Customer Reviews by Destination - Winchester & Area

Winchester & Area Holiday Reviews

Winchester Cathedral, Winchester

Often described as ‘the perfect English city’, Winchester is an ideal destination for a relaxing getaway. Hotels in Winchester can provide the perfect base to explore this culturally rich medieval city. Based in the county of Hampshire, one hour south-west of London, Winchester was once the capital of England back in the 10th and 11th centuries. The city sits between South Downs and the New Forest, meaning Winchester hotels provide visitors with the best of city and country. Hotels in Winchester come in all stars, shapes and sizes, ensuring suitable accommodation for all their guests. With a rich history, including the impressive Winchester Cathedral and award-winning pubs and restaurants, the city is popular with culture vultures and foodies alike. Lively street theatre, impressive architecture and a buzzing contemporary arts scene attract a diverse array of visitors all year round. Many hotels in Winchester are based in the atmospheric city centre, with all the central attractions, restaurants and shops within easy walking distance. You can find other accomodation dotted around the surrounding Hampshire countryside, which is a perfect option for guaranteed peace and quiet. Browse our range of Winchester hotels to find the perfect place to stay during your trip to this fabulous city.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 100

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Winchester And The Winchester Hotel

Stay Date: 19/07/10, a customer who stayed at 4* The Winchester Hotel and Spa in Winchester wrote this review.

We thoroughly enjoyed this short break in the historic city of Winchester and would recommend the Winchester hotel to anyone. It was clean, very comfortable and the staff were friendly and helpful. See More  Read more information It's also very well situated, close to the railway station and with only a short walk into the town centre. It's also on a bus route, though a rather infrequent service. This means that there areplenty of cafes and restaurants in easy reach. On the Saturday, knowing we would be tired after a trip to Jane Austen's house at Chawton, we booked at the hotel's own bistro and the meal was superlative.We liked Winchester a lot - the cathedral was lovely and there was a good variety of shops and places to eat. We'd go back and would unhesitatingly recommend it to friends.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Winchester Cathedral  
Chawton Cottage  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Winchester Cathedral Cafe  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

A Welcome Break

Stay Date: 31/08/10, a customer who stayed at 4* The Winchester Royal in Winchester wrote this review.

We stayed here to break our journey on the way to catch the ferry from Portsmouth to Santander. It was an excellent start to our holiday. The hotel gardens were a pleasant place in which to relax See More  Read more information over a drink after sightseeing, and the hotel is really well situated in the centre of Winchester, with the bonus of plenty of free parking and helpful and friendly staff.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Winchester Cathedral  
Wolvesey Castle  
Castle Hall  
Westgate Museum  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

A Winchester Weekend

Stay Date: 11/10/10, a customer who stayed at 4* Mercure Wessex Hotel in Winchester wrote this review.

Arrived at 3pm. Checked in. Disappointed with view from bedroom window but actual hotel location was superb and at breakfast we had a view of the cathedral. Did 3 self guided walks around the city See More  Read more information taking in St Giles Hill, Keates water meadows and the city itself. Did guided tour of Winchester College (highly recommended). Browsed very well and expensively stocked charity shops. Visited theregular farmers market on Sunday morning. Enjoyed 2 excellent meals in town. Did self guided tour of the cathedral, go in the afternoon to really get your moneys worth. Visited west gate museum (free) andWinchester castle great hall housing King Arthurs round table (all free). Could have spent a week in Winchester. Highly recommended for a short break.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Winchester College  
Winchester Cathedral  
The Westgate Museum And Winchester Castle  
The City Walks (3 different ones)  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
The Bangkok Brasserie  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Wonderful Graduation!

Stay Date: 23/10/10, a customer who stayed at 4* Mercure Wessex Hotel in Winchester wrote this review.

We were visiting Winchester as our daughter was graduating. The Mecure Wessex proved to be an excellent location over looking the cathedral and very close to all shops and restaurants and bars. We See More  Read more information had read reviews after booking and were worried as people didn't rate it very highly on rooms or food. We had two rooms and they were both very clean and comfortable - staff were all polite andbreakfast which was the only meal we ate in was lovely - hot, and plenty of it. We would definately recommend it and would go back. Thank you!.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Winchester Cathedral  
Shops  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Bishop On The Bridge  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

On Business

Stay Date: 16/03/11, a customer from Uk who stayed at 3* Marwell Hotel in Winchester (Nr) rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Marwell Zoo  
Winchester Cathedral  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Pub In Winchester  
 
 

Winchester Weekend

Stay Date: 27/03/11, a customer from Uk who stayed at 3* Marwell Hotel in Winchester (Nr) wrote this review.

Great place to visit lovely town with beautiful buildings, and cafes. Lots of choice of restaraunts and great sunday market stalls in the pedestrian high street. Marwell hotel very convenient for See More  Read more information both the town and the zoo - great breakfasts.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Marwell Zoo  
Winchester Cathedral  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Zizzi Winchester  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Weekend Visit To Winchester

Stay Date: 03/04/11, a customer from Uk who stayed at 4* Mercure Wessex Hotel in Winchester wrote this review.

My wife and i travelled from guernsey to winchester via air and then train. Upon arrival at southampton, the journey to winchester was only a matter of a few minutes. Winchester is a very pleasant See More  Read more information town, clean with excellent facilities. The mercure hotel was within easy walking distance of the train station and all within close proximity of town centre. We had a wonderful, active yet restfulweekend and look forward to returning in a short while.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Winchester Cathedral  
Local Restaurants  
Winchester Town (Shopping) Centre  
Roman Catholic Church  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Pizza Express  
Yes (Town Centre)  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Marwood Hotel

Stay Date: 13/04/11, a customer from Uk who stayed at 3* Marwell Hotel in Winchester (Nr) wrote this review.

The warm greeting set the tone for our stay. The facilities were excellent, especially the swimming pool, bedroom and restaurant. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Hillier Garden  
Winchester Great Hall  
Winchester City Mill  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Hotel Excellent, Winchester Lovely

Stay Date: 02/06/11, a customer who stayed at 4* The Winchester Royal in Winchester wrote this review.

Hotel very nice, we checked in late, parking was ok we got the last space. The only thing we found was the newer building which we were in was very warm you could feel it when you went from the old See More  Read more information part of the building to the new. It was a warm evening and the room was very very warm, uncomfortably so. We did open the windows but it did not make any difference. That is the only negative. Hotelbreakfast was very good in lovely surroundings. Would recommend.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Cathedral  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

We Enjoyed Winchester

Stay Date: 12/06/11, a customer from Uk who stayed at 4* Holiday Inn Winchester (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Winchester wrote this review.

Every thing was good except the staffing in the holiday inn restaurant on the saturday evening. The management are already aware of our complaint. All the other staff at the hotel were excellent See More  Read more information Winchester is a good centre to enjoy many national trust houses, cathedrals etc.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Romsey Abbey  
Winchester Cathedral  
Winchester City Mill  
Hinton Ampny  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Gourmet Pizza Winchester  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 21 - 30 of 100 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 8am-10pm GMT, 7 days a week
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Tour Operator 2013 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Version=10544229222 @ 25/11/2014 16:14:29

Last rendered @ 29/11/2014 08:23:16

Last rendered @ 29/11/2014 08:23:16

x-forward-port: "80"

X-Forwarded-Proto: ""

Is Secure? False

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB11

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.