Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 8am - 10pm, 7 days a week

The Angel Hotel (2 Night Offer) Reviews (Cardiff)

Castle Street, Cardiff, South Glamorgan, CF10 1SZ, Wales
The Angel Hotel (2 Night Offer)

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

Star Rating:

3 stars:
SuperBreak Customer Rating:
 
TripAdvisor Traveller Rating:
The Angel Hotel (2 Night Offer) - Hotel Image

Average TripAdvisor Traveller Rating:

  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness

Average Customer Rating:

  • Sleep
  • Breakfast
  • Staff
  • Destination
 

Read reviews below or click here to view the hotel product page

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews
  • TripAdvisor Traveller Reviews

Little dated, but good base

Stay Date: 18/04/15, a customer aged 45-64 from Pembroke who stayed at this hotel wrote this review.

The Angel Hotel is a little worn in places but is an excellent base for visiting Cardiff. We had very little time to spare but found the hotel good for visiting the RHS flower show which was See More  Read more information situated across the road in the park. We popped back into the hotel for afternoon tea (which was included in the rate) then straight out to a concert at the Motorpoint. After a good night's sleep (roadtraffic noise not that noticeable) we were up early and first down for breakfast. A good, tasty selection of the usual cooked bacon, eggs etc., specials could be ordered. The pastries were some of thefreshest I have tasted in a long time - maybe because we were early. I had heard reports from friends that some of the upper rooms were poor but our room on the second floor was ok; clean with a goodshower and considering the price we would not hesitate to stay again.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Rhs Flower Show  
Concert at Motorpoint  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Great Stay at The Angel Hotel

Stay Date: 17/04/15, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at this hotel wrote this review.

Perfect location, relaxed atmosphere and great breakfast. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Castle  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Zizzi  
Bella Italia  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Cardiff City Weekend Break

Stay Date: 17/04/15, a customer aged 65+ from Gloucester who stayed at this hotel wrote this review.

Cardiff is a great city with first class shopping and loads of eateries both in the city and Cardiff Bay. The hotel (The Angel) is ideally located for easy access to shopping, a river bus to the See More  Read more information bay, the castle across the road and Millennium Stadium is also next door. The hotel accommodation and public rooms were very good but the bedrooms are in serious need of a complete refurbishment. Thecarpet/wallpaper were very grubby with a dingy feel and not a room we wanted to spend any time in other than to sleep. The bathroom, whilst clean, was also in need of modernising. Not quite what weexpected from a 4* hotel, however the bed was very comfortable. Summing up, it was a really superb weekend break but we were disappointed with the accommodation, however we would stay at The Angel again ifthe bedroom was brought up to 4* standard.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Synned Building  
River Bus Castle-Cardiff Bay  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Zizzis  
Mangoes  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Cardiff is amazing

Stay Date: 27/03/15, a customer aged 25-44 who stayed at this hotel wrote this review.

Great shopping and excellent nightlife , the Angel Hotel is in a amazing position and close to everything you could ever want, millennium centre is a must to see any live act. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Millennium Centre  
St David's  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Cote  
Gate keeper  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Cleanliness

Stay Date: 07/03/15, a customer aged 45-64 from Penarth who stayed at this hotel wrote this review.

This hotel was filthy - the dining area was appalling. Would not recommend. Beautiful building. But standards are poor. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Fantastic mini break

Stay Date: 13/02/15, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at this hotel wrote this review.

Beautiful hotel, food and city. Loved every minute. Will definitely be returning. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
St Fagans  
Cardiff Castle  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Hotel

Stay Date: 30/12/14, a customer aged 65+ from Llanelli who stayed at this hotel wrote this review.

There seems to be big cutbacks at this hotel. We have stayed here on numerous occasions and always enjoyed our stay, but lately they seem to be cutting back on everything to the detriment of See More  Read more information visitors. I think they are working towards 3 star classification.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Cardiff Bay  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Prezzo  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

2 night Christmas shopping in Cardiff

Stay Date: 13/12/14, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at this hotel wrote this review.

The Angel is opposite Cardiff Castle and just 10 minutes level walk from Cardiff Central railway station. The sweeping staircase in front of you as you enter the hotel is magnificent and we were See More  Read more information soon walking up it to our room after a friendly and efficient check-in. Our large room was at the side of the hotel overlooking Westgate Street and was well furnished with armchairs, table, desk, TV,hospitality tray and comfy bed. The bathroom was spacious with an over-bath shower and heated towel rail. Unfortunately, we didn't realise then that we were going to have the opportunity to savour oursurroundings for most of the night as we were directly above the area where a Christmas party was going on until 0100 the following morning (please contact us if you want a copy of the playlist!). Wethought that we'd be ok on the Sunday night as while we were being kept awake we checked the hotel's brochure and there wasn't anything listed. Sadly we were mistaken as once again we were kept awaketill 0100 but this time it was thump thump music coming from somewhere below us but we were so shattered we couldn't decide where from exactly. Had we known we were going to have a 2nd disturbed nightwe would have asked for a different room. This spoiled an otherwise very enjoyable stay at the Angel and someone from the hotel should be contacting us to discuss. The breakfasts also deserve praise asthe buffet was well stocked, varied and we were well looked after by welcoming and attentive staff. We'd certainly return to the Angel but only if we remember our ear plugs.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
City Centre Shopping  
Cardiff Bay  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Ed's Easy Diner  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Disappointing

Stay Date: 23/11/14, a customer aged 65+ from Gloucester who stayed at this hotel wrote this review.

No one available to show us to a table for nearly 5 minutes but they did eventually arrive after I went to reception. Pleasant waitress too young to serve drinks and the drinks ordered with starter See More  Read more information arrived with the sweet! Ate elsewhere the second night. Little conversation over breakfast as you couldn't hear yourself over the sound of the Hoover. Disappointing visit but great location.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Angel Hotel  
Toby, whitchurch  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 2 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Wonderful weekend

Stay Date: 15/11/14, a customer aged 45-64 from Blackwood who stayed at this hotel wrote this review.

After reading many negative reviews were not expecting much but what a lovely surprise all hotel staff were pleasant and welcoming from reception to bar staff to restaurant staff both our rooms were See More  Read more information great, large clean and nicely decorated. Have stayed in many hotels in the UK and abroad and breakfast was one of the best I've had. Afternoon tea was also wonderful especially as my friend has afood allergy which was catered for without any fuss. A great weekend at a great hotel will definitely stay again.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Millennium Stadium  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 2 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Showing 11-20 of 73 reviews

Write a Review

The information on this website are the views and opinions of TripAdvisor members and not TripAdvisor LLC. It is provided 'as is' and we accept no responsibility for any loss, injury or inconvenience sustained by anyone resulting from this information. You should verify critical information (like visas, health and safety, customs, and transportation) with the relevant authorities before you travel.

©2007 TripAdvisor LLC. All rights reserved

Read reviews for The Angel Hotel (2 Night Offer), Cardiff. We only accept reviews from customer who have booked The Angel Hotel (2 Night Offer), Cardiff through us. This means better quality reviews which you can trust. View Hotel Details. These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 8am-10pm GMT, 7 days a week
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Release-20170705

Version=100699 @ 24/08/2017 14:04:17

Last rendered @ 21/09/2017 23:52:14

Last rendered @ 21/09/2017 23:52:14

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: ""

Is Secure? False

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB15

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForHotel

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForHotel.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.