Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 8am - 10pm, 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - Bloomsbury & Russell Square

Bloomsbury & Russell Square Holiday Reviews

British Museum, Bloomsbury and Russell Square

Bloomsbury is in the academic heart of London, and home to prestigious landmarks such as London University, the Royal Academy of Performing Arts and the captivating British Museum. Discover Museum Street with its collection of unique bookshops and sophisticated cafes or head to Russell Square; a haven for tourists and locals alike.

Bloomsbury and Russell Square are both great areas for being within walking distance of main attractions and museums, all without being too crowded. With many tube stations nearby and great bus routes, you'll be able to get to wherever you fancy visiting. Plus, you're only one stop from Kings Cross Station and St Pancras should you be looking to enjoy an exciting Eurostar break.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 6060

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Lots to do in 3 days!!!

Stay Date: 17/09/15, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 3* Royal National Hotel in Russell Square wrote this review.

Location was excellent. Hotel was good. Beautiful The Musical was excellent. Lots to do. Hampton Court and The Tower visits and Kirstie Allsopp's Handmade Fair made the visit special. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Hampton Court  
Victoria and Albert Museum  
Tower of London  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Pret a Manger  
Sway  
Bella Italia  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

A busy short London break

Stay Date: 21/09/15, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 3* Royal National Hotel in Russell Square wrote this review.

From leaving Accrington on the Monday morning to returning on Thursday evening it was non-stop. The train travel went without a hitch and we arrived in London just past 12. 10 mins later we were See More  Read more information booking in at the Royal National Hotel. We were given a room on the 7th floor and though it was a twin the room was pleasantly sized and had a lovely bathroom with shower and bath. After leaving our bagswe walked for about 15 mins to the Dickens Museum and that was a delight. Extremely interesting. Unfortunately it was pouring with rain but that didn't stop us then going to the British Museum for awhile. On leaving there we went to the Saracen Carvery where we had been last year. We weren't disappointed. A really tasty 3 course meal with tea/coffee for £15.50 each was excellent and the staffwere really helpful and polite. The following day we used our Oyster cards (brilliant invention) to go to the Natural History Museum. Another terrific whole day spent looking round the various exhibits.Back and decided to go to the Saracen Carvery again. And again couldn't fault either the food or staff. Wednesday was off to the National Gallery and a full day going round every open room. Onleaving there we popped into the Portrait Gallery for a short while before returning to Russell Square underground. For that evening meal we decided to try the Night and Day restaurant and a very nicereasonable meal we enjoyed there. As it was a dry evening (unfortunately the only one) we sauntered around the shops. The National is placed in an excellent position for travelling to various sites. Ifthere was a slight draw back it was that the room was chilly and the single beds had a habit of moving whenever you turned over. But apart from that the hotel was clean, the staff very friendly, and thebreakfasts kept you going for the day. When we came to check out we were able to leave the bags in their baggage room until nearer the rail departure time. This enabled us to go back to the BritishMuseum without worrying about what to do with the luggage. The trains back ran without a hitch and we were back home by 7:45. So a terrific short break and we would definitely travel with SuperBreakagain as all the arrangements were excellent and we would stay at the National again.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Charles Dickens museum  
Natural History Museum  
National Gallery  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Night and Day  
Saracens Carvery  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Pleasurable stay

Stay Date: 25/09/15, a customer aged 25-44 who stayed at 3* Royal National Hotel in Russell Square wrote this review.

Our stay at the Royal National Hotel was pleasurable. The room was bigger than I thought it would be. The room was clean. The staff were very friendly and very helpful when I asked for directions See More  Read more information and also which bus or tube we would need to take. I would recommended this hotel to friends and I possibly will return here when we visit London again. I would highly recommended visiting MadameTussauds although it took an hour and a half to queue up but was so worth the wait. We enjoyed the night bus tour (open top yellow bus) - very insightful. I don't think the London Eye was worth themoney however at least we can say we have done it.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Night Bus Tour  
London Eye  
Madame Tussauds  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

London

Stay Date: 30/09/15, a customer aged 65+ who stayed at 3* Royal National Hotel in Russell Square wrote this review.

Two nights / 3 day break at the Royal National Hotel from Cardiff. Train journey - excellent & flexible. Hotel - Centrally located, near Tube Station. Hotel Meals - good value for money. Well See More  Read more information organised by Rachel Dougherty of SuperBreak.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Pub ???  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

London break at the Royal National Hotel

Stay Date: 01/10/15, a customer aged 45-64 from United Kingdom who stayed at 3* Royal National Hotel in Russell Square wrote this review.

