Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 8am - 10pm, 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - Berwick & Northumberland Area

Berwick & Northumberland Area Holiday Reviews

The Abbey, Hexham

Discover the north east coast with a stay in one of our Berwick and Northumberland hotels, and enjoy some of the most stunning scenery that the IL has to offer. With a long and turbulent past, tranquil countryside and miles of beaches, Northumberland is a truly rugged and wild landscape, perfect for escaping the hustle and bustle of everyday life.

The quaint market town of Berwick is encircled by Elizabethan Walls and the stunning River Tweed, making for an idyllic picnic stop and a browse around local shops. Plus, nearby Alnwick offers a magnificent castle and stunning Alnwick Gardens, and was in fact the filming location for 'Hogwarts' in the Harry Potter movies. Make sure you plan time for these great activities on your break, too:

  • Another fine example of medieval architecture is Bamburgh Castle. Home to the Royal Set of The Kings of Northumbria, the castle has kept watch over the coastline since 1894
  • No visit to Northumberland would be complete without stepping foot on the infamous Hadrian's Wall. Stretching from one side of coast to the other, this UNESCO World Heritage Site is still the most popular tourist attraction in the north
  • One unique activity to make time for on your break is to pay a visit to the Holy Island of Lindisfarne. Lying just a few miles of the coast, this incredible island is cut off twice daily by the tides, and is a popular place of pilgrimage due to its religious history
By booking a hotel in Berwick and Northumberland, you'll have a wonderful base from which to explore everything this incredible region has to offer. If you love the great outdoors, then a visit to the north east coast is a must. It's also great for family breaks, too.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 67

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Lovely Birthday Weekend in Northumberland

Stay Date: 23/03/07, a customer who stayed at 3* White Swan Hotel, Alnwick in Alnwick wrote this review.

The White Swan Hotel in Alnwick was very good value for money. Our room had recently been refurbished, & was very nice. The staff were helpful, & breakfast in the impressive dining room was very See More  Read more information good too. I'd recommend the hotel to anyone, & would happily stay again. We had a lovely meal in the restaurant in the Treehouse in Alnwick Gardens. The food, wine & atmosphere were excellent!   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Bamburgh Castle  
Holy Island  
Alnwick Gardens  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Alnwick Gardens Treehouse Restaurant  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

See Life Around The Farne Islands

Stay Date: 05/05/07, a customer who stayed at 3* White Swan Hotel, Alnwick in Alnwick wrote this review.

A day out with a difference is assured when you visit the town of Seahouses on the Northumbrian coast and take a trip on one of the many small boats available. Although the sun was shining, the wind See More  Read more information was strong, but it did not spoil our day. We took our grandchildren with us, and they were amazed to see so many sea birds, especially the colourful puffins. Nesting birds were there by theirhundreds. The seals were mosltly sunning themselves on the rocks and made the children laugh with their antics. The islands themselves are most interesting with the history of Grace Darling. Altogether agreat day out!   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Farne Islands Boat Trip  
Lindisfarne Abbey & Castle  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Art Gallery  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break in Alnwick

Stay Date: 05/06/07, a customer who stayed at 3* White Swan Hotel, Alnwick in Alnwick rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Alnwick Castle  
Bamburgh Castle  
Holy Island  
Alnwick Gardens  
 
 

Return to Marshall Meadows

Stay Date: 01/07/08, a customer who stayed at 3* Marshall Meadows Country House Hotel in Berwick-upon-Tweed wrote this review.

It was a disappointment after our visit a few years ago. The food was nowhere as good and the staff not as caring or as attentive. However, Berwick was just as good a plce to visit as ever. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Berwick-upon-Tweed Town Centre  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Action packed at Linden Hall

Stay Date: 03/04/09, a customer from Dundee who stayed at 4* Macdonald Linden Hall, Golf & Country Club in Morpeth (Nr Newcastle) wrote this review.

We had a great action packed weekend to celebrate our 60th. birthdays. The golf was great, tennis courts could have been better and pool was fine. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Alnwick and The Cheviots

Stay Date: 26/05/09, a customer from Hitchin who stayed at 3* White Swan Hotel, Alnwick in Alnwick wrote this review.

We stayed at The White Swan last year so it can't be bad! This year we changed rooms as the first one, while large, had but one small window into a well. There was no fuss in this, only considerate See More  Read more information attention and the second room was large and airy although looking out on the main street which noisy at night. There is no lift. Breakfast was complete self service and therefore inclined to cool. Themain restaurant walls consist of panelling from the 1st class smoking lounge of the 'Britannic', sister ship to the 'Titanic', very grand but rather austere. Meals can also be taken in the 'bistro'which is a modern extension and OK. Alnwick is a small town, famed for its castle, still lived in by the Duke of Northumberland, also for the gardens with magnificent water features, planned by theDuchess. Both are excellently presented and visits are very much recommended, with or without the kids. Three other castles are close by, all worth a look. We completed the 'set' with Warkworth thisyear as we had seen Dunstanburgh and Bamburgh last year. Bamburgh must surely be THE most magnificent castle in the most magnificent coastal setting. Holy island is close by to but get the tide right !It also has a mighty castle and also the remains of St.Cuthberts 7c. church. West lie the Cheviot hills and for walkers there's little better this side of the Pennines.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Alnwick Castle  
Alnwick Gardens  
Alnmouth  
Warkworth Castle  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Lilburns in Alnwick - twice !  
Tower Restaurant Alnwick  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Holiday In Alnwick

Stay Date: 22/09/08, a customer who stayed at 3* White Swan Hotel, Alnwick in Alnwick wrote this review.

Arrived at Hotel to find that they had no note of our booking - fortunately they had rooms. Nice clean room but problem with plumbing resulted in terrible noise which kept us awake the first night. See More  Read more information Reported in the morning. Went out and nothing done when we go back. Reported again which resulted in a change of room. First change of room very small but shown another room which was a twin andbigger we chose this room. Generally not such good service at the Hotel. Last day they ran out of white bread at breakfast! Seemed just a bit under par although clean not quite to the standard and quitelax re customer service. However, the area is lovely, we enjoyed the castle and gardens and the days out to Berwick etc.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Berwick-upon-Tweed  
Alnwick Castle and Gardens  
Washington wetlands park  
 
Rate This Review:
 
Editor Notes:

Editor's Comments: We work hard to ensure our booking procedures are very comprehensive and we are working with the hotel to ensure that their reservation procedures are reviewed

 
 

Showing 61 - 67 of 67 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 8am-10pm GMT, 7 days a week
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Release-20170705

Version=100699 @ 24/08/2017 10:04:35

Last rendered @ 26/09/2017 19:25:42

Last rendered @ 26/09/2017 19:25:42

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: ""

Is Secure? False

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB12

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.