Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 8am - 10pm, 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - Bloomsbury & Russell Square

Bloomsbury & Russell Square Holiday Reviews

British Museum, Bloomsbury and Russell Square

Bloomsbury is in the academic heart of London, and home to prestigious landmarks such as London University, the Royal Academy of Performing Arts and the captivating British Museum. Discover Museum Street with its collection of unique bookshops and sophisticated cafes or head to Russell Square; a haven for tourists and locals alike.

Bloomsbury and Russell Square are both great areas for being within walking distance of main attractions and museums, all without being too crowded. With many tube stations nearby and great bus routes, you'll be able to get to wherever you fancy visiting. Plus, you're only one stop from Kings Cross Station and St Pancras should you be looking to enjoy an exciting Eurostar break.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 6076

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

A Great Xmas Superbreak in London

Stay Date: 24/12/06, a customer from Herne Bay who stayed at 3* Royal National Hotel in Russell Square wrote this review.

We stayed in the Royal National Hotel near Russell Square in London over the xmas holiday. We arrived xmas eve and after a short walk we were in Tottenham Court Road and Oxford Street enjoying the See More  Read more information buzz of the holiday season. We particuarly like the little pub at the start of Oxford Street famous for being the only pub in Oxford Street. Christmas day Dinner was at the Imperial Hotel a short walkaway. The food throughout the 3 days stay was all of a very high quality with lots of choice and a free bottle of wine with every meal.We took a leisurly stroll around Russell Square on xmas morningand were delighted to be approached by the squirells which were so tame we were hand feeding them almonds! We took the tube to the hotel when we arrrived but took a taxi back to Victoria which was veryreasonable at only 11GBP. The hotel is well situated and the staff are very helpful. Be prepared to pay a 20GBP deposit for a hairdryer though unless you can bring your own. (You do off course getthis back when you return the hairdryer!) All in all a very enjoyable and relaxing xmas stay. I would thoroughly recomment it!   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Madame Tussauds  
Oxford Street Pub  
London Lights Tour  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Royal National Hotel Restaurant  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

2 Days in London

Stay Date: 28/02/08, a customer who stayed at 3* Royal National Hotel in Russell Square wrote this review.

We travelled down on the train with a view to coming to see the 1st Emporer and the Tutenkhamoun exhibitions, with a show thrown in during the evening. The hotel was a little like a backpackers See More  Read more information hostel with teenagers running round everywhere which was slightly disappointing, but despite that, we slept well. The exhibitions were really well laid out and were very interesting. If you haven'talready been to see them then I highly recommend you do. The Lord of The RIngs special effects were amazing. Frodo Baggins put on the ring and he actually disappeared infront of our very eyes! It was awonderful performance although a tad too long at almost 3 hours! Well worth the money   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
The First Emperor - Terracotta Warriors  
Tutankhamun Exhibition  
Lord of ther Rings Musical  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Covent Garden Pizza place  
Denises, Russell Square  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Country Bumpkins on the Town!

Stay Date: 26/02/08, a customer who stayed at 3* Royal National Hotel in Russell Square wrote this review.

Royal National Hotel superbly located and checkin/out fine. Rooms adequate for a short stay. Breakfast remarkably efficient for the numbers involved.Would not recommend evening meals except for See More  Read more information price. We used taxis except for the excellent fast ferry from the Eye to the Dome and back, and were impressed by "Addison and Lee" for their service. London cabbies were very good natured.First Emperorand Tutankhamun exhibitions were both superb and the flight on the Eye in perfect sunny and clear conditions was just over too soon. We had a disabled companion, using crutches, and the walk from thepier to the Dome was longer than we had anticipated, with nowhere to rest en route, but we managed. The staff at the "Slug and Lettuce" looked after us extremely well, even escorting us to a taxiwhich they had arranged on our behalf!   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
London Eye  
First Emperor  
Tutankhamun  
the Gherkin!  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Tavistock Hotel Restaurant  
Slug and Lettuce, Wardour St  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Birthday Treat

Stay Date: 27/02/08, a customer who stayed at 3* Royal National Hotel in Russell Square wrote this review.

The Royal National Hotel itself was very large but conveniently sited for access to Covent Garden, theatres, and British Museum on foot. Bright winter weather allowed us to spend a very pleasant See More  Read more information light lunch outside the cafe in Russell Square Gardens. The Terracotta Army and King Tut exhibitions have already been well documented but access throughout London with the Oyster cards is very quickand easy. I was very surprised that our perfectly adequate hotel room did not have a wash basin within the toilet room!   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Girls' Get-away in London

Stay Date: 28/02/08, a customer from Melton Mowbray who stayed at 3* Royal National Hotel in Russell Square wrote this review.

