Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 8am - 10pm, 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - Berwick & Northumberland Area

Berwick & Northumberland Area Holiday Reviews

The Abbey, Hexham

Discover the north east coast with a stay in one of our Berwick and Northumberland hotels, and enjoy some of the most stunning scenery that the IL has to offer. With a long and turbulent past, tranquil countryside and miles of beaches, Northumberland is a truly rugged and wild landscape, perfect for escaping the hustle and bustle of everyday life.

The quaint market town of Berwick is encircled by Elizabethan Walls and the stunning River Tweed, making for an idyllic picnic stop and a browse around local shops. Plus, nearby Alnwick offers a magnificent castle and stunning Alnwick Gardens, and was in fact the filming location for 'Hogwarts' in the Harry Potter movies. Make sure you plan time for these great activities on your break, too:

  • Another fine example of medieval architecture is Bamburgh Castle. Home to the Royal Set of The Kings of Northumbria, the castle has kept watch over the coastline since 1894
  • No visit to Northumberland would be complete without stepping foot on the infamous Hadrian's Wall. Stretching from one side of coast to the other, this UNESCO World Heritage Site is still the most popular tourist attraction in the north
  • One unique activity to make time for on your break is to pay a visit to the Holy Island of Lindisfarne. Lying just a few miles of the coast, this incredible island is cut off twice daily by the tides, and is a popular place of pilgrimage due to its religious history
By booking a hotel in Berwick and Northumberland, you'll have a wonderful base from which to explore everything this incredible region has to offer. If you love the great outdoors, then a visit to the north east coast is a must. It's also great for family breaks, too.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 66

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Short Break In Northumberland

Stay Date: 09/01/11, a customer from Uk who stayed at 3* White Swan Hotel, Alnwick in Alnwick rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Bamburgh Castle  
Barter Books  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Tower Restaurant  
 
 

Short Break In Berwick

Stay Date: 09/04/12, a customer from Uk who stayed at 3* Marshall Meadows Country House Hotel in Berwick-upon-Tweed rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
 

Relaxing Stay

Stay Date: 02/06/12, a customer who stayed at 3* Marshall Meadows Country House Hotel in Berwick-upon-Tweed wrote this review.

We travelled by train from london and took a taxi to the hotel which was approx 2 miles away. Hotel is set in lovely surroundings just off the a1. Room was lovely overlooking the gardens and the See More  Read more information evening meal in the hotel restaurant was very good as well. Staff and owners were extremely friendly and helpful. Although there were lovely walks along the coast, it would probably be best to hire a carif coming by train.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Edinburgh Castle  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Hotel Restaurant  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Northumbian Wander

Stay Date: 28/08/12, a customer aged 65+ from York who stayed at 3* Marshall Meadows Country House Hotel in Berwick-upon-Tweed wrote this review.

Very good quietly situated hotel tooked away in the country just 1/2 mile off the A1 , but only two miles from Berwick upon Tweed. Ideal for the Northumbrian coast and beaches, and its castles both See More  Read more information coastal and inand. Only 68 miles from Edinburgh a feasable day trip away.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Bamburgh Castle  
Lindisfarne Castle  
eyemouth museum  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Weekend in Berwick upon Tweed

Stay Date: 01/10/12, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 3* Marshall Meadows Country House Hotel in Berwick-upon-Tweed wrote this review.

Lovely Coastline. We walked across the border into Scotland.Good sea views from the hotel room. A great stay, friendly staff and good food. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Bamburgh Castle  
Eyemouth  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Great Easter break in Berwick-Upon-Tweed

Stay Date: 22/04/14, a customer aged 25-44 who stayed at 3* Marshall Meadows Country House Hotel in Berwick-upon-Tweed wrote this review.

We spent two nights in this lovely part of the world, despite the rain on day one we still managed to have a good look around the town before a lovely meal at Audela on Bridge Street. We returned to See More  Read more information our hotel Marshall Meadows, which while slightly outside of town was easily reached by coastal path, bus or taxi and was a really comfortable place to stay. The staff were very friendly andapproachable. We spent day two visiting Holy Island which was easy to get to by bus from the town. This is an amazing place not to be missed.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Holy Island  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Audela  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Alnwick Visit

Stay Date: 27/06/14, a customer aged 45-64 from Swineshead who stayed at 3* White Swan Hotel, Alnwick in Alnwick wrote this review.

Alnwick is a good location for getting around coastal Northumberland. Alnwick Castle and Gardens are a must see as is Woodhorn Collierey museum. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Alnwick Garden  
Woodhorn Colliery  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
White Swan Hotel  
Tankerville Arms,Eglingham  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Anniversary in Alnwick!

Stay Date: 06/11/15, a customer aged 65+ from Glasgow who stayed at 3* White Swan Hotel (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Alnwick wrote this review.

The White Swan is a very welcoming hotel. The room was good & very helpful, such as when the maid asked us if we would like our room cleaned when we went down for breakfast! Our fine dining on our See More  Read more information 1st evening was nicely served in the beautiful atmospheric dining room with carved wooden panelling from the SS Olympic 1st class. The breakfast was lovely on our 1st morning - freshly cooked, butthe hotel had several wedding guests & they were really struggling to cope. The location is great & so near the Alnwick Gardens.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Alnwick Gardens  
Barter Books  
Tourist info shop  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

First visit to Alnwick

Stay Date: 21/12/15, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 3* White Swan Hotel (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Alnwick wrote this review.

This was our first trip to Alnwick and we really enjoyed it. The Old White Swan hotel was clean and comfortable and our room was a good size with an excellent shower. We had two breakfasts and See More  Read more information dinner there and they were all tasty and the staff were very attentive. Our room was at the front and there was a bit of traffic noise but it didn't stop us sleeping. The hotel was in a great location forvisiting Alnwick Gardens and castle. Also well situated for visiting Bambrugh Castle and Seahouses. We will definitely be returning as there is a lot to explore.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Alnwick Gardens  
Beamish  
Bambrugh Castle  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
White Swan Hotel  
Di sopra  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Historic Alnwick

Stay Date: 12/04/16, a customer aged 65+ who stayed at 3* White Swan Hotel (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Alnwick wrote this review.

Alnwick is a great historic town, the hotel was in the main street and I parked my car in the hotel car park which was very convenient. It's quite a small town so leave your car and walk around the See More  Read more information town which is very interesting. We loved the hotel and staff, dinner on the 1st night was great - food was wonderful. Almost every hotel we stay in has the same problem = bad house keeping, and Ifrequently go back to the same hotels and nothing has been rectified, these problems are very easy to fix e.g at our hotel some of the electrical sockets did not work, bulbs needed changing, on our secondday the waste bin in the bathroom had not been emptied, carpet not hoovered, no shampoo, in public toilet lock on toilet door broken. Small things which are quick to fix. It would be very easy forthe staff to make a list of these things when they clean the room.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
historic churches and museum  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 31 - 40 of 66 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 8am-10pm GMT, 7 days a week
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Release-20170705

Version=100637 @ 17/08/2017 08:40:12

Last rendered @ 19/08/2017 01:00:20

Last rendered @ 19/08/2017 01:00:20

x-forward-port: "80"

X-Forwarded-Proto: ""

Is Secure? False

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB11

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.