The hotel is basic but in an ideal location for see all the sights of London, the rooms are comfortable and breakfast is good. Only one stop on the underground from Kings Cross and four stops to the See More  Read more information theatres. Recommend this hotel if you are ok with the rooms being basic - very good value for money.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Thames River Cruise  
National History Museum  
Science Museum  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Grace  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

London Visit

Stay Date: 09/10/15, a customer aged 65+ from United Kingdom who stayed at 3* Royal National Hotel in Russell Square wrote this review.

We stayed at the Royal National Hotel. The room was lovely. Everything was so clean. Had a room facing the road but no problem at all with traffic noise. We were on the seventh floor so perhaps that See More  Read more information helped. The breakfast was very good. Plenty of choice. We had the full breakfast which was really enjoyable. So handy for the Russell Street tube which was just round the corner from the hotel. Theonly reason I would not book this hotel again was the Rugby Scrum for breakfast on a morning. We found it very difficult to find a table and people were pushing and shoving round the food tables. I amafraid this is not my idea of a nice breakfast experience on a morning. Lots of young people in who probably don't mind all that but we are an older couple and this was not what we expected or what wewanted. Otherwise a nice hotel but not for us.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
River Cruise to Greenwich  
Mama Mia Musical  
Tower Bridge Visit  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

500 Miles

Stay Date: 10/10/15, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 3* Royal National Hotel in Russell Square wrote this review.

Travelled 500 miles from Aberdeen and enjoyed every minute of our stay in London, our hotel room although not luxurious was clean, modern and had everything we needed with a choice of five See More  Read more information restaurants and a couple of bars. It also had a health suite with pool. We got a free boat trip besides the 3 course dinner on the first night and we booked a 24 hour ticket on the Big Bus Tour for which wegot a second day free and another river boat trip. Travelling around London was a piece of cake as we had Oyster Cards it was a maximum of £8.00 a day plus we could travel by bus free with the Big Busticket. The Underground is the best way to move all around London. The Royal National Hotel is in a good central location & we would definitely stay there again.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Covent Market  
Harrods  
River Trip  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Zizzi  
Aberdeen Steak House  
Popadoms  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

London Stay

Stay Date: 12/10/15, a customer aged 25-44 from Leeds who stayed at 3* Royal National Hotel in Russell Square wrote this review.

Great location. Room could have been a lot cleaner, the bathroom and bed cover in particular. Good dining facilities. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Natural History Museum  
British Museum  
National Gallery  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Giraffe  
Wetherspoons  
Blooms Pizza Cafe  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Location only good thing

Stay Date: 16/10/15, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 3* Royal National Hotel in Russell Square wrote this review.

I found this hotel filthy - especially the toilet. Desperately need refurbished. No fridge. Windows filthy, curtain broken on the window, no toiletries except a small bar of soap. I have done basic See More  Read more information before. And it's the noisiest place ever - all night people outside in the courtyards. The only good thing about this hotel is the location. Also I was told dinner in Friday was included and when wearrived it wasn't. No problem - probably wouldn't have eaten there anyway. And finally the breakfast was disgusting. Everything was cold and greasy.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
London Eye  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

London break.

Stay Date: 16/10/15, a customer aged 45-64 from United Kingdom who stayed at 3* Royal National Hotel in Russell Square wrote this review.

A weekend away for me and my partner. Been to this hotel before and it has improved since our last visit. Ideal place for theatre visits as near tube station. The tube is the way to travel around See More  Read more information beats walking, buses and no need for taxis. The London Pub is one of the hotels bars and for London is cheap, never seemed to be really busy and the food is good. The hotel ticket office is perfect forlate bookings. Overall we will be back.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Science. Museum  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 1191 - 1200 of 6060 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 8am-10pm GMT, 7 days a week
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Travel Aware - Staying Safe and Healthy Abroad

The Foreign & Commonwealth Office and National Travel Health Network and Centre have up-to-date advice on staying safe and healthy abroad. For the latest travel advice from the Foreign & Commonwealth Office including security and local laws, plus passport and visa information check www.gov.uk/travelaware and follow @FCOtravel and Facebook.com/FCOtravel

Keep informed of current travel health news by visiting www.travelhealthpro.org.uk

The advice can change so check regularly for updates.

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Release-20170705

Version=1001573 @ 03/01/2018 08:52:01

Last rendered @ 16/01/2018 15:38:28

Last rendered @ 16/01/2018 15:38:28

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: ""

Is Secure? False

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB12

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.