The idea was to visit the two exhibitions. The hotel was geographically ideal for our needs, but it was cheap and nasty. The fact that foreigners use it as their stop-off for London is embarrassing See More  Read more information as they probably think that the breakfast served in the hotel was typical of what we Brits have. The timing of our visits to the two exhibitions was very good and that part was well organised bySuperbreak. Certainly we shall use your company again but we shall look very carefully at the hotels before we book.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Tutankhamun Exhibition  
Terracotta Warriors Exhibition, British Museum  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Creation Restaurant, Gt Russell Road  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break In London

Stay Date: 28/02/08, a customer from Buxton who stayed at 3* Royal National Hotel in Russell Square wrote this review.

The staff at the Royal National deserve medals for their hard work and patience. The hotel is inundated with hundreds of young people who bring in bags of drink from the local shops and party till See More  Read more information the early hours, hang out the bedroom windows smoking, etc. Great if you are one of them, not so good if you are middle aged and trying to get some sleep! However, they didn't really cause too muchbother otherwise and the hotel was within easy walking distance of Covent Garden and Chinatown. Breakfast is an experience, the cooked food is plentiful and of good quality, it is well organised, butmore like a canteen than a hotel, and the continental breakfast was bread and jams, no meats or cheeses. The ladies behind the servery run the place like a military campaign, which it needs to be giventhe throughput!   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Tower of London  
British Museum - Terracotta Army Exhibition  
O2 arena for Tutankamun  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
China Town  
Carlucci's  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break in London

Stay Date: 27/02/08, a customer who stayed at 3* Royal National Hotel in Russell Square rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
First Emperor Exhibition  
Tutankhamun  
 
 

London for All

Stay Date: 22/02/08, a customer from Norfolk who stayed at 3* Royal National Hotel in Russell Square wrote this review.

My friend & I supported my son & his girlfriend (both with learning difficulties) for a weekend in London. We all had a great time!! See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
London Eye  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Weekend in London March 2008

Stay Date: 22/02/08, a customer from Yarm who stayed at 3* Royal National Hotel in Russell Square wrote this review.

Hotel disappointing -towels very thin and not enough for three people. Bathroom and bedroom could have been cleaner. Had to ask for exra cup and milk very few biscuits biscuits, no shampoo in See More  Read more information bathroom. Grandsons bed not particulary comfortable. Staff pleasant and helpful. Day 1 british museum -we all enjoyed it DAY 2 02 to tutankuman exhibition - we enjoyed it, very interesting. My grandsonfound it enjoyable even though 9 rooms is a bit much for a 15 year old. Went to see Les Mis - Marvellous as I expected having seen it years ago. First time for my son and grandson who enjoyed it verymuch -especially my grandson, his first visit to a London Theatre and a musical marvellous. day 3 Went to The Eye - Quite good but I think they should have a commentary for young people -such as our 15year old who does not know London well - we could point most places of interest but a commentary or a guide - would make it much better   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Angus Steak House off Oxford St  
Thai Restaurant, O2 Arena  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

A Great London Break

Stay Date: 22/02/08, a customer from Derbyshire who stayed at 3* Royal National Hotel in Russell Square wrote this review.

Train travel very good, underground travel excellent, hotel good, clean breakfast - good food but restaurant rather crouded! Only problem with the hotla was that the room was too warm but we See More  Read more information couldn;t turn the heating down, had to sleep with window open but the road outside was noisy. Visited the London Eye with was amazing and went to see Dirty Dancing which exceeded our expectations. We didlots of shopping on Oxford Street and at Covent Garden. Overall it was a really good break, lots of walking but felt like we'd had a holiday! Would certainly use Superbreak again, excellent value formoney.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
London Eye  
Covent Garden  
Dirty Dancing  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Indian Restaurant - Tavistock Area  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 2021 - 2030 of 6076 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 8am-10pm GMT, 7 days a week
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Travel Aware - Staying Safe and Healthy Abroad

The Foreign & Commonwealth Office and National Travel Health Network and Centre have up-to-date advice on staying safe and healthy abroad. For the latest travel advice from the Foreign & Commonwealth Office including security and local laws, plus passport and visa information check www.gov.uk/travelaware and follow @FCOtravel and Facebook.com/FCOtravel

Keep informed of current travel health news by visiting www.travelhealthpro.org.uk

The advice can change so check regularly for updates.

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Release-20170705

Version=1001507 @ 06/12/2017 08:14:45

Last rendered @ 18/12/2017 12:47:26

Last rendered @ 18/12/2017 12:47:26

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: ""

Is Secure? False

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB13

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.