money especially when travelling in a group of 4. The bars at the hotel were very relaxing when returning from the busy city. All in all, the 11 of us had afantastic 'Ladies in London' weekend.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Savoy  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Garfunkels  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

London visit

Stay Date: 04/04/14, a customer aged 45-64 from Loughborough who stayed at 3* Tavistock Hotel in Russell Square wrote this review.

Tavistock Hotel: Basic but value for money. Clean & comfortable, good sound proofing from street noise. Very busy, but staff friendly & efficient. Ample breakfast in very busy dining room. Great See More  Read more information base for British museum, & walking down to Westminster, Covent Garden, the theatres, and the river. Very handy being able to walk to hotel from St Pancras or Euston if arriving from the north ormidlands.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Thames River Trip  
South Bank  
British Museum  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Tratorria Verdi  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

We Will Rock You Theatre Show and 2 day hotel package

Stay Date: 04/04/14, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 3* Royal National Hotel in Russell Square wrote this review.

My husband, 14 year-old son and I enjoyed a family treat to celebrate our birthdays, one 65 year-young, one 50 year-young and one 14 year-old (I'll leave you to work out who's how old?!) We went See More  Read more information to see the show 'We Will Rock You'. It was brilliant, go and see it, now as finishes May. We went back to the hotel, aptly named the Royal National Hotel, for a complimentary evening buffet meal,which they served till 1am! Very good selection, quality and lots of it , only complaint is that they don't offer soft drinks or alcohol, only water. Our triple room at the Royal National Hotel,4th floor, was clean, contemporary and more than suited our needs. The separate bath/shower room had piping hot water at anytime of the day or night, despite the inevitablly high demand from so manyvisitors; the beds were really comfy and we slept extremely well. Our only suggestion is drinking water in the room, in addition to the tea/coffee making facilities. There was an interestinginternational mix of people staying at the hotel, which was great for people watching and practising my pidgeon French and Spanish...we met all sorts, from all walks of life; a great deal of students(coach-loads, infact, from abroad - French, Spanish, Italian, German, Austrian, Lituanian, Guyanese, Goan, Indian, Bangladeshi, Phillipino, Chinese, Japanese, Korean, Australian, New Zealand, Tibetan,Maldives, St Lucia, Cuban, Barbados, Greek, Tunisian, Moroccan, Swiss, Swedish, Glasgow, Manchester, Birmingham, Cornwall, Sommerset, Isle of Wight, Isle of Skye and Glasgow! Every one was friendly and chattyand keen to practice their English! I hadn't realised I knew so much about British culture, ways, norms, traditions and colloquiums than I gave myself credit for! We'd agreed to be tourists forthe week-end, walking, using the bus and train and underground and generally absorbing the atmosphere and discovering the wealth of sights, we'd not really bothered exploring, as you don't really, asfar too busy, getting on with life's demands! We took in the British Museum, Portrait gallery, Covent Garden, the exceptional variety of artistry and crafts (I bought loads of things...necessitatingthe acquirement of a large, light-weight, 4 wheeled suitcase with exciting, colourful British icons on it ...hay, ho, isn't that what credit cards are for?!), enjoying talented musicians, streetenterainers and sitting in pavement cafes', people-watching, the never-ending stream of ecclectic international visitors, my goodness, London really is a cosmopolitan melting pot and this makes me proud tobe British! Despite the typically changing British weather, I braved the City Cruise (husband and son had decided to head back home after check-out, because of the increasing cold and wet typicalBritish weather; I however, braved it out, mainly as I am made of hardier stuff, being a woman and all, and secondly, I was determined not to waste the free City Cruise! I carried on chatting toall and sundry, shopping all the way to Westminster Bridge, sat on the boat and despite the Captain's witty banter and explanation of the sights, (though couldn't see much as the plastic side drapeshad to be rolled down as by then raining quite hard), but again, the weather didn't distract from my personal enjoyment, as I met some really interesting people and basically chatted and laughed allround the tour! I paid the £3 supplement to return to Tower Bridge and gravitated, without planning to Covent Garden. There, amid the juxtaposing classical and operatic arias by busking musicalstudents, feeling quite cultured, enjoyed a late lunch at the Le Pain Quotidien, attentively but discretely, looked after by Mauizio; We agreed, we will definitely be booking again, in the summerholidays to see The Commitments and Les Miserables and would like to stay at the Royal National again. Definitely a massive thumbs up, for a fabulous family treat! Thank-you!   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
City Cruise  
We Will Rock You  
British Museum  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Patiserie Valerie  
Waldorf Hotel  
Wong Kei, China Town  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Poor hotel

Stay Date: 01/04/14, a customer who stayed at 3* Royal National Hotel in Russell Square wrote this review.

The hotel appeared to be full of foreign students who were very rude and seemed to congregate in the reception area every time we entered or left the hotel, sitting all over the floor in the See More  Read more information reception area and just barging through doors with no respect for anybody else. I know this is nothing you can control but not what I expect from a superbreak hotel. I dread to think what would happen ifthere was an emergency. The rooms were adequate and clean but no toiletries at all and only one tea bag per person provided in the room - I do like to relax with a cup of tea on returning to the roomand again on waking in a morning - we did ask for more on the second evening and these were very forthcoming. Staff in the reception area were very nice, I wish I could say the same for therestaurants. The first evening the meal was free, just as well as I would have been very unhappy if I had had to pay for it, it was of a very poor standard and although we only went into the self servicerestaurant it was not self service in that the chef dumped (only word for it) all the food on the plate. Breakfast was a farce and the food disgusting. On arrival for breakfast there was a queue, whenour turn came up we were told to go to a table, quite rudely, only when we reached that table people who had been up to get there breakfast had also been allocated that table and reached it justbefore us so we had to find another table which we did - all tables were 8 to a table and the people we shared with were rudely watching everything we had on our plates and ate, it was just like being ina canteen for school dinners. Going up for breakfast was an experience, tinned fruit, watered down orange or apple juice, cold toast. Then we went for the cooked breakfast only to be met by 'MrsHitler' who shouted ticket please rudely pointed to 2 plates to take for breakfast, shouted at us for going to the wrong end to serve ourselves, no manners or respect for guests whatsoever. On the way backto the table at least 2 waiters just walked out from clearing tables straight in front of me and could have easily knocked my tray flying. On reaching the table found the food was cold, scrambledeggs very dry and whole meal hardly edible. On the second morning we went to Caf? Rouge and bought breakfast instead. It was heaven. I was very disappointed in this hotel and will certainly neverstay there again, I am very surprised that superbreak use it as I have had holidays with superbreak before and have found every hotel of good standard in the rooms and the restaurants. I cannotunderstand how it is a 3star rated - 1 star would be overrated in my opinion   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Family Visit

Stay Date: 31/03/14, a customer aged 65+ from Durham who stayed at 3* Imperial Hotel London in Russell Square wrote this review.

Visited London in order to see our son who is working in central London near Oxford Street. Stayed in Imperial Hotel, Russell Square again, our 4th or 5th stay there, as it is within easy walking See More  Read more information distance of Kings Cross and close to Oxford Street. We bought an Oyster card when booking but preferred to use our bus-passes whenever possible as you see more of the city. If we had not used the bus toHampstead we would not have seen Camden & been fascinated by what we saw.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Hampstead Heath  
Camden Markets  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 2041 - 2050 of 6053 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 8am-10pm GMT, 7 days a week
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Travel Aware - Staying Safe and Healthy Abroad

The Foreign & Commonwealth Office and National Travel Health Network and Centre have up-to-date advice on staying safe and healthy abroad. For the latest travel advice from the Foreign & Commonwealth Office including security and local laws, plus passport and visa information check www.gov.uk/travelaware and follow @FCOtravel and Facebook.com/FCOtravel

Keep informed of current travel health news by visiting www.travelhealthpro.org.uk

The advice can change so check regularly for updates.

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Release-20170705

Version=1001475 @ 22/11/2017 09:43:15

Last rendered @ 24/11/2017 15:06:12

Last rendered @ 24/11/2017 15:06:12

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: ""

Is Secure? False

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB15

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.